We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An unforgettable hotel!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Vintage Design Hotel Sax

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Vintage Design Hotel Sax
Ranked #90 of 668 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
São José dos Campos, SP
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“An unforgettable hotel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

It is difficult to describe the Design Sax Hotel. What can I say? Wonderful? Perfect? Maybe unforgettable is the right word. I can affirm without any doubt that Sax was the hotel I got more satisfied to stay in during my life. Staying in Sax for me was not a simple stay, it was an experience. Is Sax the most luxurious hotel? No. Is the most confortable? No. Has Sax the best location? No. Has the best breaksfast? No. Sax may not be the best in any isolated aspect, but when we put everything together, Sax becomes one of the best, great, funny and unforgettable hotels I ever stayed.

Location is not exactly the best in terms of proximity from main touristic places. It is necessary to walk around 15-20 minutes to get the old city. In order to arrive the hotel, is necessary to walk through a steep street. It is not so steep, but it may become more difficult to win it with luggages. I recommend to get a taxi from airport or train station. On the other hand, the hotel is located in a very calm street without any noise and near to USA Embassy, maybe one of the safest places in Prague

We were very welcomed in the reception, we received informations about the hotel and maps and recommendations about the city.

The hotel interior is unique, fully decorated with furnitures and objects from 50's to 70's at most. It has a glass roof that provides natural light. We walked through the whole hotel in order to see all those things. It was very funny, each area had a surprise. Wonderful! We reserved a room with outside windows. There are some other rooms with windows that open for the hotel interior. The room was beautifuly decorated. Bed was quite confortable, we had good sleep on there. Each room has one laptop with free internet. Bathroom could be bigger, but it is not really a problem, just ok.

The hotel offers an afternoon tea, very nice for taking a break. The breakfast had a good variety of tasteful food, very nice. Besides the regular buffet, it is possible to choose some other things from the menu that are prepared on demand. We simply loved the french toasts with red fruits, the best I ever ate, delicious! The breakfast was really good, but it became even better with Elvis Presley, Beatles and some other great names of the music playing on the sound system. We had good times during the breaksfast.

The staff was very pleasant and prompt to answer the requests and most of them speak English very well. Special mention for Jan, the young guy who works on the restaurant during breaksfast and tea. I hope I wrote his name correctly, sorry if I didn't. He is great, very friendly, attentive and I got the impression that he really likes his job. He helps to maintain that lovely atmosphere of the hotel.

Last but not least, we loved, we really loved the small bag of "C's" we received after the check out. Thanks a lot, we made a small but beautiful mini-curtain with them. :-) This was the perfect gift to conclude a perfect stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Renato_Mechica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dasik, General Manager at Vintage Design Hotel Sax, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Dear guest,
I would honestly like to thank you for such a kind comment. We are very pleased that you experienced great time in SAX and we are looking forward to welcome you back soon. Also i would like to thank you for so many beautiful photos.
With Kind Regards
Dagmar Malá and Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

953 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    681
    213
    44
    9
    6
See reviews for
116
587
63
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

We stayed in a suite for 7 nights. Overall we had a good stay. Breakfast is very good and you can choose from a freshly cooked hot menu.
There was very stong smell in the living room which was very annoying.
The location of the hotel is excellent if you are staying for less than 3 days, if you are staying for more than that, then perhaps its better to stay in the old town as you will be bored from walking every day to the center for 20m!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Waleed G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dasik, General Manager at Vintage Design Hotel Sax, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Dear guest,
thank you for your review. We are very sorry for inconveniences with the smell in your room. There was a problem with the floor, the room is under reconstruction now and everything will be again without faults :)
Best regards
Dagmar Malá and hotel staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

This hotel was amazing!! It was very well located on the castle side and allowed us to walk in the early mornings before the hoards of tourists descended upon the area. The breakfast buffet was a great start and the afternoon tea was a very welcome treat to rest the feet in the afternoons! We absolutely loved the decor - patterned wallpapers and blast from the past artifacts made it very special. Would be lovely as a couple getaway too.

Room Tip: We got bumped up to a luxury room under the roofs
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank camsbeenthere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dasik, General Manager at Vintage Design Hotel Sax, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Dear Guest, thank you very much for your beautiful review. We are delighted with your feedback and also with the fact that you really enjoyed your vacation at our hotel.
With kind regards
Dagmar Malá and hotel staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baku, Azerbaijan
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

We spent four wonderful days in Prague. The hotel is a real experience. It seems to really live in those wonderful 60's (with a bit of nostalgia). Inside, the presence of numerous objects of the most famous designers in the world make this experience even more charming and unique. The hotel is situated in an ideal location as it is safe and quiet but at the same time close to the castle and Charles Bridge. Breakfast is excellent as well as the 5 o'clock tea in the lobby. The staff is friendly and very professional ... our special thanks to Martina, Jan and the friendly driver from / to the airport. We recommend this hotel to everyone who wants to live in prague as a unique experience. Miriam & Luca from Italy

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank falcolux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dasik, General Manager at Vintage Design Hotel Sax, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Dear guest,
we thank you for so nice comment and we are really happy that you did enjoy your stay at our hotel with our personal treatment.
Thank you for your visit.
Our best regards
Dagmar Malá and hotel staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

This is a great hotel, located very close to Prague castle (and super close to public transit!). It's a little hard to find, without a good map, but once you've found it, it's very easy to get back to.

We stayed on the top floor, and had a view of the St Nicholas church, and a partial view of Prague castle. The view, was simply, amazing. We took so many pictures out the window, at different times of day, just because of how stunning the view was.

The hotel itself has a really retro design - but with a modern spin. The rooms are equipped with a laptop (HUGE surprise!), and satellite tv (although, we couldn't figure out how to work the satellite part -- but regular tv worked).

The room and bathroom were both quite a bit larger than most rooms we've encountered in Europe, which was a nice surprise. It's tucked away in a little neighborhood, which is just far enough off of the main path, that it's quite quiet. The location, with regards to all the sites in Prague is really great. You can walk to everything, within 10 - 15 minutes. We also found that it was close to a tram line, which helped for lugging around luggage.

The breakfast they serve (which i believe is included in the room rate) is really awesome. They had everything one could imagine.

The staff is also really attentive, and willing to help the guests with everything (they also speak fluent english, for those of you who aren't fluent in Czech!)

I'd definitely stay here again, and recommend to friends/family!

Room Tip: Ask for the top floor - amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Elisarigby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dasik, General Manager at Vintage Design Hotel Sax, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Dear guest,
i am glad to thank you for such a warm review. You are right, the view from 4.th floor is really breathtaking. We hope you will come to visit us again.
With kind regards
Dagmar Malá and hotel staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

Excellent location, near the center but in a quite place (near USA embassy and Malastrana square). Clean, big and original rooms. Incredible relation quality vs price. We will come back ti this hotel un Prague.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Serdith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dasik, General Manager at Vintage Design Hotel Sax, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear guest,
i would like to thank you for your nice review, it is great to see another satisfy comment from our guest. We hope you will really come to visit our hotel again.
Best regards
Dagmar and hotel staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

We stayed here as a couple for 4 nights in Nov 12 in a deluxe room. The hotel is located in the Lesser Town near the US embassy. Prague Castle is a short walk away and the Lesser Town is generally quieter than the more touristy Old Town. Prague itself is a pretty small city so everywhere was within walking distance for us when we were exploring both the Old Town and the Lesser Town (which is separated by the Charles Bridge). You will need good flat walking shoes to tackle the cobblestone streets as we learnt the hard way.

The funky decor of the hotel is an interesting contrast to the old gothic feel of the city itself. Staff were friendly and spoke good English. The room was quite big with a sofa and a separate sitting room. All the amenities worked well and the bed was comfortable. Our booking included free breakfast buffet which we found to be excellent (I've posted some pictures of the dining room and the breakfast you get). I also got a 1 hr massage on one of the days at the hotel and would recommend it. In terms of location, it took us about 5-7 minutes to walk from the hotel to the beginning of the Charles Bridge. I personally preferred this quieter side of town but wouldn't be staying here if was travelling alone.

As a side note, we did a day trip out to Karlstejn Castle by train on one of the days and I would recommend this for those who have a bit more time. It was nice to see a different part of the country and it was very easy to get to ourselves (1 hr train ride from the main Prague train station).

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
27 Thank SNT113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dasik, General Manager at Vintage Design Hotel Sax, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear guest,
Really big and warm thanks for so many beautiful photos of our hotel. Also it is really nice of you to write such a nice comment about us and Prague. You are absolutely right with recommendation about comfy shoes, definetly it is not good idea to take a heels for exploring Prague :D Also your trip to Karlstejn castle was really good choice, this is a gorgeous castle, the famous czech film Noc na Karlestejne was filmed there.
With kind regards
Dagmar and staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Hradcany & Letna
Design Hotel Neruda
Design Hotel Neruda
#98 of 668 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 893 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Boutique Hotel Constans
Boutique Hotel Constans
#52 of 668 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 693 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
MOODs Boutique Hotel
MOODs Boutique Hotel
#76 of 668 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel U Zeleneho hroznu (Hotel At the Green Grape)
Hradcany & Letna
Hotel The Golden Wheel
Hotel The Golden Wheel
#37 of 668 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 604 reviews
Praha 5
Hotel Julian
Hotel Julian
#34 of 668 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vintage Design Hotel Sax? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vintage Design Hotel Sax

Property: Vintage Design Hotel Sax
Address: Jansky vrshek 328/3 | Mala Strana, Prague 118 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Mala Strana (Little Quarter) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Spa Hotel in Prague
#65 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#82 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#87 Business Hotel in Prague
#93 Family Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Vintage Design Hotel Sax 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the historical city centre, right below Prague Castle, Hotel Sax offers free WiFi and rich buffet breakfast. Every room has a LCD TV or Smart TV with satellite programs a DVD player and 10 DVD titles. All rooms are air-conditioned. The spa area at Vintage Design Hotel Sax comprises a hot tub, a fitness room and a sauna. Massages will be provided on request. The DVD library includes over 5,000 titles. Some of these facilities are available at an additional cost. The interiors of the hotel will transfer you to the 1950s, 60s, or 70s. In the Vintage Design Hotel Sax you will find original furniture representing the period's cutting edge designers such as Panton, Colani, Saarinen, Eames and others. The Prague Castle can be reached within 5 minutes on foot, the Charles Bridge in 10 minutes and the Jewish Quarter is a 20-minute walk away. St. Nicholas Church and the Schwarzenberg Palace can be seen 300 m away, the Church of Our Lady Victorious is 500 m off and the Strahov Monastery is 1.1 km far. A tram stop is near the hotel. Parking is available in front of the hotel (at extra charge), in the garage or in our newly opened parking complex, situated only 10 minutes of walking from Vintage Design Hotel SAX. Lesser Town (Mala Strana) district is a great choice for travelers interested in history, architecture and city walks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Vintage Design Hotel Sax reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Design Hotel Prague
Hotel Sax

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing