We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Vintage Design Hotel Sax
Ranked #152 of 648 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Excellent location, near the center but in a quite place (near USA embassy and Malastrana square). Clean, big and original rooms. Incredible relation quality vs price. We will come back ti this hotel un Prague.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Serdith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dasik, General Manager at Vintage Design Hotel Sax, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2012

Dear guest,
i would like to thank you for your nice review, it is great to see another satisfy comment from our guest. We hope you will really come to visit our hotel again.
Best regards
Dagmar and hotel staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (998)
There are newer reviews for Vintage Design Hotel Sax
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

248 - 254 of 998 reviews

Reviewed November 19, 2012

We stayed here as a couple for 4 nights in Nov 12 in a deluxe room. The hotel is located in the Lesser Town near the US embassy. Prague Castle is a short walk away and the Lesser Town is generally quieter than the more touristy Old Town. Prague itself is a pretty small city so everywhere was within walking distance for us when we were exploring both the Old Town and the Lesser Town (which is separated by the Charles Bridge). You will need good flat walking shoes to tackle the cobblestone streets as we learnt the hard way.

The funky decor of the hotel is an interesting contrast to the old gothic feel of the city itself. Staff were friendly and spoke good English. The room was quite big with a sofa and a separate sitting room. All the amenities worked well and the bed was comfortable. Our booking included free breakfast buffet which we found to be excellent (I've posted some pictures of the dining room and the breakfast you get). I also got a 1 hr massage on one of the days at the hotel and would recommend it. In terms of location, it took us about 5-7 minutes to walk from the hotel to the beginning of the Charles Bridge. I personally preferred this quieter side of town but wouldn't be staying here if was travelling alone.

As a side note, we did a day trip out to Karlstejn Castle by train on one of the days and I would recommend this for those who have a bit more time. It was nice to see a different part of the country and it was very easy to get to ourselves (1 hr train ride from the main Prague train station).

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
27  Thank SNT113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dasik, General Manager at Vintage Design Hotel Sax, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2012

Dear guest,
Really big and warm thanks for so many beautiful photos of our hotel. Also it is really nice of you to write such a nice comment about us and Prague. You are absolutely right with recommendation about comfy shoes, definetly it is not good idea to take a heels for exploring Prague :D Also your trip to Karlstejn castle was really good choice, this is a gorgeous castle, the famous czech film Noc na Karlestejne was filmed there.
With kind regards
Dagmar and staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Clean and very accommodating. Pretty far from most activities, but if you are ok with the walk, this hotel has everything a traveler would need. It's nice having a laptop with internet right in the room!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank CWyrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dasik, General Manager at Vintage Design Hotel Sax, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2012

Dear guest,

i am glad to thank you for your time to share your memories from Prague to other visitors.
With kind regards
Dagmar and hotel staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

This hotel is very quiet. Few meters from the center but in a position far from crowd and noises. Staff kind. The hotel doesn't have a real restaurant but there are many places where to eat and/or drink nearby, some very good. Breakfast good with choices of many foods, salty and sweet. Beautiful furniture in vintage style. Ev'ry kind of comfort in room (pc, dvd player, wifi connection free etc). Four stars instead of five because I've booked a suite but, even if it was comfortable and large enough, there wasn't a real separation beetween night and day spaces as happens in other suites of other hotels. For example (we were two) if one wanted to sleep and the other watch tv it wasn't possible. Other suites have a day space (with tv and couch) separated from night space with bed. It's a little sin and the hotel is worth trying at all.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank unvisigoth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dasik, General Manager at Vintage Design Hotel Sax, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2012

Dear guest,
we are really sorry you didn't like your room, there are two types of suites in our hotel. Altough there is sleeping part and relaxing part of room it wasn't separate in your room. Another rooms have separate rooms (bedroom and livingroom). We hope you will come to visit us again and we promise that you will get the other type of suites.
with kind regards
Dagmar and hotel staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

We (two couples) stayed here in October 2012 on the recommendation of a friend. It exceeded our expectations as we were prepared to find some aspects of its quirkiness irritating... but no! It's the sort of place that makes you smile, but it all works and there's nothing dowdy or faded about it despite it being such a treasure trove of 70s and 80s style. The rooms were excellent and the laptop in the room was appreciated by our friends. Breakfast choice was very varied, the afternoon tea a nice touch if you're about at that time of day, and a 12 noon checkout and 2pm check in time helpful to those only coming for a brief stay. Because of flight timings, we arrived at 12 noon and were delighted to be given our rooms straight away (though that's not of course guaranteed.) If you are coming by public transport, be aware that it's 5min from the tram stops and 10 mins from the nearest metro- though that's a plus point when it comes to noise, as the location on a small but characterful street is remarkably peaceful for such a busy place. The hotel will offer an airport pick up/return for about 750 crowns each way- but note you can get the same service from an airport transfer for 550 crowns per taxi each way and it worked perfectly- just 25 minutes to get from the hotel to the airport terminal on a Sunday afternoon.
Staff offered restaurant recommendations but when we took them up on it, came up only with two fairly expensive ones, one of which was the other side of Charles Bridge. In fact there are lots of choices nearby and we had two very good meals within 3 minutes' walk of the hotel. As ever, it probably depends on who you ask. I'd recommend using your free laptop and use it to look on Trip Advisor.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank AlpineMan59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dasik, General Manager at Vintage Design Hotel Sax, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2012

Dear guest,
we are really happy you didn't find anything what could irritate you :) it is sooo nice to see how many satisfy guests we have. Due to your information about transport service.... our prices are fixed on the other hand another companies charge you persuant to the kilometres and also waiting time (red lights, traffic jam.....)
Have a good time
Our warm regards
Dagmar and staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

From the outside you would be forgiven for wondering what the fuss was about, Vintage Design Hotel Sax is a 3 story + loft conversion building, part of a old terrace in a narrow cobbled street. However, once inside, Sax blow you away with a time-bomb of stylish interior features and artefacts. Explore the public areas of the hotel and upper corridors and discover wonderful gismos. I kid you not, you have simply got to see the WC off the breakfast room, pure Star Trek.

The quiet side-street location is ideal, particularly for light sleepers. And for the security conscious the local police have highly visible 24*7 on-street patrols in place for the neighbours (the US Embassy). The “safest hotel in Prague” according to our taxi driver.

We had a 3-night stay in a de lux double room. Room was a decent size, comfy king bed and all mod cons, including a free-to-use laptop, safe and mini-bar. Bathroom was modern and clean.
Buffet breakfast, good range of options, all tastes catered for including vegetarian and the afternoon tea is a lovely treat after a day out doing the tourist thing. Mini-bar prices in the hotel were reasonable e.g. can of beer CZK50, mini-spirits CZK70 and a room service full bottle of sparkling wine for CZK250 (£8 or €10).
The staff were friendly, fluent English speakers and no shortage of tourist advice. We comfortably walked to all major attractions, Lesser Town Square, Prague Castle and the Charles Bridge.
This is a small and intimate hotel that leaves you feeling like your business was very much appreciated.
For children of the 80’s, bring your Mam + Dad, they will love it.

Room Tip: 3rd floor gives you a rooftop view
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Blackout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dasik, General Manager at Vintage Design Hotel Sax, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2012

Dear guest,
Thank you very much for your review. We are really happy that you did enjoy your stay at hotel SAX also with our breakfast and 5 o'clock tea, it is very popular and everybody loves this complimentary service.
Best regards
Dagmar and hotel staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

we stayed for a weekend in a deluxe room and really enjoyed the playful and stylish look of this hotel. staff is super nice and helpful and the hotel is very clean and in a quite side street of the center.also they had a laptop in the room for free which was great to look up stuff since we did not bring one. the tiny common balcony is really cute. only thing i didn't like was the fact that the window of our room, being a bit particular, faced the corridor. but overall a super nice funky place with great staff that should not be missed.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank julie187849
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dasik, General Manager at Vintage Design Hotel Sax, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2012

Dear Guest, We are very greatfull for your nice review. It is pleasure for us to hear a compliments. Thank you very much for taking your time to post your tips and suggestions to other guests.
Best regards Dagmar Malá and staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Hradcany & Letna
Design Hotel Neruda
Design Hotel Neruda
#71 of 648 in Prague
1,089 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Boutique Hotel Constans
Boutique Hotel Constans
#42 of 648 in Prague
801 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel U Zeleneho hroznu (Hotel At the Green Grape)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel Golden Key Prague
Hotel Golden Key Prague
#39 of 648 in Prague
321 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Appia Hotel Residences
Appia Hotel Residences
#12 of 648 in Prague
717 reviews
Hradcany & Letna
Hotel The Golden Wheel
Hotel The Golden Wheel
#34 of 648 in Prague
643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vintage Design Hotel Sax? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vintage Design Hotel Sax

Address: Jansky Vrsek 328/3 | Mala Strana, Prague 118 00, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Mala Strana (Little Quarter) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#64 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#86 Business Hotel in Prague
#92 Family Hotel in Prague
#130 Luxury Hotel in Prague
Price Range: $99 - $259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Vintage Design Hotel Sax 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This unique boutique hotel in Prague exudes the bohemian spirit of an art gallery. Enjoy the vintage design elegance and style of the 50s, 60s, and 70s inside when you return from admiring the ancient masterpieces of architecture outside. In the Vintage Design Hotel Sax you will find original furniture representing the period's cutting edge designers such as Panton, Colani, Saarinen, Eames and others. Our hotel is located directly under Prague Castle. We are close to Charles Bridge, St. Vitus Cathedral, the Strahov Monastery and the Infant Jesus of Prague. Lesser Town (Mala Strana) district is a great choice for travelers interested in history, architecture and city walks. Public transport stations are also very close - only 5 minutes of walking to the nearest tram station and 10 minutes to subway. Prague Airport is about 20 minutes by taxi or car from the Hotel. The most beautiful days start with tasty complimentary buffet breakfast and we recommend you to enjoy it on our terrace with gorgeous view of Petřín Tower and Prague Castle. Are you tired after all day walking? Let yourself be pampered in our luxury Fitness centre or you can have private massage inr your room. You will have so many experiences from Prague, you can share them with all your friends via Free Wi-Fi connection throughout the hotel. And if you want to see a film for sweet dreams you can choose from our DVD library. Some of these facilities are available at an additional cost. Parking (for extra fee) is not a problem – you can park your car in front of the hotel, in the garage or in our newly opened parking complex, situated only 10 minutes of walking from Vintage Design Hotel SAX. The Hotel and all rooms are air-conditioned. Each room is equipped with complimentary Yves Rocher cosmetics. Our staff will exceed your expectations with their personal yet professional attitude as they provide you with a level of service 24h a day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Vintage Design Hotel Sax reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Design Hotel Prague
Hotel Sax

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing