We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice design, good location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Vintage Design Hotel Sax
Ranked #187 of 646 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 3, 2012

I really liked the retro design. The room was quite big and comfortable. The location is great - walking distance from the center, but quiet. Free wifi and breakfast.
My only qualm is that the fitness "center" is really tiny, and they have the nerve to charge 10 Euros per day for using it.
Bottom line: I'd definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ekehat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dasik, General Manager at Vintage Design Hotel Sax, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2012

Dear guest, thank you for your time to share your feeling with another travelers. You are right, the fitness centre is quite small, but we think it is enough for small excercises during the holiday :)
Next time we will recommend you bigger fitness centre.
Kind regards
Dagmar Malá and staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,017)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

263 - 269 of 1,017 reviews

Reviewed October 3, 2012 via mobile

For the final stop on a 2 week trip we decided to go big and spring for a ritzy hotel, and sax delivered. You're paying for funky artistic interior design and fun kitschy decorations so its not cost effective but it is cool! Staff was helpful and kind, rooms were spacious and clean, with big closets. The location was just uphill from central town and a 15 min walk over Charles Bridge to old town. Breakfast was costly but great service and food. If you're willing to spend more on something different and unique or celebrating in style, this is a cool place to try.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Amanda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dasik, General Manager at Vintage Design Hotel Sax, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2012

Dear guest, we would like to thank you for your nice feedback, we are pleased you did like our kitchy decoration :) and we are looking forward to welcome you back soon.
kind regards
Dagmar Malá and staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

As usally booked this hotel uopn reviews here at TA.
We arrived to hotel by car which included a search by police as you have to pass and USA embassy. The hotel is located on "Mala Strana" and is 5 minutes walking from Charles Bridge.
Parking cost 20 Eur per day, but that is because of Pragues parking fees not the hotels. We have been given a "upgrade" as they put our car into the garage for the same price (normally costs 35 EUR/day)
Check-in without any problems. We booked the room on highest floor and had a nice view of Prague. The room was large, with large bathroom and both clean during the whole stay. Some nice details like notebook with use of internet free of charge, 10 DVDs also free of charge.
Everday a jug of tap water with sign that it is perfectly safe to drink tap water in Prague (for those who have any doubts :)).
Breakfast were good, with nice choice, and on-order items (try the french toasts). Also complimentary afternoon tea with cakes etc was nice touch.
Services were overall good. Really appreciate the maid service and may with room for improvement for waiters.

Overall great hotel in quiet location, off the crowds of tourists, Would recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank MicroBTS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dasik, General Manager at Vintage Design Hotel Sax, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2012

Dear guest, i would like to thank you for such a great review. We are very pleased that you did enjoy your vacation and will be very happy to welcome you back at SAX.
Kind regards
Dagmar Malá and staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

The location of the hotel is good. It is within a walking distance to most of the famous sites. You may also find many restaurants still open during night time (convenient for night travelers). The service of the front desk is not friendly and helpful. The actual outlook of the hotel condition is below what we expect from the photos. The parking fee is a little bit expensive (Euro20 per day). Be prepared to be searched by the Police if you are driving to the Hotel as it is within the embassy area. Overall, you feel safe even walking in the night time.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Kelvin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dasik, General Manager at Vintage Design Hotel Sax, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2012

Dear guest,
Dear Guest, I would like to thank you for feedback. Unfortunatelly, sometimes the little things come together, resulting in unpleasant experience, but I hope that your good memories overwhelm the bad ones.
Best regards
Dagmar Malá and staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

This is our first review ever on Trip Advisor, even though we have traveled extensively throughout Europe these last 3 years.

What a nice boutique hotel! Perfect location on a quiet and secure street yet within easy walking distance to all historic sites. Friendly, helpful and competent staffs: the front desk receptionist who provided us with map and directions at check-in as a routine practice; the waiter who managed the complementary daily breakfast which included cook-to-order items as well as a high quality buffet that included both hot and cold items; the lobby assistants who delivered our luggage to our room and showed us the hotel facilities; and the maid who did an exceptional job cleaning our room. Other nice and thoughtful touches--umbrellas in our room and in the lobby (it rained when we checked in on 9-12); laptop in our room for emails and for keeping tab on our beloved baseball team back home; and adapters for all our 110-volt gadgets. Finally, a fantastic view from our room, the old church and the castle. And as a bonus, able to see a firework show from our room window--see attached picture. Thank you, Hotel Sax. Olejogger, Ashburn, VA.

Room Tip: The two rooms on the 4th Floor have views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Olejogger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dasik, General Manager at Vintage Design Hotel Sax, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2012

Dear guest, i would like to thank you for your time to share such a romantic photo with another traveler.... We hope you will come to visit us again.

Kind regards
Dagmar Malá and staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

My husband and I stayed here last month on us honeymoon and were pleasantly surprised. The location is great, 6 min walk to charles bridge and 10 min to the old city. Whats even better is that the hotel gives a nice reprieve to the overcrowdedness of the old city (and we saw no homeless people or other beggars). We felt very safe. The rooms were clean, modern and trendy. The hotel staff were very helpful and there are even DVDs you can watch And satellite tv from the comfort of the great comfy beds!. Finally, the breakfast was great. It is a nice to have a hotel that includes breakfast that goes beyond just Coffee and a stack of pastries. Well done!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank CSchmidtke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dasik, General Manager at Vintage Design Hotel Sax, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2012

Dear Guest, I would honestly like to thank you for such a kind comment. We asre very pleased that you experienced great time in SAX and we are looking forward to welcome you back soon. BestRegards, Dagmar Malá and Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Just back from a 3 night stay with my boyfriend. Check in very easy, the lady at reception was very helpful and offered lots of info for our short stay in Prague. Bags brought up to our rooms without having to ask. I booked an attic room which had loads of space. Decor very cool, nice big tv and separate shower room and toilet. It's worth looking on each floor of the hotel as they all have quirky decor and ornaments. Breakfast room very nice, with again lots to look
at. lots of space and kept very clean. Good selection of food from the breakfast buffet and the little menu. The Waitress was very efficient. The hotel itself is on a quiet street but very near to old town. Would def recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank KimmiC81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dasik, General Manager at Vintage Design Hotel Sax, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2012

Dear Guest, thank you very much for your positive review. We are so pleased to read that you have experienced an enjoyable stay here in our hotel SAX.
our kindest regards
Dagmar Malá and staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Friday Hotel Prague
Friday Hotel Prague
#75 of 646 in Prague
762 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
The Nicholas Hotel Residence
Nove Mesto (New Town)
NYX Prague
NYX Prague
#178 of 646 in Prague
1,514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nove Mesto (New Town)
MOODs Boutique Hotel
MOODs Boutique Hotel
#67 of 646 in Prague
1,859 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Boutique Hotel Constans
Boutique Hotel Constans
#35 of 646 in Prague
874 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel U Zeleneho hroznu (Hotel At the Green Grape)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vintage Design Hotel Sax? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vintage Design Hotel Sax

Address: Jansky Vrsek 328/3 | Mala Strana, Prague 118 00, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Mala Strana (Little Quarter) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#64 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#65 Family Hotel in Prague
#86 Business Hotel in Prague
#155 Luxury Hotel in Prague
Price Range: $49 - $363 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Vintage Design Hotel Sax 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This unique boutique hotel in Prague exudes the bohemian spirit of an art gallery. Enjoy the vintage design elegance and style of the 50s, 60s, and 70s inside when you return from admiring the ancient masterpieces of architecture outside. In the Vintage Design Hotel Sax you will find original furniture representing the period's cutting edge designers such as Panton, Colani, Saarinen, Eames and others. Our hotel is located directly under Prague Castle. We are close to Charles Bridge, St. Vitus Cathedral, the Strahov Monastery and the Infant Jesus of Prague. Lesser Town (Mala Strana) district is a great choice for travelers interested in history, architecture and city walks. Public transport stations are also very close - only 5 minutes of walking to the nearest tram station and 10 minutes to subway. Prague Airport is about 20 minutes by taxi or car from the Hotel. The most beautiful days start with tasty complimentary buffet breakfast and we recommend you to enjoy it on our terrace with gorgeous view of Petřín Tower and Prague Castle. Are you tired after all day walking? Let yourself be pampered in our luxury Fitness centre or you can have private massage inr your room. You will have so many experiences from Prague, you can share them with all your friends via Free Wi-Fi connection throughout the hotel. And if you want to see a film for sweet dreams you can choose from our DVD library. Some of these facilities are available at an additional cost. Parking (for extra fee) is not a problem – you can park your car in front of the hotel, in the garage or in our newly opened parking complex, situated only 10 minutes of walking from Vintage Design Hotel SAX. The Hotel and all rooms are air-conditioned. Each room is equipped with complimentary Yves Rocher cosmetics. Our staff will exceed your expectations with their personal yet professional attitude as they provide you with a level of service 24h a day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Vintage Design Hotel Sax reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Design Hotel Prague
Hotel Sax

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing