We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Roof Terrace”
Review of Hotel U Prince

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel U Prince
Ranked #148 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Australia
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Roof Terrace”
Reviewed May 10, 2014

Currently in Prague and have had two wonderful meals on the Roof Terrace of the Hotel U Prince.
The views are fantastic. We had Adam looking after us on our first night he did a splendid job , very friendly without being in your face. Can recommend the Tuna Tartare , the Salmon and the Pork medallions. Wine is reasonably priced. Afterwards we went downstairs to the Black Angel Bar what a find , the staff very attentive and the drinks amazing I had a Basil Swizzle wow !!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Love2travel42008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michaela B, Quality Manager at Hotel U Prince, responded to this review, May 31, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our roof Terrace Restaurant and the Black Angel’s Bar, we highly appreciate it.

We were delighted to read how much you enjoyed your time on our roof Terrace Restaurant and afterwards in Black Angel’s Bar. It is my absolute pleasure to inform you and all tripadvisor visitors that Black Angel’s Bar has been announced again among the top 10 hotel bars in the world for year 2014.

I will share your comments with the entire managment and operational team, especially Adam, to really show how great service can make our guest really happy.

I look forwrad to welcoming you back!

Yours Sincerely,

Michaela Bauerova
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

995 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    589
    259
    65
    46
    36
See reviews for
155
518
28
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Arbroath, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2014

As near as damn a five, I would have given a four out of five as the hotel itself is "very good" but having the Black Angel cellar bar sways me to mark up. It's without doubt one of the best bars as far as ambiance is concerned that I've had the pleasure of sitting in.
You'll struggle to get better for location and we stayed in room 34 which has two small window with views down to the square in front of the clock.
All the staff were attentive and pleasant.

Room Tip: We had room 34 but quite noisy with it being beside the square but well worth it for the view. Have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vinegarhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michaela B, Quality Manager at Hotel U Prince, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Dear Vinegarhill,

Thank you for your recent review on our TripAdvisor page!

I am very pleased to read that you have had a great time here with us, and that our staff were so friendly in all interactions.

I am also very glad that you consider Black Angel’s Bar as one of the best bars! We really appreciate it.

We hope to see you soon!

Yours Sincerely,

Michaela Bauerova
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2014 via mobile

Great hotel, with mamzing bar. bldg from 13th century, good pricing, laundry services and right across from e clock tower. Ask for a central facing room, if you dont want to hear the revelry late into the night. Internet spotty like all of Europe but functional. cool design, every room unique. Excellent service!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank plove999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michaela B, Quality Manager at Hotel U Prince, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Dear Plove999,

Thank you very much for your review.

I am so pleased to read your kind words, and that you have had such a great visit here with us in Hotel U Prince.

Thank you very much once again, and please do contact us with any future requests or enquiries.

Yours sincerely,


Michaela Bauerova
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leek, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2014 via mobile

Great service, the rooms are big and spacious. We were greatly surprised by how friendly the staff were. The food is really good and the breakfast is delicious.

The view from the terrace at night is amazing and you are nearly in front of The Clock! Couldn't recommend it enough.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Marina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michaela B, Quality Manager at Hotel U Prince, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Dear Marina,

Thank you very much for your recent review.

I am very pleased to read that you have had an enjoyable stay with us here at Hotel U Prince.

Thank you very much once again for your feedback, and I hope to welcome you back some time in the future!

Yours Sincerely,

Michaela Bauerova
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wien
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2014

the u prince hotel is located in the heart of prague! the front desk is very nice and tries to help with all issues. The room was clean and spacious, the wifi worked throughout the whole buidling. Breakfast was very nice and everything you need to start the day! the rooftop bar/restaurant provides a specatcular view. there is a parking garage in walking distance (5min) charged 28EUR for 24 hours. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robstar81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michaela B, Quality Manager at Hotel U Prince, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Dear Robstar,

Thank you for posting review on our TripAdvisor page!

Our entire team were pleased to hear your kind feedback, and I am delighted that you mentioned so many aspects you liked during your stay at Hotel U Prince.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Yours Sincerely,

Michaela Bauerova
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2014

Firstly if you are thinking about booking to go to Prague stop thinking and book it! It is the loveliest city in the world!

We stayed at the Hotel U Prince which has the best location of any hotel in the world, as well as being voted one of the Top 10 Cocktail Bars in the world (it really is divine) and is on Trivago's Top Ten rooftops in the world with a terrace restaurant with absolutely the best view ever.

Now, onto pros and cons:

Pros

The staff at the Hotel were pleasant and attentive and friendly at all times. I know some people have said some of the service could be surly but we did not find this to be the case, in fact the complete opposite. Staff make the trip so wonderful, they really made our trip. They were so friendly and helpful and have made us determined to visit Prague again.

The location CANNOT be beaten. It is in the Old Town square which is fantastic and the most beautiful square in Prague.

The Black Angels Cocktail bar is a lovely intimate bar with live music and the most extensive range of cocktails with helpful and pleasant staff.

The breakfast was good and varied but they did run out of things like croissants around 9:00am most mornings which is a shame for breakfast that goes on until 10:00am.

My husband and I went with my teenage son and his friend. It was the perfect hotel for us and I would recommend it for families.

The building is very old and decorated in a ornate style that is lovely.

Room 12 is a suite and is positively stately in its grandeur. I've stayed at the Hotel Hermitage in Monte Carlo but this room was much better than that. I would describe it as a Presidential suite and if you are travelling with younger children this would be the ideal room.

Cons

This is an extremely old building so secondary glazing is installed rather than double glazing and so some noise can be heard from the square. Ask for rooms away from the square if you prefer quiet at night.

The building can get very hot, especially higher rooms, but it wasn't a problem for us in room 12 but was for my son in room 44 which is quite a small room at the top of the building that was a bit too hot and was noisy, however it had the best views of Old Town Square you could want.

That is all of the cons to be honest. I would definitely go back (not something I have said about anywhere else to be honest) and this hotel is wonderful. Very highly recommended.

Room Tip: Room 12 is palatial and has great views. Can be a little noisy. Absolutely perfect for 4 people...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katherine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michaela B, Quality Manager at Hotel U Prince, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear Katherine,

Thank you for your kind review about your recent stay at Hotel U Prince.

It was our great pleasure to have you staying with us. We pride ourselves on providing excellent service to all of our guests, and it sounds as though we have lived up to our goals.

That being said, I am very sorry that you found your room a little bit noisy. I will certainly raise this point to the higher management.

Thank you for your feedback once more as well as for having chosen us in Prague. We sincerely look forward to seeing you soon again at Hotel U Prince!

Yours Sincerely,

Michaela Bauerova
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuopio, Finland
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014

Stayed here with my daughter for 3 nights. Small individual hotel just in the middle of Old Town opposite to the tourist information and the clock tower. Our room and bath room were larger than normal hotel rooms. Only thing I could complain about was that the room missed some light, but actually we stayed were only for sleeping. The buffet breakfast was very nice. I could choose this hotel again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KKKuopio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michaela B, Quality Manager at Hotel U Prince, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear Kuopio,

Thank you for posting this wonderful review and so many great pictures on our TripAdvisor page!

Our entire team were pleased to hear your kind feedback, and I am delighted that you appreciated the large size of your room and the bathroom.

When you plan your next visit, please do contact me directly at michaela.bauerova “at“ hoteluprince.com and I will be more than happy to reserve a brighter room for you with more daylight.

I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back on your next visit to Prague!

Yours Sincerely,

Michaela Bauerova
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Rott Hotel
Rott Hotel
#77 of 649 in Prague
1,514 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Ventana Hotel Prague
Ventana Hotel Prague
#21 of 649 in Prague
1,296 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
The Emblem Hotel
The Emblem Hotel
#29 of 649 in Prague
1,112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Old Town Square
Old Town Square
#115 of 649 in Prague
386 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Iron Gate Hotel & Suites
Iron Gate Hotel & Suites
#97 of 649 in Prague
930 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Savic Hotel
Savic Hotel
#34 of 649 in Prague
2,476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel U Prince? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel U Prince

Property: Hotel U Prince
Address: Staromestske namesti 460/29, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#61 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#82 Family Hotel in Prague
#94 Business Hotel in Prague
#127 Luxury Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel U Prince 5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is located directly in the historic heart of Prague protected by UNESCO, on the venerable Old Town Square, where in times past both Czech and European history was played out.In the authentic environment of this painstakingly reconstructed building from the 12th century, we offer you accommodation in 15 spacious double rooms, 2 luxury apartments and 7 junior suites. All rooms are originally and stylishly equipped with antique furniture, and feature a bathroom, toilet, minibar, air-conditioning, color TV with satellite channels, telephone with direct connection and wi-fi internet connection. Perception and room service are at the disposal of our guests 24 hours a day. Covered parking is located approximately 300 m from the hotel.Our restaurant offers leading specialties from both Czech and international cuisine. You can sample them seated with our other guests, or in one of our intimate stylish salons. Our ground floor New York Cocktail Bar will surprise you with its broad selection of mixed drinks and in the basement Black Angel’s bar you can experience a pleasant atmosphere of the 1930s listening to the piano playing every night. Our outdoor garden offers you the unique experience of sitting right on Old Town Square, with a view of the Old Town Hall and its astronomical clock dating from the 14th century. Our elevator-accessible terrace offers you a unique combination of gustatory and sensory experiences, with a superb panoramic view opening out onto Old Prague. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel U Prince reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
u Prince Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing