We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food Good location”
Review of Hotel U Prince

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel U Prince
Ranked #104 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Great Food Good location”
Reviewed January 11, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is in front of Astronomical Clock. We actually went for Dinner at the hotel . Excellent food. Good vibe . Will definatley go again.They also have a terrace restaurant with very good view over Prague

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank RParbhoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michaela B, Quality Manager at Hotel U Prince, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Dear RParbhoo,

I thank you for taking the time to leave feedback on your recent visit to Hotel U Prince restaurants and I am delighted to read how much you enjoyed your dinner and the atmosphere.

I very much look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Yours Sincerely,

Michaela Bauerova
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

972 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    584
    255
    62
    43
    28
See reviews for
149
505
28
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2014

Our two nights in room 24, a junior suit with spectacular views over the old town made this the most perfect break. The free WiFi and the excellent inclusive breakfast were a nice surprise. Staff were very pleasant particularly in Black Angel's Bar which was one of the best bars I have ever visited. This is a family run hotel and it's clear from the warm hospitality that they really want to make it a home away from home.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the town square
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ian s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michaela B, Quality Manager at Hotel U Prince, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear Mr. Ian S,

It is my pleasure to read your kind feedback on Hotel U Prince and I am delighted how highly you appreciate the room 24, breakfast and the free WiFi.

I will certainly share your comments with the Black Angel’s team and I look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back in the future.

Yours Sincerely,

Michaela Bauerova
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 3, 2014

I stayed over in this hotel one night before Christmas. I read some reviews here on Tripadvisor and I couldnt choose better hotel! The staff was very helpful and friendly, the receptionist Katka recommended me the world famous Black Angel's Bar which makes the best cocktails in Prague. Unfortunately, I regret that I didnt have time to dine on The Terrace restaurant....the view is unique. You should not miss this hotel during your trip to Prague

PS: The hotel had probably the most beautiful Christmas decoration out of all buildings on the Old Town Square

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michaela B, Quality Manager at Hotel U Prince, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear Peter Bar,

We would like to thank you for your review about your recent experience at Hotel U Prince.

It is my pleasure to read just how highly you valued the whole stay with us, from the Christmas decoration, Black Angel’s Bar and the service provided by our team.

I will be delighted to share your feedback with Katka and everyone here. I look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel U Prince again soon.

Yours Sincerely,

Michaela Bauerova
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2013

We stayed as a family of four for 3 nights between Christmas & New Year at the U Prince. The hotel has an excellent location right on the Old Town Square. Our room had views over the Square and was clean with traditional furnishings.
Service throughout our stay from the hotel staff was efficient and reasonably friendly. We were grateful that the concierge organised the hotel taxi-bus to take us to the airport at the end of our stay. We didn’t eat in the hotel restaurants apart from for breakfast, which had a good hot/cold buffet. The hotel has free Wi-Fi which worked ok. We would have liked to have tea / coffee in the room. Also, the sound-proofing from the room above ours wasn’t very good and we could hear loud footsteps / wheeled suitcases across the wooden floor, which woke us up in the night. But overall, we enjoyed our stay at the U Prince although it was quite expensive (but that was mostly to do with the Christmas season).

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view over the Old Town Square
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Twickenham_family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michaela B, Quality Manager at Hotel U Prince, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear Twickenham_family,

Thank you for your recent stay and review on our TripAdvisor page.

Firstly, I would like to wish you and other people reading this review Happy New Year 2014!

I am happy to read that you have enjoyed your stay including your room with a view, the service and our hotel breakfast here in Hotel U Prince.

You have also mentioned that the sound-proofing was not to up to your expectations and that you would appreciate a tea and coffee facility in your room. I thank you for this further feedback, particularly as you are a Top Contributor on TripAdvisor, and I will raise these matters with the appropriate members of the hotel management team.

Yours Sincerely,

Michaela Bauerova
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2013 via mobile

My first visit to Prague with my new wife, we were on our honeymoon.
A good location overlooking old town square and the astronomical clock outside the Window and the Christmas markets just over the road.

Staff very friendly and helpful with luggage.
Room decor was nice, fully stocked minibar (although when I went to have a white wine I found that the previous occupant had drank it, refilled it with water and put it back in the fridge. I didn't worry too much so had a beer instead).
No tea or coffee facilities in the room (which I found surprising for a 5 star hotel).

Breakfast buffet was good with a wide selection and friendly staff. (Although staff did not actively approach tables to clear and just tended to wait till we had 5 plates stacked up and were leaving until they approached the table to clean it).

Ordered room service on our first night and a staff member came to our room to take our order. Veey impressive and the food arrived within 20-25mins.

Over all a very nice hotel.
Staff knowledgeable and friendly and good English and happy to help.
Would be nice to have a tea and coffee in the room though.
A good stay.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Adam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michaela B, Quality Manager at Hotel U Prince, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
Dear Adam H,

Thank you for your feedback and your kind words regarding your recent stay at Hotel U Prince.

I am glad that you chose our hotel for such a special occasion. I would like to congratulate you once again and wish you a life full of happiness.

I am currently investigating the minibar incident mentioned in your review to work out how this could have happened, and how to ensure that such an experience is never duplicated. I do apologize for this inconvenience and thank you for bringing this to our attention.

We are looking forward to seeing you again in Hotel U Prince.

Yours Sincerely,

Michaela Bauerova
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
Reviewed December 21, 2013

I was in the attic room, which was a tad small and the elevator does not get you there so I had the carry my suitcase up the stairs.

WiFi works perfect, hotel staff was friendly and breakfast was delicious.

I'd go back and wouldn't give it a second thought.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maormp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michaela B, Quality Manager at Hotel U Prince, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear maormp,

Thank you for your review and your positive comments. I am happy to learn that you have enjoyed your stay with us and our staff was helpful during your stay. If you have any future travel plans to Prague, please do contact me directly at michaela.bauerova "at" hoteluprince.com as I will be happy to assist you with a room of your preference.

Yours Sincerely,

Michaela Bauerova
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2013 via mobile

My first visit to Prague. The hotel was excellent. It is right on the Old Town Square, such a great location. Most of the staff were very friendly and accommodating. Thoroughly enjoyed our time and would definitely recommend the hotel to others.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank jeb1401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michaela B, Quality Manager at Hotel U Prince, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear jeb1401,

Thank you for posting a positive review on our TripAdvisor page, as well as for having chosen us in Prague.

We are happy to read that you liked our hotel, its location and that you have enjoyed your stay. I am glad to know that you would recommend our hotel to others.

We hope to welcome you back to Prague in the future!

Yours Sincerely,


Michaela Bauerova
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Rott Hotel
Rott Hotel
#79 of 649 in Prague
1,504 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Ventana Hotel Prague
Ventana Hotel Prague
#21 of 649 in Prague
1,285 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
The Emblem Hotel
The Emblem Hotel
#31 of 649 in Prague
1,082 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Old Town Square
Old Town Square
#116 of 649 in Prague
382 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Savic Hotel
Savic Hotel
#37 of 649 in Prague
2,462 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Iron Gate Hotel & Suites
Iron Gate Hotel & Suites
#99 of 649 in Prague
914 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel U Prince? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel U Prince

Property: Hotel U Prince
Address: Staromestske namesti 460/29, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#61 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#82 Family Hotel in Prague
#92 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#94 Business Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel U Prince 5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is located directly in the historic heart of Prague protected by UNESCO, on the venerable Old Town Square, where in times past both Czech and European history was played out.In the authentic environment of this painstakingly reconstructed building from the 12th century, we offer you accommodation in 15 spacious double rooms, 2 luxury apartments and 7 junior suites. All rooms are originally and stylishly equipped with antique furniture, and feature a bathroom, toilet, minibar, air-conditioning, color TV with satellite channels, telephone with direct connection and wi-fi internet connection. Perception and room service are at the disposal of our guests 24 hours a day. Covered parking is located approximately 300 m from the hotel.Our restaurant offers leading specialties from both Czech and international cuisine. You can sample them seated with our other guests, or in one of our intimate stylish salons. Our ground floor New York Cocktail Bar will surprise you with its broad selection of mixed drinks and in the basement Black Angel’s bar you can experience a pleasant atmosphere of the 1930s listening to the piano playing every night. Our outdoor garden offers you the unique experience of sitting right on Old Town Square, with a view of the Old Town Hall and its astronomical clock dating from the 14th century. Our elevator-accessible terrace offers you a unique combination of gustatory and sensory experiences, with a superb panoramic view opening out onto Old Prague. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel U Prince reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
u Prince Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing