We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location, location”
Review of Hotel U Prince

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel U Prince
Ranked #151 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Nunney
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Location, location, location”
Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

U Prince is a charming, quirky and spotlessly clean townhouse hotel in a fantastic location.

Despite being almost directly opposite Prague's famous Astronomical Clock (which attracts vast crowds every hour on the hour at any time of day) and just off Old Town Square, our junior suite with double glazing was as quiet as you could ever expect in this part of town.

Our room and the hotel throughout are tastefully decorated with copies of mainly Dutch landscape paintings and large Morrocan-style lanterns. There's a lift and a small atrium running through the middle.

Service at the hotel was generally friendly and staff speak reasonably good English. Breakfast buffet is fine, with plenty of choice plus omelletes made to order.

U Prince's hidden gem is its roof terrace bar and restaurant, which is possibly one of the greatest spots in Europe to unwind.

The restaurant, ground floor terrace and bar are not more than adequate, not terrible but certainly not as good as the hotel itself. The late night basement bar is cramped and crowded.

Recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adrie v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

997 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    589
    260
    65
    46
    37
See reviews for
155
519
28
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
durham
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Just had the most fantastic stay in the Hotel U Prince. Room, food , drink and service were first class. The terrace is a fantastic place for food , and the views are stunning. Black Angels is the perfect venue for the evening and all round this hotel offers a great deal both in service and standards.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank castle17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2013

This charming and perfectly located boutique hotel was a large part of our grand experience in Prague. The hotel had such classic decor of heavy old world furniture and art work with a real European feeling. The location was perfect to everything in the Square. We loved the Terrace restaurant in the evening for its great views and the Black Angels for its secretive allure and fabulous bar skills. Breakfast each day was lovely. The same staff was there day after day and worked so hard. They were personable, funny and interested. Maybe the female at front desk was having a bad day. It can get a little noisy late night so if you're a light sleeper, take a pass, get ear plugs or drink more wine. Overall we all loved it and would go back.

Room Tip: Don't give up the beautiful views for a quieter room. Each room is unique so be specific wih yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mamakazChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michal M, General Manager at Hotel U Prince, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear valued Guest, thank you very much for your nice review on your stay. We very much appreciate your feedback and comments. We hope to have you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Nice hotel fantastically located on Old Town square. However, with my room being on the 4th floor it was noisy until the early hours with guests and staff on the terrace, therefore, request a floor no higher than the 3rd floor.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rwgibson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We got upgraded from the sister hotel due to a problem with our booking, so of course it is easy for us to be very positive about our experience since we feel like we got great service from the staff. We had a lovely, large room with beautiful furniture and an internal view into the courtyard (although we could hear the elevator and footsteps in the hallway). We thoroughly enjoyed the view from both the upstairs terrace and the breakfast dining-room and the location of this hotel cannot be beat. Another interesting plus point is the very cool cocktail bar in the basement where the bartenders really know their stuff and where there always was live piano music - a nice touch. The breakfast quality was superb, plenty of choice and tasty fresh fruit. Only really bad point was that we also had the rip-off taxi experience - my husband departed the night before i did, in a hurry, and asked the front desk to get him a cab. I found out the next day that he had paid almost twice as much as the standard rate, and on top of it there is a very convenient public transport option extremely near by for less than a twentieth (!!!) of the price - i felt cheated and of course when i left i said no thank you to the taxi service from reception and i took the metro. Nonetheless, we had a great stay and loved the "old world charm".

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GermariBianchi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shepperton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Hotel u Prince is situated on Wenceslas square opp the clock tower. Walking distance from everything u wish to visit. The terrace bar is fabulous with views across the square and ideal in any weather. The cocktail bar in the basement is also worth a visit as the cocktails are a work of art!! This is our second stay here and would definitely stay again :)

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caroline g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

I have visited U Prince for a long weekend in Prague with my mother and aunt this April and can not recommend this hotel enough.

It combines a solid age-weathered look with the five star elegance of modern conveniences and seven star customer service. It feels less like a hotel, but more like a stately mansion where you are invited to be a welcome guest of a wealthy family.

Our concierge, Patrick, was an absolute gem - nothing was too much for him. He has recommended some lovely restaurants, booked us tables there, arranged transfers to and from visitor sights, reserved very specific tables in the bar and generally was one of the most helpful, personable and likeable people I have met, and I do travel a lot.

The rooms are great with heavy-set dark oak furniture that stepped from a high quality period drama, soft beds, fully stoked minibars and modern and light bathrooms.

The weather was miserable and cold throughout our visit, but it did not stop us from enjoying drinks on the roof terrace under the heaters taking in the view of prague from the rooftop.

But that was not the best thing about U Prince. An absolute winner must be the Black Angel's bar. It is now my firm favourite. Located two floors underground, in the old wine cellars (or catacombs) it serves the most beautiful, original and best crafted cocktails with such an imaginative way of serving that even old favourites will surprise you.

The main restaurant is usually booked solid on weekends and serves a good fare over a very varied menu. Service can be a little slow during busy times, but since we were not in a hurry, we did not mind. My mother grumbled, but than, she always does that - it's a sign that she's alive and well.

Oh, and did I mention that we've had views over the main town square and all the best sights of prague from our windows. The location is so amazing that it is worth it for it alone. I want to come back already.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank traviator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Rott Hotel
Rott Hotel
#80 of 649 in Prague
1,515 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Ventana Hotel Prague
Ventana Hotel Prague
#21 of 649 in Prague
1,297 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
The Emblem Hotel
The Emblem Hotel
#29 of 649 in Prague
1,115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Old Town Square
Old Town Square
#117 of 649 in Prague
387 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Iron Gate Hotel & Suites
Iron Gate Hotel & Suites
#98 of 649 in Prague
932 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Savic Hotel
Savic Hotel
#33 of 649 in Prague
2,476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel U Prince? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel U Prince

Property: Hotel U Prince
Address: Staromestske namesti 460/29, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#61 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#82 Family Hotel in Prague
#94 Business Hotel in Prague
#129 Luxury Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel U Prince 5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is located directly in the historic heart of Prague protected by UNESCO, on the venerable Old Town Square, where in times past both Czech and European history was played out.In the authentic environment of this painstakingly reconstructed building from the 12th century, we offer you accommodation in 15 spacious double rooms, 2 luxury apartments and 7 junior suites. All rooms are originally and stylishly equipped with antique furniture, and feature a bathroom, toilet, minibar, air-conditioning, color TV with satellite channels, telephone with direct connection and wi-fi internet connection. Perception and room service are at the disposal of our guests 24 hours a day. Covered parking is located approximately 300 m from the hotel.Our restaurant offers leading specialties from both Czech and international cuisine. You can sample them seated with our other guests, or in one of our intimate stylish salons. Our ground floor New York Cocktail Bar will surprise you with its broad selection of mixed drinks and in the basement Black Angel’s bar you can experience a pleasant atmosphere of the 1930s listening to the piano playing every night. Our outdoor garden offers you the unique experience of sitting right on Old Town Square, with a view of the Old Town Hall and its astronomical clock dating from the 14th century. Our elevator-accessible terrace offers you a unique combination of gustatory and sensory experiences, with a superb panoramic view opening out onto Old Prague. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel U Prince reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
u Prince Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing