We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Center of Town”
Review of Hotel U Prince

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel U Prince
Ranked #123 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Center of Town”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

I squeezed in one day of sightseeing during a business trip and the hotel was the perfect launch pad. The free walking tour provided by the airport transfer company started right here and it's within walking distance to all sights. It is fun to open the winder and hear the grand clock go off. Nice breakfast too.

Room Tip: pick a room on the square side to people watch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hopscotch2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michal M, Manager at Hotel U Prince, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Dear hopscotch2012,

It is a pleasure for us to read that you enjoyed your stay in Prague and we are pleased that we were part of that.

We hope to have you back in the near future.

Best wishes
Michal Stribrsky, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

965 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    578
    250
    64
    43
    30
See reviews for
147
502
29
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

We didnt stay at this hotel - but it was recommended by a friend to visit the roof top terrace - which was amazing! We sat on the top in the snow with a glass of champagne and looked over the clock and old town square. Very romantic and best night of the trip.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katedave23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michal M, Manager at Hotel U Prince, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Dear katedave23,

thank you very much for dining in our restaurant and for writing your review. It is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your night in our place..

It would be great to accomodate you when you are back in Prague.

Best wishes
Michal Stribrsky, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Went to Prague for an Xmas break and we stayed at the UPrince hotel.
Very clean with friendly, very polite staff who in the main spoke excellent English. Food was ok if a little ambitious in some areas. The Terrace restaurant on the roof offers some fantastic views of Prague (on a clear night / day) but can get very chilly if you don't wrap up despite the gas heaters.
Perfectly positioned for sight seeing, some rooms however can be quite noisy as they face the town square opposite the mechanical clock ! Great restaurants close by....The Hard Rock cafe was great as was the Buddha Bar which offered fantastic Thai food.
I would not hesitate to recommend the U Prince...I will definately go back !!

Room Tip: Take some good comfortable walking shoes, if you're sightseeing you're going to need them!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michal M, Manager at Hotel U Prince, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Dear Martin H,

thank you very much for your visit and for writing your feedback.

It has been a pleasure to host you during your stay in Prague and nothing but seeing you back in Hotel U Prince is better reward for us.


Kind regards
Michal Stribrsky, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antalya, Turkey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 29, 2012

My wife and I stayed in this lovely, traditional hotel over the Christmas period. Location was excellent, staff were helpful and the food very good. If you want to stay in a hotel that reflects the history and culture of Prague then this is it. Loved the antiques, the rugs and the traditional furniture.

We stayed in Room 53 which was normally very quiet bearing in mind the Christmas crowds out on the square, but I have to mention the noise from the lift and the roof terrace, which we were next/under to. The room would vibrate when the lift was used - which was most of the day and night - and the scraping of tables and chairs on the roof terrace kept us awake until the terrace bar and restaurant were closed.

That aside, we enjoyed our stay at the U Prince very much - that and Prague itself are perfect for Christmas.

Room Tip: Fourth/fifth floor rooms may be noisy due to lift and roof terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TCA71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michal M, Manager at Hotel U Prince, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Dear TCA71,

let me thank you for chosing our hotel and for sharing your experience.

We are all delighted that you had a good time at U Prince hotel and we look forward to seeing you again.

Best regards
Michal Stribrsky, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2012

the location of this hotel is first rate being right on the square. The rooms are also special being as large as they look on the hotel website. However the bathrooms are pathetic with no walk in shower and the wall mounted one over the bath was wall mounted just above crotch height. There was also issues with noise at night time which is due to the high ceilings which amplified sound -we stayed in room 21 and the noise levels at night were bad and could deprive sleep. We tried the restaurant in the hotel for a meal and really enjoyed the food but the service is hit and miss and other posts are correct about the level of rudeness of the staff. I do have some sympathy with the staff as they are doing crazy long shifts but they still need to understand they cannot be rude to customers.

Room Tip: try get one with a view of the square
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank earwig1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michal M, Manager at Hotel U Prince, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Dear earwig1000,

thank you very much for staying in our hotel and for posting your feedback.

I am very sorry to read that you were not fully satisfied during your stay.

We would like to provide both bathtub and shower for our guests in their rooms. However, since we have a lack of space in the historical 13th century building we do not want to do so by making living and sleeping areas smaller.

Please, accept our apology for any deficiencies in restaurant service.

We wish all the best to you on your next journeys.

Kind regards
Michal Stribrsky, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2012

You should have no doubts about booking this hotel i couldnt fault it. Me and my wife stayed for our anniversary and arrived at night. On arrival we were greeted by name and are bags taken up to the room. The room was lovely with ornate furniture and a huge bed - we were even given a "happy anniversary" in the bed room - Thanks!. The bathroom was clean and spacious with lovely toiletries. We requested a good view and our bedroom had two windows that overooked the old town square.

There was some noise if the windows were open but this is what you get if you want a central hotel.

Breakfast was great and what you would expect. The location of this hotel is second to none!

The entire hotel is covered in persian rugs, ornate mirrors and antiques.

The terrace restaurant has amazing views and is worth going up for a drink, we did not eat up there as this wasnt quite in our budget - but it wasnt over expensive either.

Prague's secret gem is Hemmingways Bar, google it and make a reservation using the hotel reception if you fancy the best cocktails in prague.

Any questions give me a shout!

Room Tip: I booked my room for £65 a night so book early!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chadburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michal M, Manager at Hotel U Prince, responded to this review, December 23, 2012
Dear Chadburn,

thank you very much for chosing our hotel and for writing your feedback.

It has been a pleasure to host you during your stay in Prague and nothing but seeing you back in Hotel U Prince is better reward for us.

We wish all the best to you on your next journeys.

Kind regards
Michal Stribrsky, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2012

Beware this hotel, all is not as it seems.Looks great from the outside but dig a bit deeper and the furniture and fittings are shabby.Room very dark and noisy with sloping ceilings.Bed at an angle very difficult to get in or out off and poor quality pillows.No headboard too,very strange.No chairs in room only stools pushed against the sloping roof and not at all comfortable.Bathroom ok but badly finished.Breakfast was poor.Little choice.Bacon you could sole your shoes with and runny eggs.Little cheese or cold meet choice too.Found the hotel staff to be fine and helpful(must have been warned by the manager).Locals though were a different matter VERY RUDE.One man kicked us out of his gift shop because we didn't buy anything and shouted at us Basil Fawlty style in a foul mouthed rant.Not doing the Prague tourist trade a great deal of good.Don't think we'll be back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lia k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michal M, Manager at Hotel U Prince, responded to this review, December 23, 2012
Dear lia k,

thank you very much for your visit and for posting your feedback. Even bad reviews are encouragment to our future work.

I am very sorry to read that you had a bad experience with our hotel.

I can assure you that our staff is very nice and helpful even without any manager's warnings. Please, find proofs in reviews below.

Unfortunately, I can not make a comment on your gift shop experience. We do not cooperate with any of these, we do not know any of shop assistants. Even if, very likely, he is not a Czech (as well as most of gift shop sellers in the centre of Prague), we are ashamed that he casts a shadow on Hotel U Prince, on Prague and Czech Republic in general.

Please, accept our apology.

Warm regards
Michal Stribrsky, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Rott Hotel
Rott Hotel
#81 of 649 in Prague
1,478 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
The Emblem Hotel
The Emblem Hotel
#30 of 649 in Prague
1,053 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Ventana Hotel Prague
Ventana Hotel Prague
#22 of 649 in Prague
1,270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Old Town Square
Old Town Square
#110 of 649 in Prague
380 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Savic Hotel
Savic Hotel
#35 of 649 in Prague
2,454 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Iron Gate Hotel & Suites
Iron Gate Hotel & Suites
#104 of 649 in Prague
898 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel U Prince? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel U Prince

Property: Hotel U Prince
Address: Staromestske namesti 460/29, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#61 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#82 Family Hotel in Prague
#94 Business Hotel in Prague
#107 Luxury Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel U Prince 5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is located directly in the historic heart of Prague protected by UNESCO, on the venerable Old Town Square, where in times past both Czech and European history was played out.In the authentic environment of this painstakingly reconstructed building from the 12th century, we offer you accommodation in 15 spacious double rooms, 2 luxury apartments and 7 junior suites. All rooms are originally and stylishly equipped with antique furniture, and feature a bathroom, toilet, minibar, air-conditioning, color TV with satellite channels, telephone with direct connection and wi-fi internet connection. Perception and room service are at the disposal of our guests 24 hours a day. Covered parking is located approximately 300 m from the hotel.Our restaurant offers leading specialties from both Czech and international cuisine. You can sample them seated with our other guests, or in one of our intimate stylish salons. Our ground floor New York Cocktail Bar will surprise you with its broad selection of mixed drinks and in the basement Black Angel’s bar you can experience a pleasant atmosphere of the 1930s listening to the piano playing every night. Our outdoor garden offers you the unique experience of sitting right on Old Town Square, with a view of the Old Town Hall and its astronomical clock dating from the 14th century. Our elevator-accessible terrace offers you a unique combination of gustatory and sensory experiences, with a superb panoramic view opening out onto Old Prague. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel U Prince reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
u Prince Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing