We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in an amazing location - we'll be back!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Archibald At the Charles Bridge
Ranked #51 of 648 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 22, 2009

We stayed here 18th-20th Feb 2009 and couldn't have asked for a better hotel or a better location.

The room was spacious, well furnished and very clean (see photos). Our room (no. 8) also had it's own terrace (the only one at the hotel) overlooking the Charles Bridge. The room also had a bath with shower over - I think many of the rooms only have a shower cubicle, the bathrooms also have a hairdrying unit/hose and a shaver point. There's also a mini-bar, but the prices are steep, however the fridge is quite a good size and there's a mini-market just up the road (Mala Strana) where you can buy water etc. for a fraction of the price (you can even get bottled beer for about 30p!). The hotel staff were all pleasant, friendly and helpful, and clearly hard-working.

Breakfasts are good, though limited by some standards - there are cereals, yoghurts, fresh fruit, ham, cheese, a selection of different breads, rolls, croissants etc., as well as scrambled or fried eggs, lovely smoked bacon and sausages. We ate at the hotel's restaurant on our first night (next door 'Pub 2'), it has a good atmosphere, the service was excellent and the food was very good - the bill came to about £40 for 2 courses, two rounds of drinks and coffees for two, which seemed very reasonable. You also get a 10% discount if you put this on your hotel bill. We also found a good restaurant just up the road in Mala Strana "pivnice U Glaubicu", the food was excellent and good value (bill for two, 2 courses + drinks was 800Kc), there was a really good atmosphere and lots of locals, which is usually a good sign - and the beer was 27Kc!

Without a doubt the best thing about the hotel is it's location. You really couldn't get any better. It's in the Mala Strana district right next to the Charles Bridge. If you walk across the bridge you are in the Old Town, or you can walk 2 - 3 minutes to Mala Strana square from where you can walk up to the castle or catch the tram (22 or 23) to save your legs (it's a steep hill). Another couple of minutes walk brings you to the metro station (line A). The hotel is located in a pretty square reached by steps down from the Charles Bridge. We could not believe how quiet it was here - there were never more than a few people walking through (though there might be a few more in peak season), and at night we didn't hear a sound! From the square you can walk through the park of Kampa Island, which is very pleasant - but the 'baby statues' were a bit disturbing!

We used prague-airport-shuttle.com to get from the airport to the hotel and I would highly recommend them. We booked direct with the hotel and got a better rate than any of the internet agents offered (59 euros per room per night b & b).

The only critisism I can come up with is that there are no tea/coffee making facilities in the room - but this seems to be common.

My brief tips for a short stay:
1. Use the trams - they are great, very easy to use, very frequent (every few minutes), very good value and a great way to see the city. Buy a 24hr ticket (100Kc) - this allows you to use all trams, metro and the funicular up Petrin Hill, as many times as you like for 24hrs - just don't forget to validate your ticket the first time you use it by putting it in the machines on the trams. Quite frankly the public transport system puts ours in the UK to shame - it's embarassing!
2. Do go up the funicular on Petrin Hill, the views are amazing, with the best photo opportunities being from the half-way stop.
3. Obviously visit the castle, but if you haven't got long it may not be worth paying the entrance fees. The main castle complex and St Vitus Cathedral are free, however the short tour price (250Kc) does include the history of the castle exhibition (which was very good) and Golden Lane.
4. The Old Town Square and surrounding area is also a must see, but don't plan too rigidly, just wander and enjoy - and don't worry if you get lost, it's part of the experience and the city is really very compact - you can't go far wrong.
5. Wenceslas Square is worth a visit, though (in my opinion) mainly for the contrast with the old town and Mala Strana - I wouldn't want to be there at night.
6. Try the dark beer - it's great.
7. Expect to be planning a return trip before you've even got home!

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank haflinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,326)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

849 - 855 of 1,326 reviews

Reviewed February 3, 2009

I have been to Prague many times and stayed in a lot of different hotels, however I have now found the place I want to come back to. The location is superb, the rooms are big and spacious and the furniture give you a real feel like 'home away from home'.

I am going to Prague again in March and I know where I am going to stay.

Stayed: October 2008, traveled on business
Thank stemick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2009

This hotel is absolutely fabulous. Firstly, let me say a few words on the location. This hotel is located on a small man made island right off the famous pedestrian charles bridge. It's a 1 minute walk to Charles bridge and 5 or 10 minutes to the old town square. Staying in this hotel allowed me the luxury of a romantic meal in the old town or a stroll across charles bridge at 11pm and no concern about a long walk home to the hotel etc. The little island that the hotel is on is very quiet even during the peak season. The hotel is very clean, and has so much charm. Yes it is not like every other hotel you have stayed in, and perhaps not as luxury as a 5 star hotel, but it has so much unique character. Granite steps up its three floors. Rooms with windows overlooking charles bridge, and wooden beams across the high ceilings. beautiful. One could imagine it like an Inn from 100s years ago. The room had full air con and was lovely and warm in the evenings. Around the back of the hotel is a little jetty where boat trips run from. Lovely photo op of charles bridge from here. There is also a large collection of swans and ducks who live there. (bring them some bread after breakfast, very gratifying to feed them). The island itself has a nice quiet park that is lovely for a quiet stroll, or you can walk 100metres onto charles bridge and head to the old town, or to the lesser town on the opposite side.
The staff were great, and even left a bag with fresh towels and soaps etc on our door on day 3 when we had "do not disturb" on the door. Never saw this in a hotel before, lovely touch.
I bet this place is busy during the peak season. Worth booking though, you could not possibly have a better starting point to explore all that prague has to offer. It's right between the old town, and the castle, and right on charles bridge. Perfecto.
BTW, We also used Prague Airport Shuttle http://www.prague-airport-shuttle.com/index.htm to get from the airport to the hotel. These guys are amazing, and added to the ease and enjoyment of our entire trip. Very friendly and professional.
Any questions about this place, or planning a trip from here, drop me a message!

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank mcgon1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2008

Hi, i have visited Prague 4 times now. the 1st two were stag parties. and even though a group of guys doing what is done on stag parties, and done really well in prague. we all said we would re-visit with our partners in the future, as prague really is a stunning city. The 3rd time was with my partner and we stayed at the archibald hotel at the charles bridge. this hotel is spot on! so much so my 4th vist to prague was for the christmas markets and we took my future in laws. having stayed at archbald befor i chose this hotel again hoping to impress my future in laws. the hotel and staff did not let me down and we all enjoyed our stay in clean,warm rooms in a hotel which has the best location and is good value for money.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank gollyWiltshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2008

This cosy hotel with friendliest staff we ever experienced has charmed us completely. Designed to keep the authencity of living style few hundred years back, it doesn' t lack neccessities of modern era for comfortable stay. The view from the window is most romantic, we couldn't get enough! The location cannot be better, right in centre of tourists places of interests, yet in walking distance to all parts of city of Prague. Pleasant surprise is that location is also very quiet.
Breakfast is very good quality, a lot to choose from.
Our stay was simply wonderful, we didn' t want to leave! Will recommend to all our friends and when travelling to Prague again, there will be no other hotel to book.

4  Thank borecek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2008

authentic hotel with character. Nice rooms en friendly people. Excellent location near the charles bridge but more important it is a quiet location on a nice square next to Kampa Park.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank diamond2810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2008

My husband and I stayed in Archibald hotel couple of times and we loved it. It's romantic hotel just by Charles Bridge in the centre of Prague! The rooms are lovely and very clean .If you stay on the highest floor the views from the rooms are excellent! I can't wait go back there!

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank KateCanterbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel Pod Vezi
Hotel Pod Vezi
#2 of 648 in Prague
2,859 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Bishop's House
Bishop's House
#15 of 648 in Prague
741 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Appia Hotel Residences
Appia Hotel Residences
#11 of 648 in Prague
748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
The Golden Scissors
The Golden Scissors
#100 of 648 in Prague
347 reviews
Praha 5
Hotel Julian
Hotel Julian
#24 of 648 in Prague
1,683 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Leonardo Prague
Hotel Leonardo Prague
#57 of 648 in Prague
2,414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Archibald At the Charles Bridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Archibald At the Charles Bridge

Address: Na Kampe 508/15 | Mala Strana, Prague 118 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#41 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#43 Family Hotel in Prague
#47 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#85 Business Hotel in Prague
Price Range: $89 - $189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Archibald At the Charles Bridge 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Archibald At the Charles Bridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Archibald u Karlova Mostu (At The Charles Bridge) Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing