We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming, comfortable and great Prague location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Archibald At the Charles Bridge
Ranked #54 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Saratoga Springs, New York
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Charming, comfortable and great Prague location”
Reviewed October 6, 2012

We had a wonderful room in this small hotel in the neighborhood under the Charles Bridge. The staff are helpful and multi-lingual. Our room was attractive and very clean, with everything we needed. A delicious breakfast buffet was included.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ejandjw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,292 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    879
    346
    50
    8
    9
See reviews for
244
701
30
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We enjoyed a special couple of days at the Archibald Hotel near Charles Bridge. It was a great location and the staff were very helpful. Prague was our favourite city. We also had a wonderful tour guide from Holland who works for Sandeman Tours and although it was very hot and we were a large group, he did a great job. Take the tour folks. We also met a wonderful man in Berlin near Charlottensburg who ran a Battery Shop on Stuttgarter Platz 1a. We had been looking for an electrical adaptor to suit Australian equipment for a month - not only did Norbert Ludwig source one from the shop next door, he didn't charge us! We were so impressed. So to Norbert we say thanks for re-affirming that there are lots of good people out in the wide world and to travellers, if you are in the area visiting the Palace, pop in and say hello to Norbert.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cazza02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
petra050, Manager at Archibald At the Charles Bridge, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Dear Guests,
Thank you so much for your recent stay in our hotel and your kind feedback you posted here.
As was written - you spent a nice and memorable holiday in Europe so thanks a lot that our hotel was part of it for few days in Prague and we are happy that you were satisfied with this choice!
Kindest regards to sunny Melbourne,
Petra Sudlikova
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 1, 2012

This hotel was absolutely gorgeous! The room was a generous size, we had a view of the Vltava River and a very comfortable bed. Highly recommend the hotel - quiet and very comfortable, the breakfast was plentiful and very tasty. We stayed here in Feb 2012 for my birthday and had a fabulous time.
Thanks

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
petra050, Manager at Archibald At the Charles Bridge, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Dear Guests,
on behalf of Archibald hotel team I would like to Thank you very much for your review written about your winter stay in our hotel - it´s really kind of you that you took your time to share your compliments and positive impressions with us through Tripadvisor long time after your stay here.
I am happy that you had a nice time in Prague and that we partly made your "birthday" trip pleasant and memorable, thanks. We´ll be glad to welcome you back in future...

Best regards to Bristol!
Petra Sudlikova
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

First impressions are that this hotel is in a great location, very close to Charles Bridge and yet far enough away to be quiet (about 100 metres from the crowds). The hotel is old and has a lot of character with a fantastic ceiling in the restaurant where breakfast is also served and the photos do not do this justice! There is a garden over-looking the river and there is also a private resident’s only courtyard. The staff are all very friendly, professional and extremely helpful! The hotel looked like it had recently been re-fitted and my room was fitted to a very high standard. Breakfast was good – a reasonable choice – not the largest selection, but everything was nice. I also had a couple of drinks in the bar with a colleague and the waiting staff were very helpful and even went and checked directions on the internet for us of a bear garden where we were meeting others. The hotel stored my bags for free the day that I checked out and marked on a map how I could get a Metro Dejvická (green line, A), then bus 119 to Airport (Letiště) for just 110Kč using a 24 hour travel pass costing just 110Kc. There is an Airport Express that is faster to the Main Station (not included in the 24 hour pass and costs 60Kč one-way), but you then have a longer Metro journey, so you may as well take the 119 bus. Since my only real negative point was a smaller room than I’d have liked and the price was so reasonable, I have to give this hotel full marks and I will definitely be staying there again as I really enjoyed my stay .

Room Tip: I had room 29 which was on the lower ground level (close to reception) with a view overlooking the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil_Edward_Smith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
petra050, Manager at Archibald At the Charles Bridge, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Dear Sir,
first of all I would like to Thank you so much for your recent stay with us and mainly your time taking to write this detailed despcription of all important aspects regarding your stay in our hotel.
I truly appreciate it because this is better than any advertisement for our hotel at all - I am glad to read that you were satisfied with our services and that you enjoyed your break in Prague!
Best regards to London,
Petra Sudlikova
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Just returned from a fabulous stay in this delightful hotel. An oasis of calm yet within minutes of the bustling city. The bedroom was large and had a lovely view onto the square which was very quiet but had a great outdoor market at the weekends. Breakfast was a lovely buffet including eggs, bacon and sausage and of course the normal continental style.
The staff were always smiling and very helpful and were a joy to speak to. The hotel itself was spotlessly clean.
We will cetainly return

Room Tip: Would certainly recommend this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TC1_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
petra050, Manager at Archibald At the Charles Bridge, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Dear Guests,
I would like to Thank you so much that you choose our hotel for your recent stay in Prague and for your kind review you posted here....I am happy that you enjoyed your city break and that you were satisfied with our location, room and services - it will be pleasure for me to share your compliments with my colleagues from reception because is always nice to know that they are doing a good job!

Kind regards to UK,
Petra Sudlikova
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

We were pleasantly surprised with the hotel; our room was located on the first floor with a courtyard in the front, where you can eat or just hang out. It is within about 100 yards to the Charles Bridge in a quiet part of the city. It's like an escape from the busy Charles bridge to some restaurants where you can sit outside for coffee/dinner- very nice.
The staff is very nice and helpful. One recommendation is in the shower to provide for a formal shower curtain with a separate liner; currently there is only a very thin shower liner and the floor wets easily.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank queenie430
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
petra050, Manager at Archibald At the Charles Bridge, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Dear Guests,
Thank you so much for your recent stay in our hotel and your kind feedback as well.
I am glad to read that you were satisfied with our location, room and services...it´s more than nice for me to read that stay here was a pleasant surprise for our guests and I am happy that you spent nice time in Prague. Thanks a lot also for your recommendation in bathroom, we´ll try to make some improvement....

Kind regards to Texas!
Petra Sudlikova
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
187 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012

We stayed there in April with our adult children
The location was perfect and the entire hotel was immaculate
Both desk concierges were friendly and helpful
Breakfast was plentiful .
No elevators
We loved it because it was small and European.
Rooms were nice - sized
We stayed in rooms overlooking the street but would opt for the water view next time.
We stayed rhe next week in the Corinthian on Budapest which is a 5 star and wonderful but all 6 of us loved The Archibald for its location and charm
We'll be back!!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jennyseinert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
petra050, Manager at Archibald At the Charles Bridge, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Dear Guests,
on behalf of Archibald hotel and staff I would like to Thank you very much for your spring stay in our hotel and for your time taking to write these lovely words about it - especially when you were
here almost 6 months ago...we really appreciate it and to be honest I am proud that we are the winner for you, compared with 5 stars hotel! Thanks a lot and see you and your family next time...
Kind regards from Prague!
Petra Sudlikova
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
The Golden Scissors
The Golden Scissors
#79 of 649 in Prague
339 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel Pod Vezi
Hotel Pod Vezi
#2 of 649 in Prague
2,673 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Bishop's House
Bishop's House
#16 of 649 in Prague
658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Kampa Garden
Kampa Garden
#75 of 649 in Prague
741 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Leonardo Prague
Hotel Leonardo Prague
#59 of 649 in Prague
2,352 reviews
Praha 5
Hotel Julian
Hotel Julian
#24 of 649 in Prague
1,609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Archibald At the Charles Bridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Archibald At the Charles Bridge

Property: Archibald At the Charles Bridge
Address: Na Kampe 508/15 | Mala Strana, Prague 118 00, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#42 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#44 Family Hotel in Prague
#49 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#86 Business Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Archibald At the Charles Bridge 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Archibald At the Charles Bridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Archibald u Karlova Mostu (At The Charles Bridge) Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing