We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Archibald At the Charles Bridge
Ranked #55 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Delightful”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

We were pleasantly surprised with the hotel; our room was located on the first floor with a courtyard in the front, where you can eat or just hang out. It is within about 100 yards to the Charles Bridge in a quiet part of the city. It's like an escape from the busy Charles bridge to some restaurants where you can sit outside for coffee/dinner- very nice.
The staff is very nice and helpful. One recommendation is in the shower to provide for a formal shower curtain with a separate liner; currently there is only a very thin shower liner and the floor wets easily.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank queenie430
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
petra050, Manager at Archibald At the Charles Bridge, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Dear Guests,
Thank you so much for your recent stay in our hotel and your kind feedback as well.
I am glad to read that you were satisfied with our location, room and services...it´s more than nice for me to read that stay here was a pleasant surprise for our guests and I am happy that you spent nice time in Prague. Thanks a lot also for your recommendation in bathroom, we´ll try to make some improvement....

Kind regards to Texas!
Petra Sudlikova
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,292 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    879
    345
    51
    8
    9
See reviews for
245
700
30
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
187 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012

We stayed there in April with our adult children
The location was perfect and the entire hotel was immaculate
Both desk concierges were friendly and helpful
Breakfast was plentiful .
No elevators
We loved it because it was small and European.
Rooms were nice - sized
We stayed in rooms overlooking the street but would opt for the water view next time.
We stayed rhe next week in the Corinthian on Budapest which is a 5 star and wonderful but all 6 of us loved The Archibald for its location and charm
We'll be back!!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jennyseinert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
petra050, Manager at Archibald At the Charles Bridge, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Dear Guests,
on behalf of Archibald hotel and staff I would like to Thank you very much for your spring stay in our hotel and for your time taking to write these lovely words about it - especially when you were
here almost 6 months ago...we really appreciate it and to be honest I am proud that we are the winner for you, compared with 5 stars hotel! Thanks a lot and see you and your family next time...
Kind regards from Prague!
Petra Sudlikova
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cordova, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

The Archibald at the Charles Bridge was a real delight. From the moment I arrived I was taken care of in every way possible. My room was so big and with a great view of the river and Charles Bridge and all the beautiful old city lights at night. It is a short walk to any of the sites a visitor wants to see and right outside the front door is a market every day. The restaurant was fabulous with a cafe right on the riverbank. Don't wait--get there today!

Room Tip: Get the special double up on the top floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lisalyons1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
petra050, Manager at Archibald At the Charles Bridge, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Dear Guests,
Thank you so much for your recent stay in our hotel and for your lovely comments written through Tripadvisor to us, I really appreciate it and of course we are happy that you enjoyed your city break and that we partly made your few days in Prague more comfortable. I hope that you´ll have a chance to come back in future...
Best regards to Cordova,
Petra Sudlikova
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauxigny, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 1, 2012 via mobile

We had a wonderful time at the Archibald Hotel. Everything was perfect. The staff is really charming and helpfull.
Our room was big and very clean. The hotel is also perfectly located. Breakfast is amazing.
We will definitely go back as soon as possible. Great address for a vacation.
Jean-François and Célestine from The Loire Vallée/France.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
petra050, Manager at Archibald At the Charles Bridge, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Dear Guests,
I would like to Thank you very much for choosing our hotel for your summer stay in Prague.
I am glad to read that you were satisfied with your choice and I am truly happy that you spent a memorable few days here! Of course, if you decide to come back in future, you are welcome.

Merci beaucoup et salutations a la France!
Petra Sudlikova
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2012

We just spent 5 wonderful nights at this hotel. This was actually my second stay here, and it was even nicer than my first visit, under the previous management. Our room was more like a lovely bedroom than your typical hotel room - - very large, with comfortable furniture including some antiques, and decorated with stenciled borders on the walls. The two windows overlooked a pleasant, tree-filled plaza, far away from the noise of any traffic, but just a few buildings down from the Charles Bridge. The staff is very polite and helpful. They serve a wonderful buffet breakfast including a variety of cereals, fruits, cold cuts, bacon, sausages, eggs, local breads, etc., and they keep the buffet filled. The hotel restaurant also serves dinner, and you can choose outdoor seating by the Vlatava River. (You can watch the boats go by.) Around the plaza are several other restaurants with outdoor cafes, so there are a lot of choices. Finally, we were just a short walk from Kampa Park and streets leading directly into Mala Strana. Highly recommended. And there was free wi-fi in our room. We'll be going back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eugenie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
petra050, Manager at Archibald At the Charles Bridge, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Dear Guests,
first of all I would like to Thank you so much that you choose our hotel for your family holiday again and for your time taking to share your positive impressions with us and others travellers!
This kind of review is always the best motivation for our future work, you noted everything and I can promise that we will try to do our best to offer perfect service for our guests and continue with improvements of our facilities. It will be pleasure for us to welcome you for your 3rd visit!
Kindest regards to NY City,
Petra Sudlikova
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed August 23, 2012

This hotel is a clean, quiet, wonderful oasis in the midst of a never-a-dull moment cosmopolitan European city. The staff is polite, helpful, and always professional. Our room rate included the breakfast buffet and was well worth it. Our room was ample and clean, and the beds were very comfortable. We were very luck to have a room with a view of the river, trees, boats, the bridge and lovely Prague architecture. The hotel´s location is perfect for seeing all of Prague. We love to see a city on foot and walked everywhere to see (almost!) everything we could in Prague in 8 days. (One reason we did not miss a fitness center or pool). But, if you want to use the tram or bus system, it is close by. We were very happy to have chosen this hotel for our entire stay. Highest recommendation.

Room Tip: We did not request a river view--but were luck and got one. Request a river-facing room on 2nd or 3r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank honestypolicy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
petra050, Manager at Archibald At the Charles Bridge, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Dear Guests,
on behalf of Archibald hotel team I would like to Thank you very much for your more than kind review regarding your stay with us and for your recommendation as well, we really appreciate it...
It´s always nice for me to read that our guests had a pleasant time in Prague and I am glad that you spent a memorable holiday here!
Kind regards to New York,
Petra Sudlikova
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2012

Just returned from 3 nights at this charming hotel. Situated in a small quiet square, moments from Charles Bridge & half way between the Castle and the Old Town Square. The only sound we heard was the Vltava running over the weir outside the window. Our room was large and well appointed in traditional Czech style. Good food, excellent staff & free wi-fi - all added up to a great stay. Even the installation of a lift during our stay didn't cause any disturbance! We'll select this hotel again when we next visit Prague.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank juliadarwen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
petra050, Manager at Archibald At the Charles Bridge, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Dear Guests,
Thank you very much for your lovely comment you wrote about your summer stay in our hotel.
I am really happy that you were satisfied with our location, room and relaxing atmosphere with sounds of the river - that´s the best advertisement for our services...I hope that you´ll have a chance to visit us in future - of course you are welcome anytime, thanks a lot!
Kind regards to Lancashire,
Petra Sudlikova
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
The Golden Scissors
The Golden Scissors
#82 of 649 in Prague
339 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel Pod Vezi
Hotel Pod Vezi
#2 of 649 in Prague
2,682 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Bishop's House
Bishop's House
#16 of 649 in Prague
663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Kampa Garden
Kampa Garden
#76 of 649 in Prague
742 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Leonardo Prague
Hotel Leonardo Prague
#59 of 649 in Prague
2,356 reviews
Praha 5
Hotel Julian
Hotel Julian
#24 of 649 in Prague
1,612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Archibald At the Charles Bridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Archibald At the Charles Bridge

Property: Archibald At the Charles Bridge
Address: Na Kampe 508/15 | Mala Strana, Prague 118 00, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#42 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#44 Family Hotel in Prague
#50 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#86 Business Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Archibald At the Charles Bridge 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Archibald At the Charles Bridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Archibald u Karlova Mostu (At The Charles Bridge) Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing