We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A reasonable and quiet place to stay in lovely city”
Review of Hotel Marketa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Marketa
Ranked #369 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Guangzhou, China
Level Contributor
73 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“A reasonable and quiet place to stay in lovely city”
Reviewed August 12, 2008

Location might not be central but it has its advantages - was a very quiet area, and in its own way more Prague. There were useful amenities nearby - supermarket, italian and chinese restuarants within minutes walk. Easy to get there and back with the city's excellent tram system, the stop is 5-10 mins walk away, some downhill and some uphill, neither too strenuous. Advice for your first arrival: be very clear how you can get there. We weren't, which resulted in some 1.5 hours wandering about and dragging the suitcase for a long walk. It turned out that it's quite conveniently connected with metro and bus.
Rooms are modern, clean and simple. Bathrooms partic good I thought.
Breakfast was very simple -- milk, tea bags, hot coffee, cereals, toasts, cakes, ham, but for us that's adequate.
The only downsides were awfully soft pillows.
The city was great and well worth the trip!

Stayed July 2008
Helpful?
4 Thank Shuang Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    50
    31
    10
    5
See reviews for
21
42
12
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Staten Island, New York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2008

My friends and I also booked a trip through GoToday in which we were assigned to this hotel while in Prague. The four of us are also New Yorkers who are used to walking everywhere. Much like the other review, this hotel is definitely a hike from the nearest source of transporation. If you like hiking up and down hills, then you'd want to stay here. However, if you're not up to this type of physical activity while on vacation then I recommend staying somewhere a little closer to the tourist sites.

Other cons: It is not located at the foot of the castle (although you can see it at a distance at the tram stop; about a 20 minute ride into the historical old town; cold breakfast that consists of coldcuts and cereal; view across the street is of an abandoned building; and the bedding, while clean, is pretty rough to the touch. One more thing...the elevators stop in between the floors so you're still expected to drag your luggage up or down to your room, depending on what floor you're on.

The pros: TV works, bathroom is ok, and the lady at the front desk was super helpful. She even loaned us some tickets for the tram so we wouldn't be stuck figuring out where and how to get the tickets.

  • Liked — Helpful front desk
  • Disliked — Distance from transportation and tourist attractions
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2008

Hmmm, where do I start? Hotel Marketa was the 3rd hotel on a 3 city trip to Europe. My friends and I went from staying at a 4 star hotel in Berlin to a Ramada to Hotel Marketa - in other words, the hotels got pregressively worse, but let's focus on Hotel Marketa.

This is not the hotel for you if you want to be close to the heart of Prague. We had to endure about a 10 min walk to the tram and then about a 25 min ride on the tram itself. Beware of pickpocketers - they do exist. I was almost a victim, but I foiled her plan of theft, caught her in the act and cursed her out NY style.

This is not the hotel for you if you like spacious rooms/bathrooms. Our room was on the top floor (4th floor) and had a slanted ceiling like an attic with a huge column that ran down the center of the room. Do you know how many times we bumped our heads?? The bathroom is equally as small with no where to put your toiletries or hang your towels or move within the small stand up shower. Speaking of the shower, if you like to take a shower with the shower head above you, forget it. You'll have to hole the head and manually rinse yourself off. The thing just slides down if you try to put it up. Frustrating. Oh and I forgot to mention that the linens on my bed were so old that they were starting to develop thin spots where holes were about to form.

This is not the hotel for you if you like a variety spread for breakfast. Well yes, the breakfast was included so I can't complain too much right? Well, there were so few choices and no daily variety (esp compared to the other 2 hotels I stayed at - both in Germany) that I wondered if this is what prison is like...

This is not the hotel for you if you enjoy the luxury of a modern elevator. This is also not the hotel for you if you have a lot of luggage and if it's heavy - you have to carry your luggage at least a flight and half just to get to the elevator and at that point you might as well climb the 2 flight more to get to the top floor. Beware the elevator does not have an interior door so be sure to keep ALL limbs, loose clothing and hair away from the entrance or you'll get stuck going up or down.

This is not the hotel for you if you like a large TV. The TV in the room was the size of the TV that I had in my room as a child growing up. It was maybe a 12 inch monitor. Sassy.

I will however say that the woman at the checkin desk was pleasant and helpful.

  • Liked — not much
  • Disliked — the linens
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank amylau27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Prague hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New York, NY, USA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2008

We booked through Go-Today for a trip to Prague in March. The hotel was inconviently located, a very long and difficult walk to all attractions and public transportation and we are relatively young, healthy, and robust New Yorkers used to walking. It is just off our travel maps and had we not taken a cab from the airport, I don't see how we would have found it. Hotel Marketa is located in a very uninteresting looking suburb where the nearest bar closed, at 8:00 PM on a weeknight. It was too far to go back to the room in the middle of the day. The beds and sheets were uncomfortable, and the room smelled faintly of smoke. We were able to get public transportation tickets from the front desk. You will probably pay more in taxi fare and train tickets if you stay here. You will walk plenty in your visit to Prague and will not need the extra hike to the hotel. I do not recommend it. Our running joke upon returning in the evening as it would not be long until we get back to the hotel as "it is located at the foot of the castle."

  • Liked — were able to buy tickets for public transporation at the front desk
  • Disliked — location, bedding
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank NewYorkertravelor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2008

The hotel was nice and in a quiet area.

I would recommend it but people need to know:

It is on the top of a hill with no public transport to the door.
The lift does not service the ground floor, so you need to be able to tote your bags upstairs.

Public transport is available at the bottom of the hill (about seven stories worth), but you have to change from bus to metro to get to the centre of the city.

Breakfast was adequate but not outstanding.

  • Liked — Quiet area, pleasant building
  • Disliked — Accessibility problems
  • Stayed July 2004, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mskins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, MI
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2007

We spent a week at Hotel Marketa and enjoyed our stay. The room was clean, comfortable and modern, but did have a hint of smoke although it didn't bother my wife or me. The front desk personnel were all friendly and helpful. Our only complaint was the occasional noise of the other guests. We were on the first floor near the lobby, and with the tile floors we could hear everything when people were talking in the lobby or in the corridor of the second floor. It was a bit of a hike up to the tram stop, but Tram #22 took us directly to most of the places we wanted to go so it was convenient. We liked that the hotel was close to a couple of good restaurants, a great pizzeria and two mini marts. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Liked — Good price, quiet neighborhood
  • Disliked — Occasional noise in the lobby
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Storm33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delray Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2007

Excellent Hotel near Castle Area. If the Marketa were in Paris or Rome it would be rated 3 Stars minimum. On a quiet residential street near Chinese and Italian restaurants and several convenient mini-markets . Staff was extremely helpful with tour bookings. Very good buffet and the best ham & rye breads . Because of the budget prices I was expecting a Motel 6 at best and was surprised by the clean rooms & overwhelmed by the modern & well designed bathrooms. One minor caution, if your main interests lie in the Old town areas; this location is perhaps not ideal; but if you want the Castle or Mala Strana it is very good.The # 22 tourist tram - nearest stop is a 5 min easy walk- is alone worth the price of the air fare.

  • Liked — helpful staff, breakfast buffet, modern bathroom, quiet, neighborhood restaurants, #22 Tram
  • Disliked — nothing ---
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank woolllen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Praha 5
Hotel Kavalir
Hotel Kavalir
#283 of 649 in Prague
236 reviews
Praha 3
City Partner Hotel Gloria
City Partner Hotel Gloria
#355 of 649 in Prague
429 reviews
Praha 3
Hotel Amadeus
Hotel Amadeus
#349 of 649 in Prague
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Praha 3
Hotel Dalimil
Hotel Dalimil
#266 of 649 in Prague
219 reviews
Praha 4
Hotel Otakar
Hotel Otakar
#486 of 649 in Prague
242 reviews
Praha 6
Fortuna West
Fortuna West
#584 of 649 in Prague
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Marketa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Marketa

Property: Hotel Marketa
Address: Na Petynce 45, Prague 160 00, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 6
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#31 Best Value Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Marketa 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The renovated Hotel Marketa with a family atmosphere is situated in the residential district of Prague 6, nearby the Prague Castle and historical centre of the city. The connection to the nearby International Airport Prague Ruzyne is also convenient (15 minutes). Hotel Marketa offers 26 rooms with free Wi-Fi Internet and a comfortably furnished breakfast restaurant. For guests is also available private parking, free to use computer and safety deposit box at the reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Marketa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marketa Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing