We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“don't sleep on the couch!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel U Krize

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel U Krize
Ranked #215 of 670 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Germany
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“don't sleep on the couch!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2010

my husband and i visited prague with two friends for 2 nights. we originally planned to stay at hotel orion but they were booked and i had not gotten confirmation on a reservation, even after emailing and attempting to book online. the gentleman at the desk at hotel orion was very helpful and arranged for a reservation for us at hotel u krize across town. at first i thought maybe this was a blessing in disguise b/c the lobby of orion was smoky and the neighborhood was more residential than central. hotel u krize was more central and offered "garage" parking (a tiny garage that barely fit 4 cars and my husband scraped our mirror trying to back it into the lift to get the car out of the garage. the attendant said "something to remember us by".) the "4 person apartment" we rented for 65 euro a night (parking was 15 euro a day) had two twin beds upstairs with a bathroom and a pullout couch downstairs. my husband and i agreed to sleep on the couch b/c it was small and our friends are not a couple. we slept with our feet toward the back of the couch b/c that part of the couch was totally sunken in. the first night, the end of my section of the couch buckled under, leaving me waking up with a very sore neck since i had slept with my head on a downward slant and my shoulder in the crack created by the buckle. we were too tired from a long trip and bad night's sleep, too distracted by showing around our friends and too excited to be in the city to consider changing rooms...but i wish we had. the 2nd night's sleep was just fitful for both of us. we were angry and frustrated. when i told the attendant at checkout the next day, he seemed to make a note but i am not confident that anything will be done about the "unsleep-able couch". our friends reported that their beds were comfortable enough. i would not stay in one of this company's "apartments" again without being sure each person has their own bed.
also, you could hear all noise from the courtyard just outside of the windows as well as through the walls, so our neighbors that came in around 5am woke us up and kept us awake till breakfast opened at 7am.
i loved prague but sleeping was uncomfortable and made us very tired to continue our trip into berlin.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank roadtrippbyopillows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    106
    39
    6
    4
See reviews for
42
128
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
wakefield
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2010

We stayed in this hotel for 4 nights very good value for money, you even get 15% off any meals you have in the hotel ( these are good value dont leave it until the last day to try as it is well worth the price and you will want to eat again in the restaurant)
rooms are basic and clean and the towels are changed daily. I would stay in the hotel again if I went back to prague as the location is good.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cassieWakefield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2010

After being stranded in Prague due to the Volcano and flights being cancelled, the original hotel we were staying in could not give us a room, so we moved into the Hotel U Krize. The hotel is opposite the funicular railway that goes up to the viewing tower, and although on the main road with trams going past, was very cosy and homely.

The staff were very welcoming and always happy to help. The manager even brought us free lunch and drinks one day as we were stuck trying to get flights back home. The room itself was quite large, overlooking a courtyard below, and had a large bed, minibar, wardrobe and bathroom. There was a flatscreen TV with digital channels, unfortunately not in English, but this was not too much of a problem. The bathroom was quite large, and all the furniture was sturdy. No damage in the room or any signs or graffiti or mistreatment. There was also free WiFi in the room.
The hotel had a small restaurant which was also open to the public which did very nice food quite cheaply. Breakfast was nice, with an arrangement of cold and hot breakfast food available, and nice fresh bread rolls. For two of us to eat each night it was about £12, and as a hotel guest you get 15% off the food bill each night. Also there is free coffee and cake each afternoon, which was a nice touch.
The only downside to the hotel was that our room was right next to the wooden staircase so anyone traipsing up the stairs at night made quite a bit of noise, but this was negligable. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone wanting somewhere cheap but welcoming in Prague. We will definitely go back to Prague, and wouldn't stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank illusionofdestiny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sachsen b.A, Germany
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2010

I have stayed in many basic and inexpensive hotels, but this place was dirty, the service terrible and the paint was even peeling in my room! When we arrived there was a man standing outside. He watched us enter. We went to the reception desk and no one came. We finally called. Still no one came.... Eventually a woman from the restaurant came and got the guy we had passed on our way in. He knew we were checking in, with luggage etc, but remained outside for whatever reason. It was not the greatest start, but hey for 59 euro/night for a double room, i don't expect 5 star service.

The room however was not only old and ragged, but very very dirty. Multiple stains above the bed on the wall from peoples heads, bugs and mosquitos that had been squashed. The towels were old, falling apart and stained...although appeared to have been laundered. Bathroom light switch had dried blood or G*d knows what on it. Panel above the toilet to flush with, approx 8X8 was so filthy I was afraid to touch it. Most things appeared to have not been cleaned or wiped off in ages.

The window was broken and could not be locked or even shut properly. It was really a terrible experience from beginning to end.

Oh yes, even the TV was broken, satellite not working or something and we could only get a few channels, no sky news or cnn or much of anything.

Sorry Hotel U Krize, but you need to get your act together or rename as a pension and at 1/2 the price.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hobnobsmausi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bucharest
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2010

I enjoy a lot to stay at this hotel! The room is more then good, the position is excellent, the staff of this hotel was more then friedly with us! For sure, i"ll be back to visit Prague and i"ll stay to this hotel!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BucharestDragos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2010

Great location, more than decent rooms. Very good hotel restaurant with an excellent self service breakfast. No complaint whatsoever.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank drugiviator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
galati
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2009

We stayed in Hotel U Krize during 3 - 6 September. We found it very nice, spacious rooms, friendly staff, an excellent option if you need good accommodation in such beautiful city like Prague. We were two adults and our son aged 11 and had a 2 level room with stairs in the middle, which were the attraction of my son. Breakfast is usual, many choices to eat and location is excellent, just opposite the funicular to Petrin hill. Tram station is near the hotel, which is very convenient when you want to go downtown.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank leogalati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel Mala Strana
Hotel Mala Strana
#219 of 670 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel William
Hotel William
#123 of 670 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 621 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel Kampa-Stara Zbrojnice
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel Atos
Hotel Atos
#239 of 670 in Prague
3.5 of 5 bubbles 874 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel Roma Prague
Hotel Roma Prague
#154 of 670 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,752 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Small Luxury Palace Residence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel U Krize? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel U Krize

Property: Hotel U Krize
Address: Ujezd 20 | Malá Strana, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Mala Strana (Little Quarter) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #215 of 670 Hotels in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel U Krize 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Hotel U Krize reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing