We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine hotel in excellent location”
Review of Koruna

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Koruna
Ranked #567 of 650 Hotels in Prague
Mechelen
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fine hotel in excellent location”
Reviewed February 10, 2008

Reading all the previous reviews, I was a bit worried about it. However, don't expect a 4 star accomodation in a hotel for which you pay € 88,- for 4 nights. If you want a lot of comfort, I'm sure you can find plenty enough overprized hotels in Prague to fulfill your needs.
The Koruna hotel fits perfectly for people who need a hotel with basic comfort (i.e. a bed with clean sheets, a bathroom with shower, sink and a toilet and a small tv) for a good price just out of the expensive centre of the city. The location is perfect (we didn't use the subway or busses to visit the city, lots of restaurants, pubs and disco's in the immediate neighbourhood). The people at the reception desk are very friendly and willing to help. The breakfast was simple, but refilled sufficiently untill the last minute.
We were with a group of people with in total 3 2p-rooms. All 3 rooms were ok, except one light in our room, wich was repaired after simple request the morning after. The refilling of the water tank in the toilet is quite slow, which might explain the "broken" toilet of one of the earlier reviewers.
To summarize: we got what we expected for the price we paid and enjoyed our stay in the Koruna Hotel.

  • Liked — Location just outside the centre - price
  • Disliked — Old furniture with quite hard beds
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rulenr1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    29
    55
    15
    29
See reviews for
16
43
19
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
159 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2008

This hotel does not deserve the rating of 3 stars by any standard!

Although inside it was clean enough to stay in, it wreaked of cigarette smoke (Which is to be expected in most places in Prague) and looked like I had stepped back in time. The breakfast was also as poor as you would find anywhere with stale bread and a very limited choice of cold hams and cheeses. Cornflakes were on the menu as was muesli but that was it..!

The hotel is in real need of modernisation to say the least..!! The rooms were very basic at best with small beds, a flatpack wardrobe which was falling apart and an old golden coloured piece or material for a curtain... certainly not what we expected..! There is a TV in the room which is tiny, poorly tuned and not worth actually being there. The window in our room also looked out onto the rooftop of downstairs and was completely surrounded by a wall. All we had to look at was brick, pigeons, pigeon poo and debris... what a disgrace...!! The bathroom was clean but again, very basic. The sink was leaky and the bathroom had no real extraction.... so as you can guess, well you know what I mean...! The shower was good, although make sure you run all taps for a short period before use as the water looked a little murky to start with... yuk..!! The outside of the hotel also looks like something out of the communism era and is covered in Graffiti!

The hotel is situated about 5 minute walk to Wenceslas Square and about 10 minute walk to the old town and is a very pleasurable walk. The underground is just around the corner too, as is Tescos, fast food joints, money exchange, tram stops and lots of other shops..!

In terms or staying in this hotel, if you need somewhere cheap, then this may be the place for you, but if you are looking for any kind of standard, stay well clear of this dump!

On a more positive note though, the Bar/Restaurant around the corner called 'The Dogs B*llocks was excellent. It advertises 'Best Steaks In Prague' and I can re-assure you that is no lie..! We had steak there and it was superb. The beer is also price at about 95p per 0.5ltr and is open every night till 1am and 2am on Saturdays and Sundays! Go to this bar, but stay clear of this so called hotel..!!

  • Liked — Location was ok, close to main attractions.
  • Disliked — Most of it..!
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank javab29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Prague hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
scotland
1 review
Reviewed November 20, 2007

Ok, so this hotel is not the Ritz - but for £88 for 3 people for 2 nights, what do you really expect ???
Room 306/307 meant we had a bedroom and living area which was useful travelling with a 2yr old.
Beds are a total nightmare, like lying on a plank of wood and they creaked as much as the floorboards, if not more.
Hotel was in a great location and yes, there was some grafitti on it - but Prague has a little bit everywhere !
Hotel is badly in need of a makeover, but i have to agree with Mrs realistic - you can't expect a lot unless you pay a lot !!!
Rooms were clean and really warm, breakfast was fine and location was great.
Expect to get what you pay for !!!!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Beds and shower
  • Stayed November 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaitlinG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne,Aust
1 review
Reviewed October 2, 2007

I couldn't agree more with the review of 23 Sep 2007 by boggy44. This is the worst accommodation of any sort I have experienced- and that includes school camps in the scrub.I have never been to prison but if it is anything like this I can understand why prison has such a bad name. Pillow the size of a table mat,one thin sheet,bars on the window. But the piece de resistance was a toilet that wouldn't flush! After Id complained about the toilet I was told it had been fixed, only to find the method of fixing must have been a bucket because there was still no flush and by this time a terrible smell. I was then moved upstairs and aftyer turning on the main light went to turn on the desk lamp, only for it to short out all the electric appliances. Prague is cheap enough to afford more expensive accommodation. Hotel Koruna should be avoided at all cost. NUTSY, MELBOURNE AUSTRALIA 3 OCT 2007

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — everything
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank NUTSYMelbourne_Aust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
American Canyon, California
1 review
Reviewed September 22, 2007

didn't do my homework going to new city.landed at koruna. it was awful.in fact RUBBISH
i am not a fussy person but the room was the worst i have ever stayed in which was a shame because the location was very good not far from charles bridge
the room was small, with basic furniture. floorboards creaked at every step, the bed was small and very uncomfortable. the bathroom was clean but in poor condition, with the shower soap container was just a removed briCk in the wall.
the view from the small grimy window was enclosed buildings with picturesque views of pigeon droppings and the occasional bird cooing outside the room at 5 in the morning.
breakfast was adequate but juice was orange squash. i'm way past 10 years of age. i sent pictures to my friends bill and stef who just laughed from their 5 star luxury in hawaii.
if your travel agent offers you this delightful hotel - my advice RUN LIKE THE WIND

  • Liked — the exit
  • Disliked — the scarey lift
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank boggy44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cramlington, Northumberland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2007

Similar to at least one other reviewer of this hotel, I only read peoples' reviews after I had booked the hotel and was horrified by what was being said. I had booked the Koruna through OctupusTravel, who I have used for all my previous mini-breaks away and based it on the price, location and overview of images provided. Having never been let down previously by OctupusTravel, I couldn't believe I was reading about the same hotel and was ready to do battle with them upon my return should the other reviews be proven right.
Thankfully, I breathed a huge, huge sigh of relief when we arrived at the hotel late on Sunday evening (11 - 14 March). The reception area & bedroom were exactly as presented within the travel co's web photos, as was the breakfast room when we went there next morning.
Yes, our room was basic (ie the amount of furniture within) but based on the price I paid, I couldn't expect the Ritz. Most importantly, it was spotlessly clean, the linen was crisp & white, modern & fresh duvets and clean towels in the bathroom. The bathroom itself was clean & the shower provided was more than powerful enough and gave a good combo of hot & cold water, to suit personal preference.
The beds & towels were changed every morning without any prompt. The only thing I would agree with is that the beds were low down and pretty hard to lie on. There was not much mattress support and the pillows weren't adequate for me personally. The breakfast was more than adequate and no different in quality or quantity to any other cold buffet breakfast I have been served. There were plenty choices of cereals, cold meats, cheeses, breads, jams, juice, coffee / tea, etc and all were regularly topped up.
There was always a member of staff on Reception, very friendly and helpful and there was an abundance of information leaflets available to take.
Overall, I would beseech anyone reading all these reviews not to be put off booking the Koruna. Perhaps I'm too open-minded on such things but I fully accept that unless I pay hundreds of pounds for a hotel room then I'm not likely to end up in a Palace so I don't know what angle some of these reviewers are coming from.
The hotel provides basic accommodation, is very clean and not smelly and it's location is ideal. Yes, it's on a narrow street behind the theatre, has a little graffiti on one of it's walls which should be cleaned off but it doesn't represent it truly. It's quiet, we encountered no trouble at all, felt perfectly safe whilst out of an evening and found a fantastic bar / restaurant just round the corner from it. It only takes a minute to get to the river side and from there it is literally a 5 mins straight walk along to Charles Bridge.
I hope this review is accepted as genuine by others, however, please don't hesitate to contact me on 07738 628665 (Bev Marshall) if you want to verify what I've wrote.

Stayed March 2007
Helpful?
Thank MrsRealistic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
93 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2007

Ugly and smelly! I have visited Prague many times, but I have never stayed in such a terrible hotel. It is not even cheap. There are lots of nicer and cleaner places to stay. Beds are anything but comfortable, seems like they have forgotten the mattresses, only the springs are there...

Stayed February 2007
Helpful?
Thank MrsM-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Hotel Adler
Hotel Adler
#121 of 650 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Rubicon
Hotel Rubicon
#221 of 650 in Prague
3.5 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Hotel City Inn
Hotel City Inn
#578 of 650 in Prague
3.0 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel City Centre
Hotel City Centre
#584 of 650 in Prague
3.0 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
hotel Colloseum
hotel Colloseum
#474 of 650 in Prague
3.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
A Plus Hotel & Hostel
A Plus Hotel & Hostel
#521 of 650 in Prague
3.5 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Koruna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koruna

Property: Koruna
Address: Opatovicka 168/16, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Nove Mesto (New Town) , Praha 1 , Praha 2
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #567 of 650 Hotels in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Koruna 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Koruna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koruna Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing