We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Characterful boutique hotel in perfect location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Design Hotel Jewel Prague
Ranked #11 of 646 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 11, 2014 via mobile

We have just returned from a two night stay at Design Hotel Jewel and the hotel could not have been more perfect!
The hotel is in a perfect location: 2 minutes walk to the main shopping area with department stores, Zara, H&M etc, 5 minutes walk to the Old Town and less than 10 minutes from Charles Bridge. We arrived from the airport by taxi at a cost of 550 CZK (about £17), the journey took around 25 minutes. There are plenty of nice non-touristy restaurants, cafés and bars nearby as well.

The hotel also has its own restaurant which we didn't get the chance to try. The restaurant is lovely though, beautifully decorated! We had a couple of drinks here, the cocktail menu is very extensive and well priced at around 150 CZK for a drink. Breakfast was also served in the bar area. Being a small hotel, the breakfast service is great and stress free. On offer was a buffet breakfast consisting of the usual choice of cheese, ham, breads, pastries, cereals, yoghurts. In addition to the buffet breakfast, there is also an a la carte breakfast where you can choose from cooked foods such as pancakes and fruit (delicious!), bacon, omelette, eggs etc.

We were in the Amethyst room on the first floor at the front of the hotel. The staircase in the hotel is beautiful! In the centre is a lift for luggage. The bed in our room was AMAZING!! Without a doubt the comfiest bed I have ever slept on. The bedding and pillows were also fantastic. The room was so beautifully decorated, nice high ceilings and lovely windows as well. The only thing I would change about the room is the full length mirror location. For me, a full length mirror is non negotiable and the only mirror was on the back of the wardrobe door which was next to the sofa so it was a bit of a squash to check yourself! Thankfully there was also one directly outside our hotel room :)

The staff were all great and helpful at the hotel as well. Nice touches included turn down service and water and chocolates in our room after a long day out!

I will definitely recommend this hotel to all my friends and family if they visit Prague. I hope I can come back again in the near future! Thank you for such a lovely time!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lauraandjake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (783)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

358 - 364 of 783 reviews

Reviewed March 10, 2014

A fantastic place to stay in Prague. It is what it is called. A real gem perfectly situated in the heart of the old town. One of the best hotels we ever stayed in. Every detail was perfect and the staff was very helpful and charming. They did everything to make our stay pleasant and memorable. The room, restaurant, bar and all other areas in the hotel were esquisite. We felt very at ease and really enjoyed the warm, sofisticated and timeless atmosphere.The breakfast was great, everything freshly made and of the highest quality. Besides the buffé you could order from the breakfast a la carte menue and get freshly made omelettes and baked eggs. Or/and fantastic pankakes with fresh fruit. You could enter the hotel from two directions, one leading directly to the staircase and the rooms. The room itself was lovely and decorated with style and high quality materials such as a mosaic shower. The bed was heavenly and we tried to buy it and take it with us back to Sweden :-). They even had a pillow menue if you wanted a certain type of pillow. This hotel gave great value for money. It was perfect!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ia_Mattsson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vkunert, Manager at Design Hotel Jewel Prague, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2014

Dear la_Mattsson,
I would like to thank You in the name of all our staff for such a detailed and lovely review.
We hope to see Yo again at Jewel Hotel soon.

Kindest regards,

Tonći Lončar
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2014

Lovely hotel, small and intimate, very clean and a great bed. Perfect location in the heart of prag. The staff is super friendly and helpfull, and the restaurant is decent with affordable prices. Good breakfast too. We will come back. 100% recommodation!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philip K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vkunert, Manager at Design Hotel Jewel Prague, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2014

Dear Philip K,
We are more than pleased to hear You liked your stay at Jewel Hotel.
We do our best to keep the guests satisfied.
Thank You in the name of all Jewel Hotel and Jewel café bar staff.

Best regards,

Tonći Lončar
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2014

I Can say a lot about this Nice place, but I Think that the best is - I will choose again and again Hotel Jewel in future!!! Do you want to know why? Come and stay once in this cozy place. It will explain, why...

Room Tip: Rooms are small, but it is just perfekt enjoy the City and jump to the softest bed with your tired b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diana T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vkunert, Manager at Design Hotel Jewel Prague, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2014

Dear Diana T,
Thank You for such a nice review. We are glad you felt your diamant.
We hope to see You again soon.

Kindest regards,

Tonći Lončar
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014

Upon arrival I was surprised to see how small our room was and how many stairs we had to climb! However, those are only the slightest bad things I have to say about this hotel. It grew on my husband and I by the second day and we grew to love how cozy it was and the fact that there wasn't an elevator to disturb how authentic it was. It was built in the 1300's and the steps were made out of stone. We could sometimes hear the maids and our neighbors leaving their rooms but it contributed to the cozy, homey vibe. We felt like we were at a family's home. The beds were very comfortable and every room had a theme relating to a gemstone. I liked that our room was named Aquamarine and not just a number! The staff were amazing, helpful and friendly. The breakfast had a great selection. The bar area really came alive at night with the lighting and music, it had a fun and romantic vibe. The location was perfect! There were tons of great restaurants and bars within walking distant, yet it wasn't sooo close to the touristy area so the food places were still cheap and tasty. It was still a five minute walk from Old Town Square however. When we checked out, I was astounded to see the bill when checking out. You get so much for so little! Amazing.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

A very nice and lovely place to stay! Stylish room and atmosphere, excellent service and selection of breakfast. We felt very welcome. For us from a logistical point of view ideal as it is very central located and close to all important things to see. If we will come back to Prague we will stay in the Jewel hotel for sure...

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bibi1167
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

A tiny and very cosy hotel in the very center of Prague, excellent service, excellent breakfast, excellent location! There are only about 12 rooms alltogether, that makes it very personal.
There is a bar connected to the hotel, so you can always take a drink or even a meal there.

Room Tip: You might want to stay on the first floor as there is no elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eva S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel Pod Vezi
Hotel Pod Vezi
#2 of 646 in Prague
2,994 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Residence Agnes
Hotel Residence Agnes
#1 of 646 in Prague
3,376 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Unitas Hotel
Unitas Hotel
#7 of 646 in Prague
1,801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nove Mesto (New Town)
BoHo Prague Hotel
BoHo Prague Hotel
#6 of 646 in Prague
1,003 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Bishop's House
Bishop's House
#14 of 646 in Prague
805 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Appia Hotel Residences Prague
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Design Hotel Jewel Prague? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Design Hotel Jewel Prague

Address: Rytirska 529/3 | Stare Mesto, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#18 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#58 Business Hotel in Prague
Price Range: $110 - $238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Design Hotel Jewel Prague 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jewel - Design Boutique Hotel (U Klenotnika) is charming 4 * Boutique Hotel,it belongs among the best and top family Hotels in the center of Prague. Origin of the Hotel is historical building and besides unique design and comfort offers a great location - only 1 minute walk to Wencelsas Square and 3 minutes from Old Time Square. Jewel Hotel with its 11 Boutique Rooms offers also a luxury a design accommodation for demanding clientele. On the ground floor you can find a stylish Jewel Cafe and Restaurant with breakfast service. If you decide to get to know the magical beauty of Prague during your stay, everything is right in front of you. In the Hotel's surroundings you will find Stavovsky Theatre, it was loved by Mozart, as well as many modern musical night Clubs, wide selection of restaurants with traditional Czech Cuisine and International Cuisine and many cosy Cafes. All the main historical sights of the city are in a short walking distance or by public transport. Jewel - Design Boutique Hotel (U Klenotnika) is representing ideal combination of quality, location and accommodation price in Prague for small family holidays, business travelers and also more demanding guest with special requirements. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Design Hotel Jewel Prague reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
u Klenotnika Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing