We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great little hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Design Hotel Jewel Prague
Ranked #10 of 670 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great little hotel”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Stayed in Jewel Hotel for three nights last week on first visit to Prague.

The hotel is a little gem! Small but perfectly formed with lovely decorations and very comfortable beds. Bathrooms small but very well laid out and finished.

Some noise from the street can be a disturbance at night but, if you don't mind stairs, ask for a top floor room and it's not a problem.

It's in a perfect location for most of the main attractions and we walked every day to a wide variety of sights - Wenceslas Square, for example is 2 minutes round the corner and the Charles Bridge is no more than 5 minutes away.

The airport transfers that we booked worked perfectly as well; on time and very efficient.

There will be no need to consider staying anywhere else anytime we return to Prague.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tt60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

709 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    605
    89
    11
    2
    2
See reviews for
86
341
76
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

A very nice hotel within walking distance of nearly all the places most people go. The rooms are typical European, small, but very comfortable and nicely decorated. Breakfasts are well prepared and the staff was very helpful. No elevator (except a small one for luggage). As we had a very early flight out on our last day and had to depart the hotel at 3:30 a.m., the staff prepared a couple of "take outs" the night before; my wife and I each had two huge sandwiches, fruit, and yogurts - they got us through the whole day. All in all, a great place to stay in Prague.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

This hotel was a pleasant surprise. We stayed 2 nights and I have to say it exceeded expectations. We had a lovely clean room, great location near all the landmarks, and amazing athmosphere. Thoroughly recommend this hotel and will be going back if I visit beautiful Prague again!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank orcuni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portoroz, Slovenia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

I have stayed there for 1 night. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Breakfast buffet is not the biggest but pretty decent one. All the most important sights are in vicinity. My room (SGL) was not very bug but bedding was great and same was bathroom.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janez J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed 3 days, 2 nights at this hotel and had an incredible experience.

SERVICE: We were upgraded to a larger room upon arrival (free of charge) and (upgrade aside) were greeted by the world's nicest front desk lady who gave us several great recommendations for restaurants and beerhalls (we loved them all!). Our room was super clean and modern (as was the rest of the hotel area) and had free wifi. Breakfast was included in our rate: the first day was a pretty modest spread of breads/jams/fruits/yogurts/hams/cheese (no hot foods). The second day was the same and the same front desk lady also offered us to choose something off the a la carte menu - options included omletes, scrambled eggs, etc (again, free of charge) - how nice!

LOCATION: Super close to everything - <5min to Old Town Square, etc. Felt safe even late at night (though a bit of a quieter street).

The Only Cons: Bed was really soft (too soft for our liking) and our room seemed to be right on top of the restaurant/bar area so the first night (a Saturday night) we were kept awake by the nnnntz nnntz nnntz of terrible techno music that lasted til about 130-2am. The second night we didn't hear any music.

If I come back to Prague, this hotel would definitely be my first choice again (but I'll request a higher floor!).

Room Tip: Higher floor away from the restaurant turned lounge/club at night...though there are no elevators so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank michster54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

We stayed 2 nights before Christmas. This hotel is in a perfect location. Walking distance to all the sites.

Checking in is a little confusing as you have to walk through the bar to find front desk. The staff is very helpful, and the rooms very clean and modern. Great bedding and bathroom.

Wonderful hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Boilerg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Everything about the Design Hotel Jewel Prague is top notch: one could not ask for a nicer and more helpful staff, the location was super excellent, and the building and the rooms were clean and well decorated. In all, an excellent place to for excursion in and around Prague!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ryanfg2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel Pod Vezi
Hotel Pod Vezi
#2 of 670 in Prague
2,428 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Unitas Hotel
Unitas Hotel
#9 of 670 in Prague
1,620 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Residence Agnes
Hotel Residence Agnes
#1 of 670 in Prague
2,973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nove Mesto (New Town)
BoHo Prague Hotel
BoHo Prague Hotel
#7 of 670 in Prague
666 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Ventana Hotel Prague
Ventana Hotel Prague
#19 of 670 in Prague
1,244 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Savic Hotel
Savic Hotel
#32 of 670 in Prague
2,418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Design Hotel Jewel Prague? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Design Hotel Jewel Prague

Property: Design Hotel Jewel Prague
Address: Rytirska 529/3 | Stare Mesto, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#18 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#45 Family Hotel in Prague
#58 Business Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Design Hotel Jewel Prague 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jewel - Design Boutique Hotel (U Klenotnika) is charming 4 * Boutique Hotel,it belongs among the best and top family Hotels in the center of Prague. Origin of the Hotel is historical building and besides unique design and comfort offers a great location - only 1 minute walk to Wencelsas Square and 3 minutes from Old Time Square. Jewel Hotel with its 11 Boutique Rooms offers also a luxury a design accommodation for demanding clientele. On the ground floor you can find a stylish Jewel Cafe and Restaurant with breakfast service. If you decide to get to know the magical beauty of Prague during your stay, everything is right in front of you. In the Hotel's surroundings you will find Stavovsky Theatre, it was loved by Mozart, as well as many modern musical night Clubs, wide selection of restaurants with traditional Czech Cuisine and International Cuisine and many cosy Cafes. All the main historical sights of the city are in a short walking distance or by public transport. Jewel - Design Boutique Hotel (U Klenotnika) is representing ideal combination of quality, location and accommodation price in Prague for small family holidays, business travelers and also more demanding guest with special requirements. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Design Hotel Jewel Prague reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
u Klenotnika Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing