We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Design Hotel Jewel Prague
Nearby Hotels
$115
$90
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Julian(Prague)
$100
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$197
$159
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$146
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$571
$483
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$195
$123
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$257
$249
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$162
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Unitas Hotel(Prague)
$182
$174
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$257
$232
Preferred Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (797)
Filter reviews
797 results
Traveler rating
679
103
11
2
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
679
103
11
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbedtime storyweather forecastno elevatorturn down servicetrue jewelfruit infused wateramethyst roomruby roomold townevery eveningsingle roomlittle touchesperfect locationsmall liftgreat boutiquesmall hotelpillow menu
Filter
Updating list...
483 - 488 of 797 reviews
Reviewed December 4, 2012

We stayed 5 nights in the Jewel hotel and had a great stay. The location of the hotel couldn't be better. We were able to tour all of the main sites of Prague via foot or a quick ride on the trolly or train just a few minutes walk from the hotel.
We stayed in the Aquamarine room (business) which was on the top floor. We were happy to be on the top floor despite the stairs as we found the doors to be old and not very soundproof. We were awoken by our neighbours coming and going in the morning not because they were particularly loud, but the doors didn't do a good job of blocking noise. Luckily, on the 4th floor, we didn't have much traffic.
The room was a bit small but perfectly fine for the 2 of us. We found the bed to be extremely comfortable and we appreciated the turn down service, the fresh fruit water and the treats at the end of every day. The staff were friendly and helpful and the cocktail bar was great to unwind in after a long day.
All in all, we enjoyed our stay and we'd definitely stay at the Jewel again.

Room Tip: I wouldn't go smaller than a business room if more than one person and higher up means more stairs but quieter.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JJReid1030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vkunert, Owner at Design Hotel Jewel Prague, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2012

Hallo,

Thank you for a review that really made us happy and we really appreciate it.



I´d like to react to the problem with the door.

The doors are not old, on the contrary all the doors are there for just year and a half. I think it was more about the noisy neighbors as mentioned in the review. In this case each guest having this problem can contact the reception and we will do our best to deal with the issue. We can call up on the noisy guests or we can change the rooms for guests. Unfortunately we were not aware of this issue. It really is a pitty – moreover because the guests were staying for five nights. We hope they liked their stay at our hotel and that maybe we will see them again in future.



Thank you for reading,

Viktor Kunert

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2012

If you are looking for a great priced hotel while visiting Prague. The Jewel Hotel offers great location, friendly staffs willing to help to make your vacation stay a wonderful experience.

The Jewel boutique Hotel is situated in the very heart of Prague in Rytírská 3, only 1 minute walk to Wencelsas Square and 3 minutes from Old Time Square. In the Hotel's surroundings you will find Stavovsky Theatre, it was loved by Mozart, as well as many modern musical night Clubs. There are varieties of restaurants near by, and .. O, there's a Starbucks at the Old Town, if you need a piece of home while away from home !

All the main historical sights of the city are in a short walking distance or by public transport / taxi. The building of Jewel Hotel (U Klenotníka) was originally built as an old bourgeoisie house and some original brickwork from the beginning of 13th century can be found in its basement. The house has kept its charming historical look, but at the same time it is elegantly furnished with modern interior and art pieces of contemporary artists.
My husband & I enjoy the cozy atmosphere - charming & warm. Jewel Hotel is a gem in Prague. This boutique family hotel also offers guests wireless Internet access, a stylish Jewel Café and Restaurant with breakfast service on the ground floor, airport transport (upon request), parking and tour itineraries. The hotel helps you to organize your stay and offers a great personal service towards guests in order to satisfy every traveller's needs and wishes and to make your stay in Prague as comfortable as possible.

The ONE complain I have is the noise from next door disco hall. If you are a light sleeper as I am, you'll surely hear the music playing till 2:00am. To have a location so close to the old town, late night noise is unavoidable !

We hired a taxi near by the hotel to the cathedral and did all the rest the tour on foot (all down hill walk from the cathedral), we enjoyed our leisure walk through Praque.
The Charles Bridge (Czech: Karlův most listen (help·info)) is a famous historic bridge that crosses the Vltava river in Prague, Czech Republic. Its construction started in 1357 under the auspices of King Charles IV, this is a MUST SEE / WALK bridge, not only it's interesting, it also offers best view of Praque, if you like to take photo, this is where you'll find most interesting photos to take home with you.

My husband & I highly recommended Sag-way tour around Prague, it is FUN, UNIQUE & EXCITING !! We only need a few minutes of practice then off we go zigzag through the little alley ways, crossing the street, zooming on side walks and cobble stone ancient streets, waving at other tourists looking at you with envy LOL

Room Tip: Diamond room
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

My husband and I just finished our stay at the Jewel Hotel. We have travelled all over the world staying in different quality/big name hotels, and nothing compares to the overall experience at the Jewel. It is simply outstanding and ticks every box. Firstly, the service is outstanding and the staff are happy to go out of their way to make your stay all the more pleasant. Every person we encountered at the hotel, from the bar tender, receptionist and waitress at breakfast were absolutely lovely and genuinely friendly. Even the owner went above and beyond to ensure a favour for us was promptly attended to. Secondly, the location cannot be beaten. The hotel is a very short walk from the nearest metro station, old town square, tour bus stops, main shopping mall (the list goes on). We never needed public transport as you could walk to everything. In addition, it is still located down a quiet street so you get the added bonus of being close by the action and yet not be exposed to it all night long when you want to sleep! Thirdly, the presentation and cleanliness of the hotel were great. Yes, the rooms are small but this is usually the case in Europe and we certainly didn't come to Prague to sit in our room all day. But although small, the rooms are decorated so beautifully and everything is very modern. There is no lift however the staff will bring your bags up to your room for you so as long as you can walk the stairs, this is not a problem! Fourthly, the breakfast was simply superb, with a huge variety of continental choices at the buffet but then also A La Carte Options (including a sensational omelette, pancakes etc). Coffee was also fantastic (and we are pretty fussy about our coffee!). Last but not least, we have to comment on the dinner at the Jewel's restaurant. We usually do not eat at the hotels we stay at and prefer to venture out and about. But the food here was simply amazing. The chef regularly changes the menu and his meals are superb; tender meat, beautiful sides and sauces, well prepared and presented and so flavoursome. On top of all this, the dishes are cheap compared to five star hotels and taste better too! In the end we ate here both nights of our stay. And before dinner we had great fun creating cocktails at the bar with the bar tender who was more than happy to chat to us and experiment with our drink ideas! We cannot thank this hotel enough for being the highlight of our 2 month trip around Europe. The worst part was having to leave and now trying to find others that compare!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Golfing_Tripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Just spent 4 nights in the Sapphire room at this small hotel and we had a delightful stay. The room was spacious, the service was excellent and friendly. They have nice special touches like a sweet treat and a folk tale delivered to your door in the evening. The room was clean, the bed comfortable and the bathroom had lovely amenities. We were able to get a massage in our room and bill the taxi to the airport to our room as well so all very convenient. Just a warning that there is no elevator but there is a lift for luggage. However, one of the best things was the location! You can walk anywhere from here. The breakfast is very good as well and the restaurant meal we had was one of the best in Prague. Still wishing for the recipe for the Chicken Thai coconut soup though!

Room Tip: Splurge for the larger room if you can afford it.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank llowtherpei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Hi
I just came back from 5 days stay at Design Hotel Jewel Prague
The hotel location is superb, close to every thing and still very quite
The stuff is very helpful and make our stay very pleasant.
The breakfast was very good and the bed is very comfortable
I highly recommend this hotel .

Room Tip: select room at first floor
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank shbloom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews