We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“amazing place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Design Hotel Jewel Prague

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Design Hotel Jewel Prague
Ranked #12 of 670 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
york
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“amazing place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2012

Believe all the reviews. Its an amazing hotel.
The price is good, location very good. Staff briliant.
Would reccomend to anyone to eat here. Excellent food and not too pricey.
We called at a bar sat out side didn't check the menu and ordered large glass of wine, larger and a schnapps the grand total for this was 24 euro. Advise always check the price before ordering as this was not anywhere posh. Apart from that had an amazing time.
Thanks to all the staff at Jewel.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hesso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

696 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    593
    88
    11
    2
    2
See reviews for
84
336
74
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2012

We were overwhelmed with the high quality of this little renovated hotel formerly a jewlery store 18th C. Jakub, one of the owners, went overboard to ensure we had a wonderful stay, great service, great breakfast, dinner, drinks and whatever we needed. The entire staff is incredible, always helpful and smiling. The rooms are luxurious and well appointed combining the charm of the old with the convenience of the modern. Located in the heart of Prague, this hotel is on a quiet street but a few minutes from everything. The hotel has a wonderful bar and restaurant on the main level and 3 levels of rooms. We stayed in a superior room and all rooms have gem names rather than numbers. Charming five star service and comfort for a four star hotel! Kudo's to Jakub!

Room Tip: If you have problems walking up the stairs, choose a room on the lowest level as this is an old buil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GiovannaML
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2012

The two of us stayed at Hotel Jewel for a week, so we definitely had time to get comfortable with the many wonderful aspects of this hotel. More specifically, we were in "Ruby," a superior double room which overlooked Rytirska street:

-Positives-
+friendly, helpful, and courteous service from all staff members
+included with our stay was a daily cold breakfast buffet with complimentary hot a la carte breakfast options like omelettes, soft-boiled eggs, bacon, sausages, etc. The coffee was illy, the OJ and grapefruit were always fresh-squeezed, and even the breakfast buffet options were numerous and tasty on their own, often with bakery-fresh pastries, bread, etc.
+if you enjoy cocktails, do stop by the Jewel's own bar. The bartenders seem to genuinely enjoy and know their classics and modern twists
+clean, modernized, and well-appointed rooms
+complimentary slippers and bathrobes for your duration of stay
+daily "local bedtime stories" in the form of folk tales and local legends, paired with nightly pre-bedtime desserts, and the next day's weather report
+fresh water with slices of lemons, limes, oranges or grapefruits were a refreshing touch
+located right in Old Town (StareMesto), just a few blocks from Old Town Square, but located on a quieter street. Was never bothered by party-ers or late night revellers.
+Very helpful with arranging taxis to and from airport
+Small safe and minibar stocked with some czech wines, beer, and sodas (also ended up being rather useful for leftovers and takeout... perfect for storing that little something before your picnic)
+super comfortable pillows, mattresses and comforters. We slept soooo well every night, it was hard to get up for breakfast!
+did not get a trace whiff of smoke anywhere in the hotel or rooms
+double windows could be opened up to quickly add a boost of air to the room, but the room was also equipped with an individual AC unit if outdoor air isn't your thing...
+Metro station just a VERY short walk away (Mustek)

Random Aside: We've never seen a room with so many light switches for various lighting options... perfect for any mood you're trying to strike.

-Negatives-
(there aren't many...)
-as others have mentioned, there is only a small luggage elevator that is really just for luggage, so be prepared for the spiral staircase. Luckily, the hotel doesn't have too many floors, so take your time, and you should be OK, or request a room on a lower floor. And try not to overpack or overstuff your luggages....
-(this could be a plus for some, but I have allergies)... pets are welcomed at this hotel; however, I did not have any issues from my room.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trish Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2012

This hotel is gorgeous! I could not find a fault to this place. It is a small hotel with only 10-12 rooms. The rooms are luxuriously decorated, the bed is super comfortable and comes with a pillow menu.

Amenities are great: many towels, bathrobe and slippers. There is also a jug old flavoured water (orange or lemon or limes slices), a very nice touch!

They have a turn down service: they deliver a small treat with a bed time story and the weather forecast for the next day (see picture).

The breakfast is great: a la carte menu for hot food (see pictures), freshly squeezed orange, grapefruit juice and a selection of teas and espresso coffee all included in the price of the room.

On the day of my birthday, the staff decorated a table for me, brought out a birthday cake and served champagne (see picture). It was a pleasant surprised as they did this without being asked to.

The bar service is impeccable with a great choice of cocktails at a reasonable price.

The location cannot be any better, less than 5 mins walk to the main old town square.

This hotel pays a lot of attention to detail and I wouldn’t stay anywhere else if and when I return to Prague. I strongly recommend the Jewel Hotel!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank melissaesque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worsley
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2012 via mobile

Excellent hotel in every way- seriously cannot beat the price, rooms, location, staff or cocktails!!! Will definitely be going again!!! Thanks for a great holiday Jacob and co :)))

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
Thank cheekynxtdoor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2012

Having been to Prague many times, this time around we were traveling with a group of our friends and wanted to give them an incredible experience.
Jacob and his staff there, not only met our high expectations, but surpassed them entirely.
The hotel itself, is centrally located, in the perfect spot for exploring the city. The lobby is decorated beautifully, and creates the perfect ambiance for morning breakfast and drinks in the evening. The attention to detail was nothing short of perfection from tailored weather cards, place setting for each of the hotel guest for meals, desserts and flavored water waiting every afternoon after room service, shoe polishing, in room massage, breakfast in bed options, the list goes on

The rooms are extremely trendy and romantic. Every night, we'd meet for a drink of champagne in our rooms before venturing off somewhere for dinner that the staff of the Jewel recommended. We even got engaged in Prague and they definitely made us feel special!

Even our driver to the airport was kind and helpful.

We will for sure come back, and probably book the entire hotel :-)

Book Now. Enjoy Prague in Style.

Room Tip: All the rooms are amazing. We stayed in the amethyst and diamond rooms. Huge, clean, Perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SteveandClint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2012

This is one of the most wonderful small hotels I have visited. This recently-opened hotel has only about 10 rooms and a wonderful small bar/restaurant. Everything in the hotel (from room names to decor/lighting to even fixtures in the bathrooms) has been designed with great thought and detail around the jewel theme. The property has a fantastic, youthful and trendy vibe to it.

The rooms are compact and highly funcitonal. The beds are very comfortable with some neat lighting along the bedframe for a unique effect. The bathroom was modern and fairly spacious with high-quality eco amenities. The room decor is funky and playful. The complementary wifi worked great.

The hotel served a wonderful complementary breakfast, complete with multiple egg options available to order. The eggs with shallots, served in an oversized martini glass, were definitely a stand-out. Unfortunately, we did not have an opportunity to have dinner in the restaurant but, if the breakfast and drinks were a good indication, it is probably a top choice.

The personality of the folks at the hotel was wonderful. They took great pride in the property and the city. We felt welcomed the entire time there. And they were helpful with tips for dining and seeing the city during our brief stay.

With only a few rooms in the property, it is tempting to keep this hotel a bit of a secret. But it was such a wonderful place, its unfair not to give it its props.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank AndrewSchneider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel Pod Vezi
Hotel Pod Vezi
#2 of 670 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,376 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Residence Agnes
Hotel Residence Agnes
#1 of 670 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,925 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Unitas Hotel
Unitas Hotel
#9 of 670 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nove Mesto (New Town)
BoHo Prague Hotel
BoHo Prague Hotel
#7 of 670 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 625 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Ventana Hotel Prague
Ventana Hotel Prague
#17 of 670 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,235 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Savic Hotel
Savic Hotel
#33 of 670 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Design Hotel Jewel Prague? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Design Hotel Jewel Prague

Property: Design Hotel Jewel Prague
Address: Rytirska 529/3 | Stare Mesto, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#18 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#45 Family Hotel in Prague
#58 Business Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Design Hotel Jewel Prague 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jewel - Design Boutique Hotel (U Klenotnika) is charming 4 * Boutique Hotel,it belongs among the best and top family Hotels in the center of Prague. Origin of the Hotel is historical building and besides unique design and comfort offers a great location - only 1 minute walk to Wencelsas Square and 3 minutes from Old Time Square. Jewel Hotel with its 11 Boutique Rooms offers also a luxury a design accommodation for demanding clientele. On the ground floor you can find a stylish Jewel Cafe and Restaurant with breakfast service. If you decide to get to know the magical beauty of Prague during your stay, everything is right in front of you. In the Hotel's surroundings you will find Stavovsky Theatre, it was loved by Mozart, as well as many modern musical night Clubs, wide selection of restaurants with traditional Czech Cuisine and International Cuisine and many cosy Cafes. All the main historical sights of the city are in a short walking distance or by public transport. Jewel - Design Boutique Hotel (U Klenotnika) is representing ideal combination of quality, location and accommodation price in Prague for small family holidays, business travelers and also more demanding guest with special requirements. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Design Hotel Jewel Prague reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
u Klenotnika Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing