We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A true jewel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Design Hotel Jewel Prague
Ranked #13 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A true jewel!”
Reviewed November 7, 2011

Quite possibly one of the best reasonably priced boutique hotels I've stayed in Europe. (I've apparently visited 26% of the world according to some facebook app so would consider myself a reasonably seasoned traveller!)

The decor sleek and stylish, comfortable rooms/beds (our twin room 'Ruby' had 2 beds as well as a long sofa/dday bed), very clean, and excellent service both at front desk and bar (where my friend and I spent a fair bit of time endulging the wonderful cocktails conjured up by Krystof!). Extremely convenient in terms of location as well being in the centre of the Old Town, yet quiet. The breakfast was excellent too with the hot breakfast being cooked/served on demand.

If you struggle with stairs you may want to request a room on a lower floor (I think there are only 3 floors of rooms anyway) as the hotel has a lift, but it is only for your luggage rather than for people!

Would strongly recommend and look forward to returning myself.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank YK76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

725 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    616
    94
    11
    2
    2
See reviews for
90
347
78
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
173 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2011

We spent three days at the hotel with our daughter who is studying abroad. I was looking for a triple room for this stay, and that's how we chose Jewel in the heart of Old Town. Freshly decorated with a sense of luxury, we found our room(Amethyst) to be perfect for our needs. There was a big bed and a built in daybed on the opposing wall. I must note that the bed was a temper-pedic memory foam, and was wonderfully comfortable after a full day of sightseeing! The bath was well appointed and even had a bath robe and slippers for your stay! Downstairs is a popular restaurant/bar that was always crowded! (The room was surprisingly quiet even though we were directly above the restaurant/bar on a Saturday night!) We didn't have a chance to eat anything but breakfast at the hotel, but it was delicious and had lots of options from the buffet as well as hot from the kitchen. Jacob was a delightful host and gave us directions, local dining options and transportation tips for our early morning flight. Everything was superior and we would welcome the chance to stay at the Jewel again!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TumbleweedSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2011

We booked a room here on the recommendation of our Czech friend Petre. We were very impressed, the rooms were large for Europe, nicely decorated and very comfortable. The restaurant had some of the best food in the city! We will definitely stay here again. Friendly service and great location as well.

Room Tip: All the rooms we saw looked good, they had different sizes for singles as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Greg G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limassol
Level Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2011

Jewel hotel is the ideal choice in the heart of Prague. It has an excellent location from where you can easily walk to the most important places.

Room was small but excellent! Very clean and new with good mattress which makes you sleep deeper! Bathroom was nice and clean too and at this point I would like to say that as a business traveller i ve been to many hotels but the Jewel one was the only place which provides such soft towels with a nice smell...

Staff was always very kind and willing to help. I had a problem with my laptop and they gave me one for my whole stay. They had also helped me to find a nice place to eat and they gave me a late check out without any extra charge.

Loved it and would love to go back again

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ncholas-CYP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2011

The hotel location was central to all of the major attractions and within walking distance - perfect for exploring Prague in every direction. Old Town Centre is minutes away, the Charles Bridge a short walk, and there is a Tourist Information Centre at the corner of the street. All manner of day tours are available just a few short steps from the hotel. Breakfast is varied and includes fresh squeezed juice, and the hotel offers all the big and little touches like turn-down service, slippers and robe, and a sweet on your pillow when you return at the end of the day. Tiny single room but beautifully appointed, modern clean bathroom, all you need. Fabulous hotel, highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anonymous514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Koblenz, Germany
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 4, 2011

There´s not much I can add to the previous reviews.

The hotel is situated rather ideally between old-town and new-town of prague.

The hotel itself is in a beautiful old building that probably housed a jewelers store in the past. The interior is rather modern-design; colourful walls, small lamps with lots of crystals. All in all, a beautiful combination of the old and the new. The rooms are named after gems, or rather, materials a jeweler works with (e.g. "Diamond", "Pearl" etc.)

We had a room on the top floor (Room "Pearl"), so there were quite a few steps to climb - since the hotel is in an old building, there really isn´t room for an elevator; still, there´s a small elevator for luggage and the staff took care of transporting our bags to the room.

The room itself was smallish but very cosy: The Floor was made of dark wood and the hotel provides flip-flops and bathrobes in case you need such. Besides a large and comfortable bed, the room had a really comfortable couch, a table and two seats. Part of the ceiling (to one side of the bed) was slanted. We had a small window towards the front side of the hotel. The window did a good job at keeping the noise outside, I never heard the traffic on the street outside.

There was the usual minibar and a tv-set - quite a few international tv-stations, two of those german, namely vox and zdf.

The bathroom was very clean, the shower was rather large compared to other hotels I´ve seen in the past years. Towels were soft and clean as well.

Breakfast consisted mainly of a buffet: There were two freshly pressed juices (grapefruit and orange), hot coffee or hot water for tea, several kinds of bread to choose from, a nice assortment of ham, bacon and different kinds of cheese. There was jam and salmon as well, but I can´t really comment on these, didn´t try them. Additionally, there was a breakfast menu where you could order omelettes, scrambled or baked eggs with beans or bacon or ham, sausages etc.

The service was great, the staff very helpful and friendly. A nice touch was the carafe of water that was provided daily, slightly flavored by putting fresh grapefruits / lemons / apples inside (a different flavour every day) and the daily weather report for the next day.

We really loved our stay in prague, and to a large part because of this beautiful little hotel. I´m certain we´ll return.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andre F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parker, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2011

Simply put: this is Prague's best kept secret! The staff are very helpful and friendly. They have tons of advise on where to go, what to do, and how to get around. The breakfast is very good as is the restaurant/bar. The rooms are up to date, fresh, clean and modern. It is located just a quick 5 minute walk to Old Town square so noise at night is non-existent and it is around the block from the outside market. Best for couples as this place can be romantic. The only down side is that there is no elevator which is not unusual for EU boutique hotels. However, if you have difficulty climbing stairs then this may not work for you. Otherwise, everything else is 5 star! We WILL be back!

Room Tip: Rooms require a walk up, no elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Unitas Hotel
Unitas Hotel
#10 of 649 in Prague
1,675 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel Pod Vezi
Hotel Pod Vezi
#2 of 649 in Prague
2,585 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Residence Agnes
Hotel Residence Agnes
#1 of 649 in Prague
3,060 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nove Mesto (New Town)
BoHo Prague Hotel
BoHo Prague Hotel
#6 of 649 in Prague
743 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Ventana Hotel Prague
Ventana Hotel Prague
#22 of 649 in Prague
1,270 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Savic Hotel
Savic Hotel
#35 of 649 in Prague
2,454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Design Hotel Jewel Prague? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Design Hotel Jewel Prague

Property: Design Hotel Jewel Prague
Address: Rytirska 529/3 | Stare Mesto, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#18 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#45 Family Hotel in Prague
#58 Business Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Design Hotel Jewel Prague 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jewel - Design Boutique Hotel (U Klenotnika) is charming 4 * Boutique Hotel,it belongs among the best and top family Hotels in the center of Prague. Origin of the Hotel is historical building and besides unique design and comfort offers a great location - only 1 minute walk to Wencelsas Square and 3 minutes from Old Time Square. Jewel Hotel with its 11 Boutique Rooms offers also a luxury a design accommodation for demanding clientele. On the ground floor you can find a stylish Jewel Cafe and Restaurant with breakfast service. If you decide to get to know the magical beauty of Prague during your stay, everything is right in front of you. In the Hotel's surroundings you will find Stavovsky Theatre, it was loved by Mozart, as well as many modern musical night Clubs, wide selection of restaurants with traditional Czech Cuisine and International Cuisine and many cosy Cafes. All the main historical sights of the city are in a short walking distance or by public transport. Jewel - Design Boutique Hotel (U Klenotnika) is representing ideal combination of quality, location and accommodation price in Prague for small family holidays, business travelers and also more demanding guest with special requirements. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Design Hotel Jewel Prague reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
u Klenotnika Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing