We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Little gem”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Hotel Kinsky Garden
Ranked #153 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“A Little gem”
Reviewed December 3, 2012

We booked the Kinsky Garden through Avios after reading various reviews on-line. The reviews were generally very good and we were not disappointed, in fact we were delighted. We arranged to be met at the airport by the hotel Taxi (600Ck) and within 20 mins of being met we were inside the charming, cosy hotel being booked in by the pleasant reception staff. The hotel decor is traditional Central European but with all mod cons. Our room (216) appeared to be newly equipped but again in traditional style, it was a reasonable size, warm and being at the back it was very quiet. Breakfasts were what you would expect with plenty of choice from the hot and cold buffet selection. Staff were pleasant and accommodating and made our four night stay enjoyable. The location of the hotel we found to be just right, out of the main hustle of the centre but close enough to walk (15/20 mins). There are various tram stops and an underground station within five minutes of the hotel but we never felt the need to use them. Restaurants abound in Prague and within a 15 min walk from the hotel you have a choice of dozens. Walk towards the Centre for more choice but higher prices, walk down just past the Shopping Mall that houses Tesco and Marks and Spencer to the Smichov district centre for good local restaurants at much lower prices. One particularly good one is the Italian 'Corleone', ground floor smoking, atmospheric cellars non-smoking and usually packed every night.
All in all a really good stay in a little gem of a hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShropshireShrews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luciess, Manager at Best Western Hotel Kinsky Garden, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear sir,

It´s our pleasure to receive such nice comments and we would like to thank you for completing the survey regarding your stay at our property.

Thank you for sharing your experience and comments with other travelers and this way you also help us to discover any problems or issues or putting emphasis on what is important for our guests.
Your feedback is very important to us.

We hope that you have enjoyed your stay and if you consider another stay in Prague,
We would be pleased if you choose our hotel again.

If we can be of assistance in the future, please feel free to contact us.

With best regards from Prague

Lucie Markvartová
Resident Manager
BEST WESTERN Hotel Kinsky Garden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,039 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    407
    500
    105
    18
    9
See reviews for
147
541
52
53
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 9, 2012

The hotel is across the river out of the main tourist district but because the Metro, tram, and bus network is so good (better than most US cities), this was not a negative. It is a few steps away from a main tram trunk that handles many tram destinations. Trams run 24/7. Connects into underground Metro stations. We walked to the Royal Palace via Petrin Park's trails (large steep hill but great views and sites during day) and back to the hotel along Karmelitska/Ujezd streets (easy/safe at night).

We prepaid for a non-smoking room on their 4th floor. Stairwell definitely had smoking smell and room was thick with deordorizer/scent from bed cover (Masking previous guest smoking violations?) Similar scent in the corridor probably from carpet freshener. We had housekeeping remove bedcover and we opened the windows each night we returned from the days activities to let the room air out. We also turned the thermostat off as it was set to very warm (was 4 to 5 degrees Celsius outside in Nov so hotel had heat on). Hotel sits along a well used 2 lane road but we could not hear any noise when we closed the windows on the side that overlooked the road. Like any well populated residential area, parking is "on-street" so you'll find most flat spaces marked for parking. Some graffiti on a wall across the street from the hotel entrance but not easily visible from your room. Does detract from the area's charm somewhat. Some past effort to remove some of this evident but hotel management needs to get this removed immediately. Suggest paying owners of wall to plant wall covering ground cover to dissuade future markings and "dress-up" the utilitarian look of the street. Typical but ugly kid stuff that you'd find in Western cities. Makes area seem less friendly/safe than it really is.

Hotel offered shuttle to airport at 600 Kc on the morning of our departure. We were quoted 300 Kc for the car the previous night by the hotel's front desk. In any case, there are other options that can be made that are considerably cheaper and you should avail yourself of that information.



Hotel has a good hearty westernized breakfast (option paid for in our room rate) w/ croissants, rolls, ham, cheese, fruit, coffee cake, juices, fruit, bacon, eggs, granola, toast to get started in the morning.

Like most hotels in Prague, the building is older. This hotel's facilities are well kept. Bathroom is modern, clean, fixtures are up-to-date, toilet is efficient and robust, shower/tub is fiberglass/acrylic, drains work, floor tile grout clean. Closet includes full length mirror, shelves, multiple hangers (oddly not for trousers...only shirts/blouses).

Room has what looks to be a "Pergo" type laminate imitating wood strips (no carpet) that has seen better days but is likely cleaner than any hotel carpet you'd find in any hotel (yes that includes U.S. 4 and 5 star hotels...I know I use to work in those). TV is 40 inch LCD flatscreen mounted on wall...mostly non-english programs but had BBC and CNN. Utilized in-room safe which was easy to use. Had refrigerated Minibar which we did not use.

Would consider booking this hotel for a future stay but would remind the management that I'd still research their competitors offerings. Also remember Prague's star ratings are "European" and not U.S. They are not the same. Yet, the Best Western Kinsky is a good value, comfortable, good location for the price.

Room Tip: You'll be out most of the day so the view is really only window dressing. If you choose a room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Max_A_Million_74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxulyan, Cornwall
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

This hotel was just perfect for us. It is a little way from the main tourist area so you get a much better feel of the real Prague. However it is within reasonable walking distance of the Charles Bridge etc and there are plenty of trams from the end of the street. We bought a 3 day ticket for 310 Czech crowns which you can use on any public transport.
The hotel was clean, quiet and comfortable and the staff were so helpful. We loved the breakfasts too. every day there was a huge bowl of fresh fruit and plenty of variety. Everything was replenished well before it ran out. The only slight drawback was that at busy times, there was not enough seating for everyone in the dining room, however, the bar area could be used. We had a great stay here.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Churchtown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Godalming, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 29, 2012

A very adequate and friendly hotel in reasonably quiet location about 100m from the trams and buses. We liked the easy walking to any of the main areas of Prague . Our room on the 3rd floor was spotlessly clean, well lit and warm. Its own restuarant was very friendly with reasonable choice of good food - we would go back!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ianw23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

I recently stayed at this hotel with my sister and mum. I agree with the majority of the reviews, the hotel is spotlessly clean, comfortable, very good location to all the major attractions, there is a tram stop just down the road which is convenient, number 9 and 12 will take you to most of the attractions like Charles Bridge, the old town, Prague Castle etc. The staff at the hotel are very helpful particularly at reception.
However what lets this hotel down is the food and dining facilities. As the previous reviewer stated the dining room is extremly small,!!! It is adapted more for a small bed and breakfast accommodation , and certainly not for a hotel of this size!! The breakfast was continental style, so if you like the good old English breakfast then sorry but you'll be very disappointed. The only hot food were three small containers consisting of scrambled egg, bacon and spicy sausages which run out immediatly as soon as they were replenished!!! They also run out of plates and glasses for the juices very quickly and people were just standing around the buffet area like lemons waiting for clean ones to come out!! Not acceptable in a hotel that is 4*. And trying to get a clean table was virtually impossible most mornings , they were always full, so again one had to wait, and stand around, and there wasnt enough staff to assist you, they were rushing about doing other things.
Prague itself is a nice city, but if I was to go again I would stay somewhere else unless they greatly improved the breakfast and dining room, hence why I've only given this 3/5 rating.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katie3659
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

The hotel itself is not great although the rooms were clean and quite comfortable.
The bed (matress) quality was average.
Great location according to my taste,next to the beautiful Petryn Hill Park.
Not too many smiling faces but efficient service.
Breakfast items were of good quality but Breakfast room was small and tight.
The reception staff offered us rooms without park view although I had made twice a special request.We insisted on changing rooms(a long and unnecessary conversation occured) and we finally got rooms with a nice view but only a couple of hours later.This is not exactly what an arriving guest expects and the first impression was rather awkward.Next time you book make sure you get the room you want before finalizing the deal.
Generally speaking not very impressed!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iliasv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chanhassen, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Stayed 3 nights in late September. Prague was extremely crowded, and I was so happy that we chose this hotel across the river from the tourist zoo of Old Town. Our room (third floor) was not fancy, but was modern, clean and spacious, with comfortable beds (2 twins set up as a king), small sofa and table, and desk (and shiny hardwood floors). It was a great value at less than $100 per night, including breakfast. The breakfast included cold and warm choices, and certainly met our needs. The location was great. Easy (one block) to catch a tram or walk virtually everywhere. Being right next to the park allowed us the opportunity to get some fresh air in a beautiful setting. The staff was very helpful and pleasant. I wanted an electric kettle to make tea, and the bartender happily provided me with a nice setup. I would definitely recommend this hotel, and will stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MNKathy_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Best Western City Hotel Moran
Nove Mesto (New Town)
BEST WESTERN Hotel Pav
BEST WESTERN Hotel Pav
#205 of 649 in Prague
1,373 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Meteor Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Praha 5
Red & Blue
Red & Blue
#75 of 649 in Prague
1,773 reviews
Praha 8
Galerie Royale
Galerie Royale
#149 of 649 in Prague
510 reviews
Praha 2
Hotel Galileo Prague
Hotel Galileo Prague
#117 of 649 in Prague
954 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel Kinsky Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel Kinsky Garden

Property: Best Western Hotel Kinsky Garden
Address: Holechkova 403/7, Prague 150 00, Czech Republic (Formerly BEST WESTERN Hotel Kinsky Garden)
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 5
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#85 Business Hotel in Prague
#104 Family Hotel in Prague
#132 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#134 Romantic Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Hotel Kinsky Garden 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Mala Strana quarter, BEST WESTERN Hotel Kinsky Garden 4 star hotel in Prague offers you the comfort of its warm and elegant rooms, for a pleasant stay in the most charming European capital. BEST WESTERN Hotel Kinsky Garden hotel is located in the peaceful Mala Strana area that is well served by public transportation. Perfectly situated in a renovated 19th century building, the hotel is a convenient starting place for discovering the historical center. BEST WESTERN Hotel Kinsky Garden Hotel, for a leisure or business hotel stay in central Prague. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Hotel Kinsky Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Premier Kinsky Garden Hotel Prague
Best Western Hotel Prague
Best Western Prague
Prague Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing