We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Western Premier Kinsky Garden”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Hotel Kinsky Garden
Ranked #153 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Reviewed November 9, 2012

The hotel is across the river out of the main tourist district but because the Metro, tram, and bus network is so good (better than most US cities), this was not a negative. It is a few steps away from a main tram trunk that handles many tram destinations. Trams run 24/7. Connects into underground Metro stations. We walked to the Royal Palace via Petrin Park's trails (large steep hill but great views and sites during day) and back to the hotel along Karmelitska/Ujezd streets (easy/safe at night).

We prepaid for a non-smoking room on their 4th floor. Stairwell definitely had smoking smell and room was thick with deordorizer/scent from bed cover (Masking previous guest smoking violations?) Similar scent in the corridor probably from carpet freshener. We had housekeeping remove bedcover and we opened the windows each night we returned from the days activities to let the room air out. We also turned the thermostat off as it was set to very warm (was 4 to 5 degrees Celsius outside in Nov so hotel had heat on). Hotel sits along a well used 2 lane road but we could not hear any noise when we closed the windows on the side that overlooked the road. Like any well populated residential area, parking is "on-street" so you'll find most flat spaces marked for parking. Some graffiti on a wall across the street from the hotel entrance but not easily visible from your room. Does detract from the area's charm somewhat. Some past effort to remove some of this evident but hotel management needs to get this removed immediately. Suggest paying owners of wall to plant wall covering ground cover to dissuade future markings and "dress-up" the utilitarian look of the street. Typical but ugly kid stuff that you'd find in Western cities. Makes area seem less friendly/safe than it really is.

Hotel offered shuttle to airport at 600 Kc on the morning of our departure. We were quoted 300 Kc for the car the previous night by the hotel's front desk. In any case, there are other options that can be made that are considerably cheaper and you should avail yourself of that information.



Hotel has a good hearty westernized breakfast (option paid for in our room rate) w/ croissants, rolls, ham, cheese, fruit, coffee cake, juices, fruit, bacon, eggs, granola, toast to get started in the morning.

Like most hotels in Prague, the building is older. This hotel's facilities are well kept. Bathroom is modern, clean, fixtures are up-to-date, toilet is efficient and robust, shower/tub is fiberglass/acrylic, drains work, floor tile grout clean. Closet includes full length mirror, shelves, multiple hangers (oddly not for trousers...only shirts/blouses).

Room has what looks to be a "Pergo" type laminate imitating wood strips (no carpet) that has seen better days but is likely cleaner than any hotel carpet you'd find in any hotel (yes that includes U.S. 4 and 5 star hotels...I know I use to work in those). TV is 40 inch LCD flatscreen mounted on wall...mostly non-english programs but had BBC and CNN. Utilized in-room safe which was easy to use. Had refrigerated Minibar which we did not use.

Would consider booking this hotel for a future stay but would remind the management that I'd still research their competitors offerings. Also remember Prague's star ratings are "European" and not U.S. They are not the same. Yet, the Best Western Kinsky is a good value, comfortable, good location for the price.

Room Tip: You'll be out most of the day so the view is really only window dressing. If you choose a room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Max_A_Million_74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,078)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

410 - 416 of 1,078 reviews

Reviewed October 29, 2012

This hotel was just perfect for us. It is a little way from the main tourist area so you get a much better feel of the real Prague. However it is within reasonable walking distance of the Charles Bridge etc and there are plenty of trams from the end of the street. We bought a 3 day ticket for 310 Czech crowns which you can use on any public transport.
The hotel was clean, quiet and comfortable and the staff were so helpful. We loved the breakfasts too. every day there was a huge bowl of fresh fruit and plenty of variety. Everything was replenished well before it ran out. The only slight drawback was that at busy times, there was not enough seating for everyone in the dining room, however, the bar area could be used. We had a great stay here.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Churchtown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

A very adequate and friendly hotel in reasonably quiet location about 100m from the trams and buses. We liked the easy walking to any of the main areas of Prague . Our room on the 3rd floor was spotlessly clean, well lit and warm. Its own restuarant was very friendly with reasonable choice of good food - we would go back!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ianw23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

I recently stayed at this hotel with my sister and mum. I agree with the majority of the reviews, the hotel is spotlessly clean, comfortable, very good location to all the major attractions, there is a tram stop just down the road which is convenient, number 9 and 12 will take you to most of the attractions like Charles Bridge, the old town, Prague Castle etc. The staff at the hotel are very helpful particularly at reception.
However what lets this hotel down is the food and dining facilities. As the previous reviewer stated the dining room is extremly small,!!! It is adapted more for a small bed and breakfast accommodation , and certainly not for a hotel of this size!! The breakfast was continental style, so if you like the good old English breakfast then sorry but you'll be very disappointed. The only hot food were three small containers consisting of scrambled egg, bacon and spicy sausages which run out immediatly as soon as they were replenished!!! They also run out of plates and glasses for the juices very quickly and people were just standing around the buffet area like lemons waiting for clean ones to come out!! Not acceptable in a hotel that is 4*. And trying to get a clean table was virtually impossible most mornings , they were always full, so again one had to wait, and stand around, and there wasnt enough staff to assist you, they were rushing about doing other things.
Prague itself is a nice city, but if I was to go again I would stay somewhere else unless they greatly improved the breakfast and dining room, hence why I've only given this 3/5 rating.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katie3659
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

The hotel itself is not great although the rooms were clean and quite comfortable.
The bed (matress) quality was average.
Great location according to my taste,next to the beautiful Petryn Hill Park.
Not too many smiling faces but efficient service.
Breakfast items were of good quality but Breakfast room was small and tight.
The reception staff offered us rooms without park view although I had made twice a special request.We insisted on changing rooms(a long and unnecessary conversation occured) and we finally got rooms with a nice view but only a couple of hours later.This is not exactly what an arriving guest expects and the first impression was rather awkward.Next time you book make sure you get the room you want before finalizing the deal.
Generally speaking not very impressed!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iliasv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Stayed 3 nights in late September. Prague was extremely crowded, and I was so happy that we chose this hotel across the river from the tourist zoo of Old Town. Our room (third floor) was not fancy, but was modern, clean and spacious, with comfortable beds (2 twins set up as a king), small sofa and table, and desk (and shiny hardwood floors). It was a great value at less than $100 per night, including breakfast. The breakfast included cold and warm choices, and certainly met our needs. The location was great. Easy (one block) to catch a tram or walk virtually everywhere. Being right next to the park allowed us the opportunity to get some fresh air in a beautiful setting. The staff was very helpful and pleasant. I wanted an electric kettle to make tea, and the bartender happily provided me with a nice setup. I would definitely recommend this hotel, and will stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MNKathy_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

We stayed for 4 nights in September and were pleased with the hotel, but felt it was lacking in some areas. We stayed in room 109 on the first floor, which is a non smoking floor (thankfully!). It had a little balcony/greenhouse attached to it which we didn't use, and was on the main road. The road was quiet on an evening, but as we were on the first floor only had a view of the road and a small car park! Thankfully Prague isn't a "sit and relax on the hotel balcony" kind of place, and the views from the restaurants and cafe's we ate in were unbeatable. The room was spotlessly clean, but I felt was a bit outdated for a 4* hotel. But again, we didn't need a gorgeous room to enjoy Prague. Our room did get the noise from neighbouring rooms, but not enough to keep me awake. We didn't have a bath in the bathroom which was a shame as I needed to soothe my weary legs from all the walking.

Breakfast was a continental / hot selection, but it didn't appeal to me so I stuck with tea and toast, and hubby enjoyed the doughnuts, pastries and crepes. No matter what your taste is, you will find something to eat here. The ladies managing breakfast were fantastic.

We left Prague in the evening so asked the hotel to hold our bags for the day, and they charged 20 kc per bag (65p at the time of writing)

The hotel is in a good location, but is out of the centre so is far more peaceful: 2 mins walk to the nearest tram stop and 10 mins walk to the nearest bridge (Most Legií). I really recommend walking as this bridge gives great views of the Castle and Charles Bridge. We found bars and restaurants near the hotel, but as the trams ran all night, we eate and drank mainly in the Old Town Square.

Room Tip: If you would prefer a non smoking room, we know for certain that the first floor is wholly non smoki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RachelandStephen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Best Western City Hotel Moran
Praha 5
Red & Blue
Red & Blue
#73 of 649 in Prague
1,847 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
BEST WESTERN Hotel Pav
BEST WESTERN Hotel Pav
#207 of 649 in Prague
1,421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Praha 8
Galerie Royale
Galerie Royale
#144 of 649 in Prague
556 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel Mala Strana
Hotel Mala Strana
#217 of 649 in Prague
609 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel Roma Prague
Hotel Roma Prague
#150 of 649 in Prague
1,881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel Kinsky Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel Kinsky Garden

Address: Holeckova 403/7, Prague 150 00, Czech Republic (Formerly BEST WESTERN Hotel Kinsky Garden)
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 5
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#84 Business Hotel in Prague
#103 Family Hotel in Prague
#133 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#134 Romantic Hotel in Prague
Price Range: $53 - $186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Hotel Kinsky Garden 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Mala Strana quarter, Best Western Hotel Kinsky Garden 4 star hotel in Prague offers you the comfort of its warm and elegant rooms, for a pleasant stay in the most charming European capital. Best Western Hotel Kinsky Garden hotel is located in the peaceful Mala Strana area that is well served by public transportation. Perfectly situated in a renovated 19th century building, the hotel is a convenient starting place for discovering the historical center. Best Western Hotel Kinsky Garden Hotel, for a leisure or business hotel stay in central Prague. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Splitty, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Orbitz, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Hotel Kinsky Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Premier Kinsky Garden Hotel Prague
Best Western Hotel Prague
Best Western Prague
Prague Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing