We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly people. Exceptional good value for its price.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel U Krale Karla (King Charles)
Ranked #60 of 648 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 30, 2014

Situated near the Castle, this adorable small hotel with large rooms is a perfect starting point for walks in the historical centre. At walking distance of Novy Svet, Strahov monastery and of course the castle, it is a perfect place that breathes history. And despite the nearness of the royal road, it is always quiet and peaceful.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Peter13041957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (519)
There are newer reviews for Hotel U Krale Karla (King Charles)
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

284 - 290 of 519 reviews

Reviewed April 27, 2014

Mala Strana (the little quarter) has always been my favourite part of Praha, yet I have never stayed there (until now). I booked this hotel as it is in the middle of that long and somehow steep walk (beginning as Nerudova and ending up as Uvoz) on the way up to the beautiful Strahov-monastery. It goes without saying that the views from up here are just stunning whichever way you look, and it has more air and clarity that downtown. The hotel is not big, 4 floors with 6 rooms on each (on average), but they are very beautiful. The furniture is historic in style (Renaissance to Baroque) but mixed with modern fixtures (hidden where appropriate) so that the whole is just delicious. My 4th floor room had old-style floral painted ceiling beams as well, which added to the whole, and my window was also painted. The room is spacious, with its own corridor fitted with plenty and roomy wardrobes, and a lovely bathroom with gold and marble (and wonderful products!). I have only two things to comment on in a negative way. The shower was a bit odd because it seemed unable to hold one temperature, it was constantly changing between a little bit too hot and a little bit too cold so that showering really became an eye opening experience in the morning, and the bed - although very comfortable - was a tad short for my long legs (although I am just 6'1). Apart from this everything was a wonder, the staff was beyond helpful, the breakfast was good and the property itself is just magic! Go see!

Room Tip: Room numbers ending in 1, 2 and 3 are on the front side of the hotel.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DSS11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for a night whilst visiting Czech Republic. The hotel is an easy (uphill) walk from Charles Bridge and the old part of Prague. We were amazed by the fabulous room, huge and comfortable. Breakfast was fine, no problem finding a table in the lovely dining area. If you arrive for food when it is busy there is space in the lounge area next to the restaurant. We chose to eat out as the road down to town is full of restaurants and bars. Also there are a couple of good little cafe bars next door. Overall we loved our stay here, and would love to stay again. Excellent value for £70 b n b

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Pibpog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is located with a 15 minute walk from Charles bridge. It sits under the Prague castle and is also on top of a hill. If you have mobility issues, you would probably need a taxi to get to the bridge or into the old town.
The hotel has some old world charm and most of the rooms are of good size. There seems to always be a smell of smoke throughout the common area s, as smoking is allowed in the lobby and bar. I am not sure this hotel deserves all four stars, but overall it offers pretty good value.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Daniel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2014

Undoubtedly one of the best hotels we've stayed in. Full of character, comfortable, clean, fantastic staff and a great location adjacent to the Castle. The price we paid was low compared to other (lesser looking) hotels in Prague. Breakfast was reasonable and the complimentary juice on reception (great when you're returning from a warm walk) was a really nice touch.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Originaleveready
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2014

We chose this hotel due to location - a few minutes walk to the castle, less than 10 minutes to Loreta and around 10-15 minutes to Charles Bridge and the Old Town.
The hotel is opposite the Petrin park and, apart from a few vehicles passing up the one way street, is nice and peaceful. The only noise is from the church bells and the bars and restaurants down the street which all seem to go quiet by early evening.
The building itself is full of features, with wooden beams and stained glass windows, and the rooms are of a decent size with comfortable beds (the pillows are not necessarily what Brits are used to being large and flat). The only real criticism was that our room on the top floor didn't have curtains which would have been nice.
The service from reception was excellent, the breakfast was quite typical with a good selection of meats, cheese, fruit, yoghurt and hot bacon, egg and mini sausages and all staff that we met were friendly and courteous.
There are a lot of places to eat nearby but be aware that it is on a hill and is a bit of a hike up from the old town!
The nearest tram stops are a 7-8 minute walk in either direction.
Overall, a great place to stay.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Stevie70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2014

I booked this hotel just for a weekend trip, only 4 days in advance. I got an upgrade to junior suite (for free, they didn't even mention it at all).

The room was tidy, spacious with matching antique furniture and a big and very comfy bed. The windows were from stained glass and the ceiling was painted. There even was a fireplace in the room, but it was only decoration. The bathroom was clean and equipped with high quality care products. In the corridor there was a big closet with an small kitchen (sink, cooktop, kitchen hood) but it lacked all the equipment and cutlery.

The hotel is near the castle, but to get to the old city you have to walk quite a bit. Not a problem, since this part of town is really beautiful.

Breakfast was tasty and abundant, the only negative thing to say about this hotel is that only coffee "americano" is free for breakfast and every other type of coffee is extra.

Go and stay there! Prague is beautiful and this hotel is as well.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Boutique Hotel Constans
Boutique Hotel Constans
#42 of 648 in Prague
801 reviews
Hradcany & Letna
Hotel The Golden Wheel
Hotel The Golden Wheel
#34 of 648 in Prague
643 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel U Zeleneho hroznu (Hotel At the Green Grape)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hradcany & Letna
Design Hotel Neruda
Design Hotel Neruda
#71 of 648 in Prague
1,090 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel Golden Key Prague
Hotel Golden Key Prague
#39 of 648 in Prague
321 reviews
Hradcany & Letna
Golden Star
Golden Star
#18 of 648 in Prague
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel U Krale Karla (King Charles)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel U Krale Karla (King Charles)

Address: Uvoz 4/38 | Hradcany, Prague 118 00, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Hradcany & Letna , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#54 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#59 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#85 Family Hotel in Prague
Price Range: $85 - $237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel U Krale Karla (King Charles) 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel King Charles - U Krale Karla is a boutique hotel situated in one of the best locations in the city. The King Charles - U Krale Karla offers you 19 well equipped rooms reflecting the building's rich heritage and providing our guests accommodation near the one of the largest castles in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel U Krale Karla (King Charles) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel u Krale Karla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing