We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No hesitation in 5 stars.”
Review of K+K Hotel Fenix

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
K+K Hotel Fenix
Ranked #142 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“No hesitation in 5 stars.”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Location: Excellent. Walking distance to old town, and close to metro station. Only one metro stop away from the main station (which was convenient when arriving by train from other cities). About 10 minutes walk from the main train station otherwise. Roughly 10 minutes from some of the main tram lines.

Staff: The staff went above and beyond many that we’ve seen on this trip. While Americans try to be obvious though when they provide extremely good service, the Czech staff are subtle in their delivery and don’t expect anything in return. We were greeted by Petra upon arrival. She had a very welcoming smile but hid the fact that she had upgraded our room and left a bottle of champagne in it on the basis of noting that it was our honeymoon (I had emailed the hotel earlier simply to double check our reservation – we had a previous experience in Washington DC where they just discarded our room despite booking 6 months in advance). Petra only gave the game away when she gave us a pre-prepared key with the room number crossed out in place of another. I asked her about the room change and she dodged the question. I later asked about the champagne to which she just smiled and said – “It is your honeymoon isn’t it?”. Very kind in this respect, but it was typical of the service we received throughout the stay.

Rooms: The rooms were comfortable, and large (yes the upgraded room was nice – but other rooms looked reasonably sized as well). The breakfast served as part of the hotel room cost was excellent – best breakfast service on our 5 week trip.
Would I stay again: Excellent value, excellent staff, excellent location – not only would I stay here again, I’ve already recommended the hotel to friends who are heading to Prague soon.

Other notes: The manager of this hotel needs to give a thank you to Petra from us.

Only downside - Smoking in the foyer. This should be eliminated for a perfect score.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Glenn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OtakarJohn, General Manager at K+K Hotel Fenix, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Mr. Glenn S

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your honeymoon trip to Prague and taking time and reviewing our property.

Your positive words are the best appreciation to our colleagues in the customer service. I can assure you, that I will share your compliments with the entire team, especially with Petra and our team in the breakfast restaurant.

Thank you for rating our hotel as 5 star. It is obvious, that we could have exceeded your expectations with provided services.

Dear Mr. Glenn S, anytime travelling to Prague, we will be glad to welcome you in our hotel again.

Best regards from Prague

Marie Zlesakova
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,729 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    877
    662
    131
    40
    19
See reviews for
224
814
99
120
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
somerset
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We arrived at almost midnight on a Firday evening, from the moment we stepped through the door until we left 3 days later, everything was really great. The staff were very helpful and friendly, both at reception, at breakfast and room service. The reception was particularly informative and helpful with all our queries. The room was very clean and comfortable with all mod cons and free wi-fi.
Breakfast was a treat, with a whole variety of choices, including a hot breakfast, and it was constantly being refreshed. We had a late flight and they stored our luggage free of charge and with a smile. I would happily stay there again.
If there was one point that might put people off, it would be the fact that it is a little seedy outside the hotel, a strip club and a cafe where it is obvious that dealing is going on, from afternoon onwards. No fault of the hotel, and thankfully the hotel is only 50 mtrs from Wencestlas Square, but a shame for such a nice hotel. Saying that, I would not let it stop me enjoying this hotel.
Prague was lovely and good food and drink were to be had at very reasonable prices.
I did not use the hotel spa so have not commented on it in the ratings.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bbflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OtakarJohn, General Manager at K+K Hotel Fenix, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Mrs. Bblyer

Thank you for your nice review.

It is very rewarding to read about your pleasant experience with our quality of services. With pleasure I will forward your compliments to all of our colleauges, especially to the reception, breakfast service and housekeeping department.

We hope to welcome you in any of our K+K Hotel in the near future again.
Best regards from Prague

Marie Zlesakova
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reus (catalonia)
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Unfortunately, we couldn't sleep the first night because of the noise; the following nights were quite and peacefull. Location excellent, walking accesss to all that places one is supposed to visit. Easy connection to airport (bus+tube) with the station at 4 minutes walk. Great breakfast, you can also have a glass of Bohemian Sek (sparkling wine). Friendly and helpful staff. Free wi-fi in the rooms and computer+printer facilities in the ground floor; however the internet ran there too slowly (old computer?).

Room Tip: when booking, insist on a A/C+machinery noise-free room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joan-i-carme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stayed at the K+K Fenix for two nights while we were in Prague. Overall, it falls short of luxury hotel status, but well above the level of a standard American hotel chain.
The room and bathroom were big for a European hotel room (the mini-bar was enticing, but sadly, not free). Good location just a block from Wenceslaus Square and Prague's Old Town, although there are a couple strip clubs right next to the hotel. These were not noisy or bothersome to us (two 20-something girls) at all, but on our way back to the hotel one evening, some of the strip club staff were... um... enthusiastically inviting some young male passersby to pay a visit.
Best thing about the K+K Fenix: BREAKFAST. It was the biggest and best free hotel breakfast we've ever had, featuring everything from sausages to champagne to yogurt, and anything else you might want.
Side note: The best way to get there from the airport is to book in advance online - we used Prague Airport Transport, and were dropped off and picked up right at the door.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meg D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OtakarJohn, General Manager at K+K Hotel Fenix, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear Pty. Meg D

Thank you for reviewing our property.

I am pleased to find out, that you had a pleasant stay in our K+K Hotel Fenix, especially about our central location and wide selection at the breakfast buffet.

Anytime travelling to Prague, we would be delighted to welcome you in our hotel again.

Best regards

Marie Zlesakova
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherborne, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We stayed at the K+K as a couple for 4 night short break. This was a birthday treat, as our birthdays are only 3 days apart, and so we advised them ahead of our stay of this being a treat. After settling in, we were really pleased to receive a complimentary bottle of bubbly! The first time this has ever happened to us. We had booked an executive room, (which was 305 on the corner at the front). This was a good size room, with robes and slippers and a good range of complimentary toiletries. Everything was clean & worked.The staff were friendly & helpful and readily shared a joke and chat. Ice served seperatly to a drink , and the pistacio nuts were very nice touches more expected in a 5* rather than 4*. All of the big hotels in Prague seem to have some clubs nearby, but this wasnt a problem. Altogether, a very comfortable stay, and we would definately go back.

Room Tip: we didnt have any street noise from the 3rd floor, but it may be noisier closer to ground level
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 121sharon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OtakarJohn, General Manager at K+K Hotel Fenix, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Dear Mrs. Sharon

Thank you for choosing our K+K Hotel Fenix for your birthday trip to Prague.

I am pleased to read, that you had a great stay. Thank you for emphasizing our comfortable rooms, cleanness and especially our friendly and helpful staff. With pleasure I will share your compliment with them.

We hope to welcome you in our hotel in the near future again.

Best regards from Prague

Marie Zlesakova
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

I write this as we wait for the taxi to the airport.

The hotel is very good - location is fine (will cover the adult club issue later) for walking access to all the places to visit in the city.

On check-in we asked for a different (better) room and the excellent reception staff sorted us immediately. Reception staff were friendly and always tried to help.

Location: One minute walk in Wenceslas Square and 15 mins to Old Town Square.

Breakfast: breakfast was the only meal we ate in the hotel - but this always provided lots of choice and full tummies.

Adult/caberet clubs: yes, there are some in the street nearby but there are no offensive displays (that we noticed!). No women hanging around on the street as per other european cities near clubs. We got no hassle as we walked back to the hotel in the evening. No noticable noise either.

As we walked around Prague we did notice other 5 star hotels next to similar clubs too.

All-in-all the Fenix hotel was convienient, clean, has pleasant staff, good (not perfect) location .... But, hey, we enjoyed our time in Prague.

Helpful?
Thank Billy_bob_cav
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
OtakarJohn, General Manager at K+K Hotel Fenix, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Dear Mr. Billy Bob

Thank you for taking time and sharing your experience on the Tripadvisor.

I am delighted to read about your enjoyable stay in Prague, especially about your good experience with our service at the reception and other hotel services.

I hope you had a save journey to the airport and back home.

We hope to welcome you in any of our K+K Hotel in the near future again.

Marie Zlesakova
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Kiryat Motzkin, Israel
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013

A hotel that function proffesionaly with harmony and efficiency.
Good conviniant spacy tidy rooms with cooling air condition. Breakfast much beyond avarage European style. Reception personal eagerly ready to assist all questions and reservations. The Museum Metro line 200 M nearby with superb connections as well as tram lines in neighbouring streets. The wake up service in the middle of the night and the taxi to the airport where just 100% on time.

Room Tip: ask for a side room in the upper levels it's more quiet and gives a sense of better privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heinrich618
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OtakarJohn, General Manager at K+K Hotel Fenix, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Dear Mr. Illan072

Thank you for labeling our hotel being prefessionaly with harmony and efficiencny.

Your words are the best appreciation to our effort in the customer service.

I hope you had a comfortable journey back home and we hope to get a chance to welcome you in any of our K+K Hotels in the near future again.

Best regards from Prague

Marie Zlesakova
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Nove Mesto (New Town)
K+K Hotel Central
K+K Hotel Central
#91 of 649 in Prague
2,794 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
NYX Prague
NYX Prague
#178 of 649 in Prague
1,429 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Hotel Majestic Plaza Prague
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Hotel Grand Majestic Plaza Prague
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Jalta Boutique Hotel
Jalta Boutique Hotel
#105 of 649 in Prague
1,270 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
MOODs Boutique Hotel
MOODs Boutique Hotel
#67 of 649 in Prague
1,796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to K+K Hotel Fenix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about K+K Hotel Fenix

Property: K+K Hotel Fenix
Address: Ve Smechkach 596/30, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Nove Mesto (New Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Business Hotel in Prague
#68 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#72 Family Hotel in Prague
#120 Luxury Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — K+K Hotel Fenix 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This first class hotel, a remarkable architectural landmark, enjoys an excellent location in an upcoming lively area, just a few steps from lively Wenceslas Square, the "Golden City's" centre with all its wonderful sights, museums, shops and restaurants. As all K+K Hotels, it offers state-of-the-art amenities, elegantly furbished guest-rooms and combines contemporary interior design and the best of traditional hospitality. Free Wi-Fi in all guest rooms and public areas. Free access to the hotel's Business Lounge (PCs, printer and international newspapers). Free access to the Wellness Area with gym and sauna. Complimentary coffee and tea making facilities in the rooms. Complimentary downloads of over 3.000 International newspapers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your K+K Hotel Fenix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
k Hotel Fenix
k Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing