We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, Quiet, and Friendly Place”
Review of Hotel Julian

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Julian
Ranked #25 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Gliwice, Poland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Clean, Quiet, and Friendly Place”
Reviewed June 20, 2014

I loved this Hotel. The rooms and Hotel were clean with no strange odors. The reception staff were most helpful and spoke English, which is a real plus. The breakfast was full of a variety of different things to eat. The coffee...the coffee was great!! It seems to be located in a residential area... and it was. It was quiet all night! The bathrooms were clean and the room was bright and cheery. It was a 15 minute walk from places I wanted to see.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelJulianPrague, Manager at Hotel Julian, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Dear guests.

Thank you for your review! We are pleased you spent your stay with us.

Thank you for appreciating our breakfast coffee. The owner of the hotel loves great coffe so we did our best to choose the best one for our hotel!

Do not hesitate to contact us when comming back to Prague!

Kind regards

Lucie Čmelíková
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,592 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,189
    355
    39
    6
    3
See reviews for
375
708
77
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2014 via mobile

Very nice hotel with good room, attentive staff, clean and comfortable. Excellent breakfast. In a quiet part of the city but not far from most tourist sites. Only minor complaint was the cost, at about 107 Euros/ night.

Helpful?
Thank Bram L
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
HotelJulianPrague, Manager at Hotel Julian, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Dear Sir.

Thank you for sharing your feelings after your stay with us.

I am sorry you feel 107E/night/triple room too much, but in the price of the night there is also included: breakfast, Wifi connection in the room, free coffee and tea in the room, bottle of water every day and free water and sweets in the library (lobby bar)...I hope our clients will appreciate these little points included in the price of their stay,

Kind regards

Lucie Čmelíková
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2014

We stayed at the Hotel Julian during our visit to Prague in May 2014, based on Rick Steves’ recommendation and the reviews we found on TripAdvisor. You can add our name to those recommending this delightful hotel. The hotel is in excellent condition, the rooms are clean and well appointed, with modern in suite bathrooms. The staff were uniformly friendly and helpful. The hotel restaurant is surprisingly good - we ate there several nights. The included breakfasts are also well done, and the waitstaff are very accommodating. There is a major tram stop only a few blocks from the hotel.

Room Tip: The best views are on the front (west-facing) side of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChocolateBabies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelJulianPrague, Manager at Hotel Julian, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Hello dear guest.

Thank you for your nice recommedation! I would say many clients find us thanks to Rick Steves Guide Book and we are pleased for that! Thank you for following his recommendation :-)

Kind regards

Lucie Čmelíková
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2014

What a great hotel and area. Hotel Julian is close enough that we walked everywhere, but also very close to the local city tram. There was an ATM very close and in a safe area. We walked from Old Town to the hotel after dinner along the river to the hotel, which was so safe and charming.
The hotel had wonderful breakfast buffet every morning with eggs, bread, juice, fruit, yogurt, cereal, coffee, decaf and regular, pancakes once, pastries ect. The dining room was small yet comfortable. The lobby area was large enough where we would sit and enjoy more coffee and plan our day in a large living room type space with comfortable chairs. The deck space on top of the hotel was amazing, modern, and very comfortable. It had a few big umbrellas where you could get relief from the hot sun. The only problem we had was the last 2 nights the air conditioner began to leak and drip on the carpet. When I brought it to the attention of the from desk she apologized and said she'd have someone look at it, but it was dripping the following night as well. The wall safe was small and square, not big enough for our iPads, which was a bummer. The front desk was beyond helpful, and the driver the hotel provided was prompt, the only issue was on the way from the airport to the hotel, I was a bit car sick in the back seat, as he drove quite fast and the rides are a slight bit too many turns down the hill.
The bed was 2 bed pushed together but I thought quite comfortable, but my husband ask ways feels the beds are too hard in Europe, so he is always complaining about that. Our room was in front on the 2 nd floor, which was no problem with street noise, as there is not much noise. The blow drier was typical wall type blow dryer, so I'm glad I brought my own, but I'm fussy about a powerful drier. Also, the plugs were round and my our converters were square, so they had a round one we could borrowed from the front desk. There was CPA coffee maker and tea in the room if you wanted to make it.
We loved hotel Julian and we definitely return there!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank saundrella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelJulianPrague, Manager at Hotel Julian, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear guests.

Thank you for this great review full of information. I am pleased there is more positives than negatives:-)

I am sorry about the way from the airport. Our driver knows the area very well so maybe the way could be a bit fast, but he always observes the speed limits in the city. If the safe is too small for a iPad, there is possibility to keep anything at the reception safe. But I recommend to leave the passports in the hotel safe and do not keep it on you when going to the city!

Hopefully your stay was nice and pleasant and you are already planning to come back:-)

Kind greetings

Lucie Čmelíková
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2014

We just spent a week at the Hotel Julian. What a delightful refuge to come home to at the end of a busy day! We had lounges to enjoy, a top floor terrace where you could view the city and enjoy a drink from the bar, and such a welcoming atmosphere. Front desk staff helped us every day to find the best activities and the best way to get around. It felt a bit like a Fairmont experience but not nearly the Fairmont price. Breakfasts were excellent too. The only problem was the presence of smokers in the lounges but that is a problem in the whole country. Not sure why smoking is so de rigeur in 2014.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the back where there is no traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jill070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelJulianPrague, Manager at Hotel Julian, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Greetings from the Hotel Julian!

Thank you for your warm lines. There is no better way to express what is our hotel like than saying "home" Thank you for that!

Smoking in enclosed spaces is unfortunately allowed in Czech Republic and many people prefere that...:-(

Kind greetings

Lucie Čmelíková
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 8, 2014

The Hotel Julian exceeded expectations from the start. Starting with a free upgrade to an apartment was the best start to exploring Prague. The hotel is placed close to major tramlines, so access to the city is easy. The rooftop terrace provides awesome views of Prague Castle. Staff went out of their way to ensure our stay was comfortable and food and service excellent. Keep up the good work.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelJulianPrague, Manager at Hotel Julian, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear clients.

Thank you for sharing your experience with our hotel.

If it is possible and the situation permits we are pleased to provide free upgrade to our clients. Usualy we provide aparments, delux rooms and attic rooms. We are happy you liked the room!

Kind regards

Lucie Čmelíková
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parsons, Kansas
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2014 via mobile

We found Hotel Julian through Rick Steve's' Prague book, and staying there was a wonderful experience. I'd have to say it's at the top of my list of favorite European hotels. I corresponded with them through a number of emails with numerous questions, and their responses were always polite, cheerful and timely. We used their car service from the airport, which was $30 for three of us. Check-in was effortless, and Vaclav at the front desk gave us a great recommendation for lunch at a restaurant right around the corner. Our room was spacious with a fridge and coffee/tea service. The bathroom was also large and spotless. My only complaint is there was no shower door or curtain, which left the bathroom wet after bathing. I've seen this in several European bathrooms and have never asked the reason. When in Rome, I guess. After walking to the Old Town Square, we were thrilled that we hadn't booked a room there. The square is very crowded and noisy, and while it's a fun place to sightsee and shop, it was wonderful to return to the quiet oasis of our room. The hotel is an easy 10-15 minute walk from the square, but you can purchase tram tickets from the front desk also. The front desk staff was very accommodating and helpful throughout our stay. Two mornings we came down to breakfast close to closing time, and the breakfast staff never made us feel rushed. They have a good mix of American and European choices for breakfast. The public spaces are warm and inviting, and there's a nice rooftop terrace where you can have a drink or dinner, or just sit and look out over the city. Hotel Julian is truly a great place to stay.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank curlilocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelJulianPrague, Manager at Hotel Julian, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Greetings to Kansas!

Thank you for writing such a great review! We are pleased to be on the top of your European list of hotels:-)

I do agree with you- Old Town Square is the central point of the city, but very noisy and crowded so accommodation there can be restless. The area around our hotel is quiet and you can get to Charles Bridge in 5 min by tram. Or you can also see the Prague Castle from our roof top :-)

Thank you for your recommendation!

Kind regards

Lucie Čmelíková
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Hradcany & Letna
Questenberk
Questenberk
#12 of 649 in Prague
1,014 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
La Ballerina
La Ballerina
#24 of 649 in Prague
622 reviews
Praha 5
Hotel General
Hotel General
#22 of 649 in Prague
1,408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Unitas Hotel
Unitas Hotel
#9 of 649 in Prague
1,699 reviews
Vinohrady & Vrsovice
Louren Hotel
Louren Hotel
#29 of 649 in Prague
602 reviews
Hradcany & Letna
Hotel The Golden Wheel
Hotel The Golden Wheel
#31 of 649 in Prague
636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Julian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Julian

Property: Hotel Julian
Address: Elishky Peshkove 197/11, Prague 150 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 5
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Prague
#22 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#52 Business Hotel in Prague
#56 Romantic Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Julian 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Julian is a family style 4* hotel located 15 minutes by walk from the Charles bridge, most other famous historic sights are also within the walking distance. The hotel is equipped with English style library with a fire place, rooftop terrace with view of Prague Castle and Petrin hill, Rose spa offerin sauna and massages and restaurant Golden Times serving czech specialities. Our motto is ... Feel at home with us... and we are doing our best to accomplish this target. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Julian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Julian Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing