We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent choice in Prague”
Review of Hotel Julian

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Julian
Ranked #24 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level 6 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Excellent choice in Prague”
Reviewed December 2, 2012

I've been a guest at Julian's for 14 days and if I'm glad enough to return to beatiful Prague, I will stay there again for sure.
The location is optimal, since the hotel is pretty near many places of interest as the Charles Bridge or the National Theatre, and at the same time, it's in a quiet and safe spot in Prague.
The hotel is beautifully designed and decorated and the rooms are very clean, spacious and comfortable, and no noises from the outside are heard from them. Wifi connection is excellent and the hotel provides the guests with a free bottle of water and tea and coffee at the rooms, though it is really nice to have a cup of tea or coffee by the fire place in the cosy, lovely library in a cold evening.
And last, but not least, all the members of the staff are extraordinarily kind, knowledgeable and helpful and you'll feel really supported by any of them, which is very important specially when you're for the first time in Prague.
Breakfast is varied (I loved the croissants and the taste of fresh bread) and the restaurant offers a very fine cuisine (it's not easy to surpass my mother's gulas, but they do!). Of course, I highly recommend this special hotel, I had a wonderful stay there.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ana E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelJulianPrague, Manager at Hotel Julian, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear guest,

first of all I would like to thank you for your long stay with us. I do appreciate you review, such nice words are the biggest praise for our job. I am very happy you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for mentioning our goulash, it is nice to read that it surpassed your mother´s one:-)

Enjoy the Christmas time.

You are always welcome here!

Radka Římalová
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,612 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,205
    359
    39
    6
    3
See reviews for
385
714
78
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, OH
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at Hotel Julian in October 2012. This is definitely a travelers hotel. The location is Mala Strana is really convenient. I'm glad that we chose this location because it was out of the melee of the old town, and out of the shadow of the castle. However, it was very convenient to walk to every place we wanted to go. We really enjoyed the sights of the Mala Strana neighborhood, including taking the funicular up the hill to the lookout tower, walking down toward the castle, and enjoying food and jazz in the area. The hotel was clean and comfortable, the breakfast was great, and the front desk staff were welcoming and helpful. Great hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HCB_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelJulianPrague, Manager at Hotel Julian, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear guests,

thank you very much that you have chosen our hotel for your October stay in Prague. I do appreciate your review. I am happy that the location of our hotel was convenient for you and you liked the neighborhood. I am also very glad you enjoyed our provided services.

You are always welcome here!

Enjoy the end of autumn!

Radka Římalová
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lochearnhead
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2012

A delightful hotel. It was lovely to be in an individual hotel rather tha a chain with predictable fixtures and fittings. The lounge was full of curiosities and complimentary coffee and cakes are served there all morning. Not that we needed any after the breakfast which was a vast selection of cold and hot foods, a variety of bread, jam, cereals, yoghurt, cakes coffees and teas. The roof top garden is a nice touch for the summer season. The bedrooms were comfortable and bathrooms well equipped. We never triedthe fitness room and whirlpool. Maybe next time. We used the laundry service and items were returned cleaned and pressed the same day by adelightful oman who was also our chambermaid. Lucie on receptipon was very helpful in all matters including sight seeing ideas. We visited Karlstejn castle thanks to Lucie. It was 30km out of Praque. The train was about £10 for 6 of us and it was a great day out of the city. We never ate in the bar restaurant however had a few pre and apres dinner drinks that were served either in the bar or in one of the lounges. Internet access and use of a computer and printer are free which was perfect for printing off boarding passes and checking business enquiries at home. We found the hotel via an airmiles recommendation and would certainly return and recommend it to others. There is a tram stop nearby. An ideal location for visiting everything that you need to see or do in Praque. Excellent value for money.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank briarinfo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelJulianPrague, Manager at Hotel Julian, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear guests,

thank you very much for your stay with us and your nice review. I am happy you enjoyed your stay and all provided services. Thank you for praising Lucy. Anyway, we have two ladies called Lucy at the reception, but I believe that both are amazing:-)

I hope you come again in the future!

Have a nice autumn.

Radka Římalová
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2012

We recently stayed in a triple room. Room was clean and cosy. Hotel very charming, with a quaint sitting area off the lobby. Good selection for breakfast. Location is good. It is walkable to go across the Charles bridge and into old town but you may want to buy tram tickets if you're going back and forth for a couple of days. You can buy them at the reception. We had asked to get picked up at the train station on our arrival in Prague and the gentleman was waiting for us when we got in. It was well worth it. We also asked him to drive us back on our departure day as we were leaving early morning. Service was very reliable. All in all, we were quite happy with our stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClaireDanielle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelJulianPrague, Manager at Hotel Julian, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear guests,

thank you very much that you have chosen our hotel for your stay in Prague. I appreciate your review written here, thank you! I am glad you were quite happy with your stay and hope to see you again!

Have a nice autumn!

Radka Římalová
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012

I had originally booked another hotel for a 4 day visit but reviews on Trip Advisor led to me cancelling that hotel. I looked on Tri;p Advisor to find the best hotel for me in my price range which worked out to be the Hotel Julian. Every comment was so positive and I am so glad I booked with the Hotel Julian. I arrived around 10am with a booking in time of 2pm and was going to leave mu luggage at the hotel, go out and return to book in. The room I had been allocated was free and reception spoke to housekeeping and they cleaned and prepared room for me within 30 minutes and I was able to go straight to my room. This was exceptional service. The whole hotel staff are so friendly and cannot do enough to help you in any way and they are truly multilingual. The room was lovely and huge, with a beautiful en-suite shower room with everything you could possibly need. The room included tea/coffee facilities, complimentary water and biscuits and had a fridge/mini bar, safe and massive hanging space. There was even a small room opposite my room on the 1st floor where you could help yourself to ice cubes for drinks. The breakfast was brilliant including cereals, bacon, sausages, eggs and hot beans or veg, cold meat and cheese, tomatoes and cucumber, cheese spread, preserves, cakes, fruit juices, lovely filtered coffee, tea, fruit,, lovely fresh bread and sliced bread for toasting. The breakfast set me up for the rest of the day. Although I had understood from original reviews by others that there was no restaurant, there was in fact a restaurant facility in the basement bar and dining area - which was picturesque and cosy with good food at a reasonable price. Near reception is a library area which is stunning and the style is bohemian with gorgeous high end furnishings (with a beautiful penny farthing bicycle in one of windows ...amazing). I waited in the library while my room was made ready and they made availabe tea and coffee and pastries as a courtesy to guests in the library every morning after breakfast. The hotel is located close to the centre of the city (no more than a 10-15 minute walk or a few minutes tram ride) and was a wonderful base for exploring the city. I really cannot stress how wonderful the staff at the hotel are and they contributed greatly to a wonderful visit.. This is truly a wonderful place to stay.

Room Tip: Rooms at back of hotel are really, really quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelJulianPrague, Manager at Hotel Julian, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear guest,

first of all thank you very much for your time devoted to your nice review. I am glad you changed your booking to our hotel as well:-). It was pleasure of the staff to be helpful during your stay. I am happy you enjoyed our breakfasts and all provided services.

I hope to see you again!

Enjoy the autumn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basildon, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

I selected this hotel mainly because of its overall trip advisor rating and its reviews. As we all know you can always find something to criticise if pushed but remarkably I cannot, the staff and hotel were superb and the location was perfect. Its about a 10 minute walk from Charles bridge and the walk helps with calories! Prague is a must and the only comment is just GO!!
A special mention for Lucie on reception, nothing was too much trouble and she was always very friendly and helpful. If you want to see all the best bits of Prague in one day, and you are fit enough, try the Ultimate Tour, 6 hours of walking, boat ride, and tram. In my opinion a great day and we learnt so much of the history of the Czech Republic.
Ken Reynolds - Party of 6 - 4/11/12

Room Tip: If you are a non smoker, make sure you book a non-smoking room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kenreyno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelJulianPrague, Manager at Hotel Julian, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear travelling party,

thank you very much for your stay at our hotel during your trip to Prague and your nice review, I appreciate that! I am happy you liked Prague and our hotel. It was the pleasure of Lucy and other staff to be helpful and to make your stay comfortable. Thank you for your praise.

I hope to see you soon again.

Radka Římalová
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, UK
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We (a family of three) stayed in a triple room at the Hotel Julian 29th Oct to Nov 1st, 2012.

The Hotel Julian is lovely. At the time of writing the Julian is ranked number 21 out of 673 Prague hotels on the Trip Advisor website. The top 20 must be extremely good, because the Hotel Julian is superb.

Although there were three of us in the room, it did not feel crowded at all. Plenty of room. The bathroom was very good, and so very clean. Towels changed every day if required of course. Breakfast was served from 7.00am to 10.30am and there was a pretty good selection to choose from. The hotel had a nice mix of old and new. Some old style decorations, e.g. suits of armour in the lobby and also on the second floor where we stayed. It also had the new too, for example free wifi throughout the hotel. In the basement of the hotel is a small (but very pleasant) bar and restaurant, where you can get youself a refreshing drink after a full days sightseeing. We had a couple of nice snacks from the restaurant too.

The staff were all so friendly and helpful. Including the taxi driver who met us at the airport and the lovely staff on reception.

Location-wise, the Hotel Julian is just outside of the centre. Its about a 15 to 20 minute walk to Charles Bridge for example. However there is a tram stop nearby (Svandovo Divadlo) where you can get a tram to pretty much anywhere in Prague in a matter of minutes. You can also buy tickets for the tram at the Hotel reception. The area around the hotel is perefctly safe at all times of day/night as far as I could see. Indeed, Prague generally seems like a very safe city.

Not sure when we will be coming back to Prague, but we will one day. And, when we do, we will look to stay at Hotel Julian once again.

Superb. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MartinH123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelJulianPrague, Manager at Hotel Julian, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear family,

thank you that you have chosen our hotel for your stay in Prague. Thank you also for your time devoted to your nice feedback, I do appreciate that! I am really happy while reading your nice words. That is great you had a pleasant stay and want to come back. We are looking forward to that and hope it will be early:-).

Enjoy the autumn days.

Radka Římalová
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Hradcany & Letna
Questenberk
Questenberk
#13 of 649 in Prague
1,029 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
La Ballerina
La Ballerina
#23 of 649 in Prague
640 reviews
Praha 5
Hotel General
Hotel General
#20 of 649 in Prague
1,422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Unitas Hotel
Unitas Hotel
#9 of 649 in Prague
1,713 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel Pod Vezi
Hotel Pod Vezi
#2 of 649 in Prague
2,682 reviews
Praha 2
Hotel 16
Hotel 16
#7 of 649 in Prague
760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Julian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Julian

Property: Hotel Julian
Address: Elishky Peshkove 197/11, Prague 150 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 5
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Prague
#21 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#52 Business Hotel in Prague
#56 Romantic Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Julian 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Julian is a family style 4* hotel located 15 minutes by walk from the Charles bridge, most other famous historic sights are also within the walking distance. The hotel is equipped with English style library with a fire place, rooftop terrace with view of Prague Castle and Petrin hill, Rose spa offering sauna and massages and restaurant Golden Times serving czech specialities. Our motto is ... Feel at home with us... and we are doing our best to accomplish this target. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Julian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Julian Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing