We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I will return!!!!”
Review of Hotel Julian

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Julian
Ranked #26 of 651 Hotels in Prague
Basildon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“I will return!!!!”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

I selected this hotel mainly because of its overall trip advisor rating and its reviews. As we all know you can always find something to criticise if pushed but remarkably I cannot, the staff and hotel were superb and the location was perfect. Its about a 10 minute walk from Charles bridge and the walk helps with calories! Prague is a must and the only comment is just GO!!
A special mention for Lucie on reception, nothing was too much trouble and she was always very friendly and helpful. If you want to see all the best bits of Prague in one day, and you are fit enough, try the Ultimate Tour, 6 hours of walking, boat ride, and tram. In my opinion a great day and we learnt so much of the history of the Czech Republic.
Ken Reynolds - Party of 6 - 4/11/12

Room Tip: If you are a non smoker, make sure you book a non-smoking room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kenreyno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelJulianPrague, Manager at Hotel Julian, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear travelling party,

thank you very much for your stay at our hotel during your trip to Prague and your nice review, I appreciate that! I am happy you liked Prague and our hotel. It was the pleasure of Lucy and other staff to be helpful and to make your stay comfortable. Thank you for your praise.

I hope to see you soon again.

Radka Římalová
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,541 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,146
    348
    39
    5
    3
See reviews for
353
688
73
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, UK
Level Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We (a family of three) stayed in a triple room at the Hotel Julian 29th Oct to Nov 1st, 2012.

The Hotel Julian is lovely. At the time of writing the Julian is ranked number 21 out of 673 Prague hotels on the Trip Advisor website. The top 20 must be extremely good, because the Hotel Julian is superb.

Although there were three of us in the room, it did not feel crowded at all. Plenty of room. The bathroom was very good, and so very clean. Towels changed every day if required of course. Breakfast was served from 7.00am to 10.30am and there was a pretty good selection to choose from. The hotel had a nice mix of old and new. Some old style decorations, e.g. suits of armour in the lobby and also on the second floor where we stayed. It also had the new too, for example free wifi throughout the hotel. In the basement of the hotel is a small (but very pleasant) bar and restaurant, where you can get youself a refreshing drink after a full days sightseeing. We had a couple of nice snacks from the restaurant too.

The staff were all so friendly and helpful. Including the taxi driver who met us at the airport and the lovely staff on reception.

Location-wise, the Hotel Julian is just outside of the centre. Its about a 15 to 20 minute walk to Charles Bridge for example. However there is a tram stop nearby (Svandovo Divadlo) where you can get a tram to pretty much anywhere in Prague in a matter of minutes. You can also buy tickets for the tram at the Hotel reception. The area around the hotel is perefctly safe at all times of day/night as far as I could see. Indeed, Prague generally seems like a very safe city.

Not sure when we will be coming back to Prague, but we will one day. And, when we do, we will look to stay at Hotel Julian once again.

Superb. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MartinH123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelJulianPrague, Manager at Hotel Julian, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear family,

thank you that you have chosen our hotel for your stay in Prague. Thank you also for your time devoted to your nice feedback, I do appreciate that! I am really happy while reading your nice words. That is great you had a pleasant stay and want to come back. We are looking forward to that and hope it will be early:-).

Enjoy the autumn days.

Radka Římalová
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012

We stayed here for three nights. It was vey clean. The beds were hard, but we like hard so had good night sleeps. The receptionist were very helpful for all matters of transport around Prague. The breakfast was ok, they had a good selection - but nothing amazing!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelJulianPrague, Manager at Hotel Julian, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear guests,

thank you very much for your stay with us and your feedback, that is definitely helpful for us.

Im happy our hotel was lovely for you and that you had a good sleep.

I hope you will visit Prague and our hotel again.

Enjoy the autumn days.

Radka Římalová
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Neots
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012

We arrived here on a very snowy and cold Saturday afternoon and were greeted with an extremely pleasant and warm welcome. The check-in process was smooth, efficient and very friendly and we were in our room within minutes. The room itself was of a good size, immaculately clean and had everything you could wish for. The beds were very comfortable and we both slept well the entire time we were here.
We ate in the hotel restaurant, both selecting from the Czech menu, and the food was superb in terms of taste, quality and presentation. The service was also first class.
Breakfast was a delight, with a huge selection available to cater to all tastes. We opted for toast, ham, cheese, eggs, yoghurt and fruit but there was also cereals, bacon, sausage, dried fruit and cake etc. It was also a bonus that breakfast was served until 10.30 week days and 11am on a weekend, given the comfort of the beds and the amount of sleep we had!
The hotel in general was superbly clean and well decorated. We especially loved and made use of the wonderful seating around the fire which provided a very warm and comfortable environment to read, have a drink or just enjoy some quiet time. Had Prague not been such a wonderful city to explore i would have happily spent my entire holiday in front of this fire and relaxing in the hotel.
In terms of the location of the hotel there is plenty of accessible public transport availble. We decided to explore the hotel on foot and with guidance from the hotel staff managed to see all of the wonderful sights that Prague has to offer.
Would we stay at Hotel Julian again? Try and stop us!
Thank you for providing us with an amazing location from which to explore your fantastic city!
Karen & Roy Middleton

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KarenMiddleton1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelJulianPrague, Manager at Hotel Julian, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Dear guests,

thank you very much for your stay with us, I am happy that first snow in Prague has not been deterrent for you and you came:-)Thank you for your really nice and helpful review. I am happy you enjoyed the fire place, dinner and breakfasts. I am glad while reading you slept well and you liked exploring the city from our location.

You are always welcome here!

Enjoy the autumn.

Radka Římalová
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
149 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

I stayed here with my family in one of their suites (one bedroom with double bed and single bed, one living room with two sofa-beds and a kitchenette) and we were very happy. The staff are superb, the public areas full of an amazing variety of antiques, and the suite rooms were a good size well furnished. Breakfast was plentiful and served with a smile, and the front desk staff were always very informative and helpful (as well as multilingual)! The hotel feels old, but all the things which matter (wifi, elevators, heating, windows, bathroom) were new and worked well.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mcwcBaku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelJulianPrague, Manager at Hotel Julian, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear family,

thank you very much for your stay with us and your contribution here, I appreciate your time!

I am glad you were happy in our suite and with hotel at all. It was the pleasure of the staff to be helpful for you during your stay.

I am looking forward to your next stay!

Enjoy the autumn days,

Radka Římalová
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota USA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Hotel Julian was a wonderful place to stay in Prague. It was just outside the high tourist area - an easy 10 minute walk along the river to Charles Bridge. Their attention to small details made the Hotel Julian extra special. Reception desk staff was very helpful at all times of day and night. Enjoyed the atmosphere at the bar/restaurant in the lower level, the library and sitting areas near the reception desk, breakfast room, terrace on the roof. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room off the main street if you are a light sleeper. We enjoyed having the window open al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JeanneMinnesotaUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelJulianPrague, Manager at Hotel Julian, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear guests,

thank you that you have chosen our hotel for your stay in Prague. I appreciate your time devoted to writing your review. I am so glad you liked our hotel and our staff was helpful for you. Thank you for your recommendation. Hope to see you again!

Yours sincerely

Radka Římalová
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wishaw, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Both my wife and i recently returned from a three night stay at this little gem of a hotel. From the minute we arrived the staff were very welcoming and helpful. Our room was on the fourth floor and easily accessed by the lift. Imagine our surprise to have been allocated a suite with large bathroom, seperate bedroom and lounge. We had prebooked the lux package, consisting of airport uplift, wine, fruit and music in the room. Hotel is situated in a quiet area and the main parts, Charles Bridge, Wencelas Square and Old Town all within a leisurely stroll. Restaurant within hotel was very nice with prices better than home. Czech garlic soup and Beef goulash were great choices. Towels and bedding tended too each day. Tram stops are nearby and any help you require are met with helpful response by staff.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bobby0777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelJulianPrague, Manager at Hotel Julian, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear guests,

thank you very much for your stay at our hotel during your trip to Prague and your nice review, I do appreciate that! I am happy you took advantage of the luxury package and had a comfortable stay in a suite. I am glad you liked our garlic soup and goulash. It was the pleasure of the staff to be helpful for you.

I hope to see you again!

Enjoy the autumn.

Radka Římalová
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Vinohrady & Vrsovice
Louren Hotel
Louren Hotel
#33 of 651 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 583 reviews
Hradcany & Letna
Questenberk
Questenberk
#11 of 651 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 983 reviews
Praha 5
Hotel General
Hotel General
#21 of 651 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Maximilian Hotel
Maximilian Hotel
#30 of 651 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,227 reviews
Hradcany & Letna
Domus Henrici Boutique Hotel
Hradcany & Letna
Hotel The Golden Wheel
Hotel The Golden Wheel
#32 of 651 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Julian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Julian

Property: Hotel Julian
Address: Elishky Peshkove 197/11, Prague 150 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 5
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Prague
#23 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#52 Business Hotel in Prague
#56 Romantic Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Julian 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Julian is a family style 4* hotel located 15 minutes by walk from the Charles bridge, most other famous historic sights are also within the walking distance. The hotel is equipped with English style library with a fire place, rooftop terrace with view of Prague Castle and Petrin hill, Rose spa offerin sauna and massages and restaurant Golden Times serving czech specialities. Our motto is ... Feel at home with us... and we are doing our best to accomplish this target. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Julian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Julian Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing