We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little hotel just outside city centre”
Review of Hotel Julian

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Julian
Ranked #24 of 648 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Really enjoyed this hotel with its old feel. Short tram ride to city centre and other attractions. Nice roof top terrace fr those summer evenings. Staff were very helpful and friendly - we bought our tram ticket from desk and really helped with planning. Good Internet and breakfast.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bruce440
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelJulianPrague, Manager at Hotel Julian, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2012

Dear guests,

thank you very much for your stay with us and for sharing your impression here, I do aprreciate that. I am happy you caught last summer days to enjoy our roof terrace.

You are always welcome here.

Radka Římalová

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,683)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

836 - 842 of 1,683 reviews

Reviewed September 13, 2012 via mobile

We stayed 5 nights. Nice room. Some street noise, but that would be difficult to avoid anywhere in Prague. Included breakfast. Very pleasant and helpful staff. About 1/2 mile walk to get into the heart of the city, but worth the walk to get away from the din. I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MWPerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelJulianPrague, Manager at Hotel Julian, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2012

Dear guests,

thank you for your long stay at our hotel and for taking your time to write us the feedback. I am happy that our staff made your trip pleasant and that you would come again.

We hope to see you again soon!

Enjoy the autumn days.

Radka Římalová

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

I loved this little oasis of a hotel - it's within easy walk of the Charles bridge but far enough away to be quiet and restful after a day of touring around. I loved the roof top terrace and the restaurant is excellent too.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Valkonvacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelJulianPrague, Manager at Hotel Julian, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2012

Dear guests,

thank you very much for your stay and taking time to write your review, I do appreciate that. I am happy you loved the terrace and you enjoyed your dinner at our restaurant.

We hope in your another stay with us.

Enjoy the last days of the summer.

Radka Římalová

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

Some distance from center of city but safe. On bus route, easy to manage. Rooms were large and air conditioned. Rooftop patio had great view and funny statue that our teens enjoyed. Breakfast was really varied and fun. Service great.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PatPS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelJulianPrague, Manager at Hotel Julian, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2012

Dear travelling family,

thank you very much for your stay with us and your feedback. I am very delighted you enjoyed breakfast and the roof terrace.

We hope we will see you again!

Enjoy the last days of the summer.

Radka Římalová

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We chose Hotel Julian because it was one of the hotels recommended by Rick Steves in his travel writings and the very good to excellent reviews in various travel websites. We were not disappointed. It was away from the tourist vibe of the Old Town and the New Town, yet transportation was just around the corner. The tram and the metro were easy enough to navigate. However, it's a good idea to study the routes and confirm the tram numbers where you want to go. They sell 24-hr tickets but wish they had the 3-day tickets available also (more of a discount). If not joining any city tours, the receptionists are a good source of information on all the places you want to visit and how to get there. Other conveniences: to get local currency, there's an ATM machine about 2 blocks away, 2 Chinese restaurants are close by (very reasonable prices) where you can order to go dishes and bring back to your room (this was what we did for evening meals), a Tesco convenience store is also around the corner where a big bottle of water costs around $0.50 vs. almost $5.00 in the Charles Bridge area. The hotel provides a small bottle of water in the room each day, not enough for making coffee and tea in the evenings for the 3 of us. Just didn't know if they could have provided more; we never asked. The Andel shopping center is a few tram stops away (walking distance also) and there is a subway (metro) there that can take you to a bigger shopping area, the Palladium mall. Our room in the 3rd floor was spacious and comfortable enough for the 3 of us (my husband and I plus our adult daughter). It had a foyer which served as our dressing area and next to it was the bathroom. And wow! The bathroom was quite large, had a bidet, a bathtub, a hand-held shower, a hair dryer and was sparkling clean! We only took showers and it was a challenge not to get the whole bathroom floor wet. Shampoo and bath gel were always replenished as we used them. We had some problem with the air conditioning waking us up with a loud, dreadful noise at around 3:30 am the first two nights and we brought it to the attention of the receptionist. We tried to just keep the windows open but the street noise (from passing vehicles) bothered us and kept us awake half the night. However, we soon learned its quirks and just turned it on around 10 pm., turned it off when we woke up. There was a small fridge in the room and it had drinks and some snacks for purchase. We went to breakfast at around 8 am and never had a problem finding a table. The food and beverages including coffee were constantly being checked and replenished. There was a good variety of breads, protein (eggs, bacon, sausages, ham, cheeses), fruits, veggies, breakfast cakes, cereal, yogurt, etc. We thoroughly enjoyed it and was especially glad there's one worker there who always smiled and greeted us each morning. Only one, though. The airport pick-up/drop-off service was excellent! It took away transportation concerns to and from the airport. It's best to pay the driver directly instead of adding it to the hotel bill. We were a bit disappointed that everytime we tried to break a 1000 or 2000 koruna, the receptionist didn't have enough change. Same thing happened on the morning we were leaving. We ended up not being able to tip all of the individuals we wanted to. Overall, it was a very memorable 5-day visit to this lovely city, made even more beautiful by the comfort and quiet atmosphere of Hotel Julian. One suggestion to the staff -- please smile more! It will help make us feel more welcome.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Masayaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelJulianPrague, Manager at Hotel Julian, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2012

Dear guests,

thank you very much for your 5 days long stay and your long feedback, that definitely helps to other travelers:-). I am happy you have followed the reviews and were not dissappointed and what more, your stay is memorable. When it comes to the water in your room, the bottled water is just a first aid, when you come thirsty, you can prepare your coffee and tea from the tap water, it is drinking:-) We always do our best to provide great service, that is always accompanied by smile, I am sorry if you missed more smile.

You are always welcome here.

Enjoy the last days of the summer.

Radka Římalová

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

I was a single traveler in Prague. I felt safe as a female traveling alone through Prague. The staff answered all of my questions and even corrected a mistake within minutes when they realized they ordered my cab for the wrong time. The food was delicious, the rooftop patio is awesome, and the room was comfortable/quiet. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: I was in 303.....sooo quiet. Loved it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KM B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelJulianPrague, Manager at Hotel Julian, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2012

Dear Guest,

thank you that you have chosen our hotel for you stay in Prague. Thank you for your review. I am happy you enjoyed your stay and our services and that you felt safe. It will be our pleasure to welcome you here again!

Enjoy the last days of the summer.

Radka Římalová

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

We were traveling for 900 km and when we arrived we had a very unpleasent surprise for the parking in the hotel. There were only 5 spots and offcaurse they were all reserved. I don't understand why they didnt just say that they don't have parking. Then while we were at the reception the receptioner was yelling at my son because he said that he saw some spots at the parking, he even accused the young boy that he called him a lyer. The other thing is that the breakfast was ver low cost for a 4 star hotel. Tere were not enough seats for all persons that wanted to eat at 9am and the food supply was horrible, there was never fresh bread and the food was cold insted of hot /saussages/. The hotel staff was unplaesant, they always stare at the computer screen and never tell you - "hi ", first.

Room Tip: Rooms that look at the street are noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Harry J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelJulianPrague, Manager at Hotel Julian, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2012

Dear guests,

first of all I would like to thank you for your stay.

I am really unpleasant surprised while reading your review. We do provide secure parking, consisting of 8 parking places. From this limited number of parking places the reservation is necessary. The reservation of a parking place has to be confirmed by us. Unfortunately we have not received your requirement for parking and therefore you could not have received our confirmation. As you can read from other reviews we always do our best to provide the best service because we do want our guests would feel at home. I am sure that our staff was not rude during solving your situation as you write. I am also sorry, if you were not satisfied with the breakfast. We care about the quality and freshness of the food, because we support the great start to a day. I am sorry if our hotel was not good choice for your holiday in Prague. If you had any other questions or comments do not hesitate to contact me per e-mail. I am ready to assist you.

Have a nice rest of the summer.

Radka Římalová

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Hradcany & Letna
Questenberk
Questenberk
#12 of 648 in Prague
1,068 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Hotel UNIC Prague
Hotel UNIC Prague
#27 of 648 in Prague
1,712 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Maximilian Hotel
Maximilian Hotel
#28 of 648 in Prague
2,458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nove Mesto (New Town)
La Ballerina
La Ballerina
#21 of 648 in Prague
742 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Appia Hotel Residences
Appia Hotel Residences
#11 of 648 in Prague
748 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel Pod Vezi
Hotel Pod Vezi
#2 of 648 in Prague
2,859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Julian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Julian

Address: Elisky Peskove 197/11, Prague 150 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 5
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Prague
#22 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#52 Business Hotel in Prague
#55 Romantic Hotel in Prague
Price Range: $72 - $225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Julian 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Julian is a family style 4* hotel located 15 minutes by walk from the Charles bridge, most other famous historic sights are also within the walking distance. The hotel is equipped with English style library with a fire place, rooftop terrace with view of Prague Castle and Petrin hill, Rose spa offering sauna and massages and restaurant Golden Times serving czech specialities. Our motto is ... Feel at home with us... and we are doing our best to accomplish this target. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Julian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Julian Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing