We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Poor location”
Review of Hilton Prague

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Prague
Ranked #131 of 651 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Titusville, Florida
Level Contributor
45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Poor location”
Reviewed November 2, 2005

The Hilton is a very nice hotel with very nice rooms but a poor location if you're a tourist. You either have to walk a long distance to Old Prague or take public transportation. This hotel is best for business travelers. Aside from that, the breakfast buffet is unbelievable - much more than a buffet and geared towards travelers from all over the world. The staff was kind, polite, and very helpful. The rooms were clean and comfortable. I had my hair done at the hotel salon and it was very reasonable. I recommend it for traveling women - so relaxing on a hectic trip. As for Prague - the beauty of the city brought tears to my eyes. I am so thankful it has remained untouched for all these centuries. We had excellent food everywhere we ate and at great prices. The shopping deals lacked but that was fine.
I would love to return to Prague but I would stay at one of the lovely small hotels in Old Town.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Bunco1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Senior Duty Manager at Hilton Prague, responded to this review, December 6, 2005
Dear Madam/Sir,

I would like to thank you for your comments shared with others on this helpful website.

It is always exciting to read what others have to say about our hotel, as well as Prague itself.

Your short description about Old Town and little streets reminded me, how lucky I am to live in this City.

I agree with you that we have enormous number of little hotels with better location, however, you would not be able to enjoy the other side of the large hotel - breakfast, fitness center and other outlets. All located under one roof!

I hope we will welcome you back soon.

With Best Regards,
Pavlina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,663 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,258
    1,606
    535
    171
    93
See reviews for
817
1,493
212
1,304
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (730)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mississippi
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2005

Five friends and I stayed at the Prague Hilton for three nights as part of a tour package that included a 7-day cruise on the Danube River (departing from Nuremburg, Germany). At first I was disappointed to find out that we had been assigned to the Prague Hilton since I am familiar with the city from previous visits. While the Hilton is not in the very heart of the city center, it is easily reached by the underground metro (Station Florenc) located a two minute walk from the hotel.

After arriving at the Hilton, my disappointment was changed to happiness and appreciation. The Hilton staff, from the front desk to the bar/lounge to the restaurant is among the best and most professional we have ever experienced in a European hotel (I have traveled in 32 countries during the past 20 years). The staff was more than courteous and pleasant and very well-trained, and we were recognized by many of the staff after only several hours in the hotel.

Our room, while some distance from the main elevator bank, was delightfully fresh, well-furnished, and comfortable. We had an exterior room with a window that opened to allow fresh air in (we also used the air conditioning when it got a bit warm one night), and the bathroom was extremely clean and spotless every day. The beds, with feather duvets, were very comfortable, and the room was quite large by European standards (bedroom area 12 feet by 16 feet plus closet area, entry hall, and bathroom with tub/shower).

We especially enjoyed the included buffet breakfast that offered anything and everything a person could want. The buffet includes both hot and cold items, wonderful homemade Czech bakery, fresh fruits and juices, eggs, bacon, ham, sausage, pancakes, blintzes --- you name it, they had it!

The public areas of the hotel are modern and attractive, and we enjoyed the fact that there are lounge areas on every floor with comfortable leather sofas and chairs. Each evening our group of 6 met in the lounge on our floor for pre-dinner cocktails (we purchased our on wine, liquor, and snack goods at the grocery store next to the metro station two blocks from the hotel). The hotel bar provided buckets full of ice free of charge, and we used the glassware from our rooms. Of course, if you did not want to have a "do it yourself" gathering, the hotel has two lovely lounges where excellent drinks and refreshments are served.

We felt extremely safe in the hotel --- doormen always on duty, plenty of plain clothes security guards throught the hotel, and a key card system that allowed only guests to access the elevators.

Prague is an extraordinary city, but over the past 10 years it has become extremely expensive. There are many fine hotels throughout the city, but 4 and 5 star properties command high prices in season ($250 to $300 or more per night). The Hilton was an excellent value, especially considering the included breakfast, and we had no problem using their excellent hotel taxi service for transport to and from the restaurants we patronized in various parts of the city.

I would highly recommend the Prague Hilton to anyone who wants an attractive, safe, clean, efficient, and friendly hotel.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank MarkRatay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2005

Stayed at the Hilton for two nights in October. Atrium setting looks great but it goes slowly downhill from there. The room I was in had a rather moldy smell to it (rainy day) and room was fairly small. Warped floors, bathrobe that had some nasty stains on it, and loud construction noise during the late afternoon. The cafe, bar, and restaurant were overpriced and average at best. I can't really comment on anything positive about my experience there.

The hotel is definitely catered towards business guests. I wouldn't recommend it for those who are in Prague for vacation. There are much better hotels for the same price in better locations. Take a pass on the Hilton.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank boomzoom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2005

I decided to walk from the city centre to the Hilton. But had to turn back and take a big detour because I couldn't get past the major highway. Not really close to anything.

Added to this I was the victim of a bogus policeman scam on the way back to the hotel. Luckily my lonely planet guide warned me of this and I managed to come out with all my money.

The hotel is setup in an atrium style and my room a happened to be about 2 minutes walk from the elevator.

  • Stayed October 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Heng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2005

We had a very enjoyable stay here. The hotel is much like you would expect from a Hilton in terms of decoration. The room was spacious, clean and well layed out. The staff were pleasant. One bonus was the spa which was great (except for a couple of rather corpulent male guests ignoring the sign asking for guests to remain covered by a towel when in the sauna/steam room!!). The treatments were very relaxing and well received after a days sightseeing. The hotel is not right in the city centre but it is within an easy walk to much of the city and the Prague metro is incredibly easy to use.

  • Stayed February 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank SamanthaTh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2005

We stayed at Prague Hilton for 3 nights and were extremely disappointed - we had expected much, as we had stayed at another Hilton during our trip - in Bucharest- and it was excellent.
But Prague Hilton - what a disappointment - flash looking but rather tired and overdue for a refurb, also less than welcoming, generally understaffed in restaurants, on reception, and - particularly- on concierge desk. Room was reasonable - but certainly not good value at the prices.
And most annoying was the excessive prices charged for in-hotel activities i.e. for meals, drinks etc - way out of proportion, given the general low costs of Prague. The location of the hotel is not convenient, as it is a tram, metro or taxi ride into the centre of Prague - and talking of taxis, a most annoying feature was that only "hotel taxis" were available - and these charged 2 to 3 times the regular taxi fees - eg a taxi ride to a downtown retaurant cost 350 czk - the ride back in a cab called by the restaurant cost 98czk.
I have stayed at much better hotels in Prague - and certainly won't be returning to the Hilton

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank KevinMc5265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stl
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2005

The Hilton Prague was our location to meet up with 17 family members as we begin our Legendary Danube Cruise.

The Hilton is absolutely stunning. It is huge but still inviting and welcoming in its reception area and its lobby area. The rooms are large and decorated very tastefully. The elevators are secured by your room card for safety control and access. The spa area is large and connects to the indoor pool. We also enjoyed their bar area for a couple drinks - great musicians.

There is a nice breakfast buffet located in the Atrium Restaurant of the Hotel. The Hilton is conveniently located to the train station, the metro or the tram. We utilized the tram on most days.

Prague is huge and somehow in our minds we saw it completely different before arriving. We enjoyed a planned tour which defined certain sights we were interested in. The historic areas are incredible in their past history and stories - very interesting, but all sights and areas are extremely crowded. Prague very definitely is a shoppers haven - the stores, botiques, shops, market areas go on and on.

We tucked down the alleyways to find the more out of the way places with the exception of the beer hall U Flecka. We enjoyed two exceptional dinners at Karavella and also at Trogolites deep in a cellar cavernous setting. Excellent Pivo!

Helpful?
3 Thank luvtravelStl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Hilton Prague Old Town
Hilton Prague Old Town
#100 of 651 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,057 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
InterContinental Prague
InterContinental Prague
#96 of 651 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,421 reviews
Corinthia Hotel Prague
#161 of 651 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Art Deco Hotel Imperial
Art Deco Hotel Imperial
#48 of 651 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,723 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Grandior Hotel Prague
Grandior Hotel Prague
#83 of 651 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,031 reviews
Praha 2
Park Inn Hotel Prague
Park Inn Hotel Prague
#61 of 651 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Prague? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Prague

Property: Hilton Prague
Address: Pobrezni 1, Prague 186 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Nove Mesto (New Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Spa Hotel in Prague
#60 Business Hotel in Prague
#80 Family Hotel in Prague
#102 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#114 Luxury Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Prague 5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Prague is a perfect base to discover the beauties of Prague. It is located within walking distance to the city centre full of local attractions, shops and a lively night scene. Hilton Prague houses 3 restaurants and 2 bars including the 24-hour Cafe Bistro, CzecHouse Grill & Rotisserie with modern international cuisine and Czech specialties, offers panoramic views from its award-winning Cloud 9 Sky Bar & Lounge, the Zest Bar and 24-hour Room Service. Every morning you can enjoy a rich buffet breakfast at Atrium restaurant. All rooms provide high-speed internet access, with a choice of a wired or wireless connection (Fee applies). A state-of-the-art fitness centre with cardiovascular machines, an indoor swimming pool and a spa centre are at your disposal. Massages are available as well. This hotel offers 37 individual conference and meeting rooms as well as Congress Hall and a Hilton Grand Ballroom, the Hilton Prague Czech Republic hotel is the perfect choice to host any event, whether for business or pleasure. Hilton Prague Hotel was awarded: WORLD TRAVEL AWARDS 2015 - Czech Republic's Leading Hotel 2016 BUSINESS TRAVELLER MAGAZINE AWARDS 2016 - Best Business Hotel in Eastern Europe 2016 TRIPADVISOR CERTIFICATE OF EXCELLENCE 2016 - Certificate of Excellence, 6 years in a row BUSINESS DESTINATION TRAVEL AWARDS 2015 - Best Business Hotel, Czech Republic 2015 TTG TRAVEL AWARDS 2015 - Best Business and Congress Hotel in Czech Republic ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hilton Prague reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Prague Hotel Prague
Hilton International Prague
Prague Hilton International
Hilton Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing