We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very bad reception desk services”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Prague Old Town
Ranked #132 of 670 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Bucharest
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very bad reception desk services”
Reviewed September 7, 2008

Very bad reception desk services, I was dissapointed. We spend 45 minutes to check in. The breakfast was very good and restaurant services OK but is too expensive for what they offer. I will not come back.

  • Liked — Breakfast
  • Disliked — Recption desk services
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank JulY I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,572 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,213
    1,571
    527
    169
    92
See reviews for
801
1,466
206
1,279
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (724)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2008

We got booked into a hotel in Prague which was not to our liking so we went online and found that the Hilton had a great deal for a superior room. Please note that there are two Hiltons in Prague, one in the Old Town and one just a few blocks outside the Old Town. The one we booked into was outside the Old Town near the Florenc subway station.

The Hilton more than made up for the other hotel we had been booked into. The Hilton is modern, excellent gym, pool, hot tub, sauna, spa, restaurants and bars. The staff were excellent. The concierge was extremely helpful with directions and tours and assisted me when my son was not well. If you can get a room which looks on to the outside that would be better but looking on to the inside is very acceptable.

The room was great except for the smell of cigarette smoke which seemed to permeate the whole hotel not just our room. The in-room safe was large enough for a laptop. Use the housecoats and slippers provided to go the pool.

The breakfast buffet was excellent and the chef's made to order egg whites were most appreciated. All of the restaurant staff were well trained, spoke English and made sure that we were well looked after.

A Billa grocery store and the Florenc subway station is a 5 minute walk away. Use the subways and street cars in Prague. They are easy to use. The only thing is that you need to have coins to by tickets and coins are sometimes hard to come by. Try to get some at the Hilton Reception desk before you leave. Also they may have transit tickets at the Concierge desk. They can advise you as to what ticket you should purchase from the automated machines.

Try eating at the Cafe Imperial which is about 10 minutes away. and you may be treated to an impromptu concert by two of the waiters singing in Czech and English. They were great. Also for a 5 star meal experience go to Fransouskca at Republic Square. Very expensive but worth every cent. Try some of the local Czech wines while you are there.

Take a city bus tour and a cruise on the river. Prague is an exceptional city to visit. Do not try to visit the Castle Cathedral on a Sunday as the lineups are enormous.

Staying at the Hilton allowed us to rest well after all of our touring.

The Florenc subway station will easily connect you to the Holsevice Train Station. Very easy to use.

I would recommend staying at the Prague Hilton.

  • Liked — Great quality and location
  • Disliked — smell of cigarette smoke
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank MButler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
205 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2008

My wife and I recently spent four nights at the Hilton Prague, the hotel being chosen by our travel agent. The hotel's location is fine, being very close to the Metro and a short walking distance to the old town, River etc (15-25 minutes). The facilities at the hotel are typical of a five star establishment. The hotel staff are friendly but not effusive, Our room was roomy, clean and comfortable with the normal facilities. Unfortunately for us, the hotel is typical of a corporate hotel tat caters mainly for corporate executives (or government employees) with company paid expense accounts. Everything in this hotel is very expensive (even by European standards)- the restaurants, mini bar, internet usage and if you are spending a few days in Prague, eat out or buy your supplies from the supermarket accross from the hotel. The hotel has good facilities and the breakfasts are excellent. What it lacks though is charm...and no local character. On our next visit to Prague we will look for a hotel that has a local flavour and where hopefully we can experience something diferent from the corporate, stereotype hotel that could be situated in any of the major cities of the world.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Aussie-Traveller3121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2008

We stay at this hotels for 3 night in March before our Danube River Cruise. We told them that it was our wedding anniversary and they upgrade us to the room with the view with a complimentary champagne upon arrival with a note from hotel manager. It was a nice touch. I did not expect that since I booked this hotel through priceline and we pay less than half price on what other website charge.

The room was very nice. The bed was comfortable. The stuffs very friendly and helpful especially the Concierge level name Jan. He went out of his way to help us. We had some problem with our travel agency that we booked the river cruise with and we had to called the US. He offer us to use a phone called at the front desk. We was on the long distant phone call for 45 minutes when our travel agency try to figure out how to help us. He not even charge us for the phone call. Later he make the arrangement for us to have Hilton taxi driver to drive us to Nuremberg, Germany for our river cruise trip. No, it not free. Our travel agency reimburse us later. The taxi driver was so polite and very knowledgeable about his country. We had a wonderful 4 hours ride with the taxi driver.

The location is very convenience. There is the short cut to go to the train station. If you go 1 floor down from the lobby and walk across street, then walk right in to the building in front of you. You will found the convenience store on your right (the price very reasonable if you want to buy something). Then you keep walking you will see the train station. It is shorter distant than walk out from the lobby level.

I consider my stay with Hilton Prague and the experience on our stay to be one of the best hotel experience we ever had. If I ever go back to Prague again I will definitely stay at this hotel.

I had such a good experience with the service. I want to make sure that I let other people know.

  • Liked — Room and Service
  • Disliked — None
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank travelbug2225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
92 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2008

Stayed a week here beginning August 3rd. As Hilton Gold, we were upgraded and checked in at the Concierge level, away from the rabble downstairs. From beginning to end, the service was wonderful! We upgraded to a suite and the extra room is well worth the additional funds. Breakfast, afternoon desserts, and evening hors d'oerves provided both high quality meals and welcome service by a staff of true professionals. Gym/spa area top quality though same cannot be said for many guests sloshing around in the pool. I thought someone might have harpooned one of the pasty white Belugas we observed frolicking; poor thing's boyfriend must have been blind to be seen with what looked like a smooth iceberg. Would absolutely stay there again but only at the executive floor level.

  • Liked — Best concierge and executive level staff
  • Disliked — American tourists
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rollo_orlando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chalfont St Peter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2008

This is a business hotel. If you're a tourist, looking for charm or location, go for something in, or close to, the old town.

As a business hotel (particularly if you have meetings in the office park nearby), this works well. It's not the best Hilton I've stayed in - there are several better - but it's not bad. Rooms are reasonably comfortable for rest or repose, and well-maintained. Bathrooms are modern, with good-quality facilities.

Service is good, both at front desk and in other areas - surprisingly good for such a large place.

I found the lounge rather disappointing - at least for breakfast, it was extremely busy and left me wondering whether the restaurant might actually have been quieter!

I chose this hotel for this trip because my meetings were close by, and I was happy with it. However, for meetings elsewhere in the city, I choose other hotels so that I can soak up some of the wonderful Prague atmosphere.

  • Liked — Functionality
  • Disliked — lack of atmosphere
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank chilternwelshman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2008

It´s a good hotel for business but there is a 20 minute walk to the center of the city, so maybe no so good for tourism.

The bedrooms are very nice, enough big, comfortable beds and all is very clean.

In the breakfast there were a big variety of choices. But to eat in the hotel is pretty expensive (16€ for 1 sandwich).

and use internet is even more expensive.....6€ per 15 minutes

  • Liked — rooms, breakfast
  • Disliked — restaurant, minibar and internet prices
  • Stayed June 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank oscarMadrid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Hilton Prague Old Town
Hilton Prague Old Town
#100 of 670 in Prague
3,007 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
InterContinental Prague
InterContinental Prague
#101 of 670 in Prague
2,389 reviews
Corinthia Hotel Prague
#153 of 670 in Prague
3,158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Art Deco Hotel Imperial
Art Deco Hotel Imperial
#45 of 670 in Prague
2,695 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Grandior Hotel Prague
Grandior Hotel Prague
#82 of 670 in Prague
3,967 reviews
Praha 2
Park Inn Hotel Prague
Park Inn Hotel Prague
#63 of 670 in Prague
2,188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Prague Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Prague Old Town

Property: Hilton Prague Old Town
Address: Pobrezni 1, Prague 186 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Spa Hotel in Prague
#60 Business Hotel in Prague
#80 Family Hotel in Prague
#102 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#113 Luxury Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Prague Old Town 5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Prague is a perfect base to discover the beauties of Prague. It is located within walking distance to the city centre full of local attractions, shops and a lively night scene. Hilton Prague houses 3 restaurants and 2 bars including the 24-hour Cafe Bistro, CzecHouse Grill & Rotisserie with modern international cuisine and Czech specialties, offers panoramic views from its award-winning Cloud 9 Sky Bar & Lounge, the Zest Bar and 24-hour Room Service. Every morning you can enjoy a rich buffet breakfast at Atrium restaurant. All rooms provide high-speed internet access, with a choice of a wired or wireless connection (Fee applies). A state-of-the-art fitness centre with cardiovascular machines, an indoor swimming pool and a spa centre are at your disposal. Massages are available as well. This hotel offers 37 individual conference and meeting rooms as well as Congress Hall and a Hilton Grand Ballroom, the Hilton Prague Czech Republic hotel is the perfect choice to host any event, whether for business or pleasure. Hilton Prague Hotel was awarded: WORLD TRAVEL AWARDS 2015 - Czech Republic's Leading Hotel 2016 BUSINESS TRAVELLER MAGAZINE AWARDS 2016 - Best Business Hotel in Eastern Europe 2016 TRIPADVISOR CERTIFICATE OF EXCELLENCE 2016 - Certificate of Excellence, 6 years in a row BUSINESS DESTINATION TRAVEL AWARDS 2015 - Best Business Hotel, Czech Republic 2015 TTG TRAVEL AWARDS 2015 - Best Business and Congress Hotel in Czech Republic ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Prague Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Prague Hotel Prague
Hilton International Prague
Prague Hilton International
Hilton Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing