We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (447)
Filter reviews
447 results
Traveler rating
374
67
5
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
374
67
5
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprague castlecharles bridgenerudova streetwalk downhillold townglass of proseccospecial thanksmain townlovely hotelhigh ceilingsstrahov monasterytop floortea and coffee facilitieslesser towncorner roomczech beerdouble windows
Filter
Updating list...
72 - 77 of 447 reviews
Reviewed December 8, 2017

Just down the hill from the Prague Castle and up the hill from the Charles Bridge is this hotel which makes it easy to get around to the sights of Prague. The hotel staff were most helpful in providing friendly, helpful guidance with timely information about their city. Our room was larger than we expected, with a comfortable bed, clean linens and large ensuite with toiletries. The included breakfast was first rate and we were given breakfast to go on leaving early in the morning of our flight. Our trip is memorable because of the staff, the hotel and the city.

  • Stayed: November 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank pjbarrett37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2017

Our first trip away together.
A fantastic location - half way up the hill next to Prague castle, with a stunning view over the city (only from the deluxe rooms)

We had a standard room, and our windows faced to a wall, but it was still incredibly bright, and wasn't overlooked by passers by.
It was completely sound proof, and the perfect temperature.
Tea and coffee facilities were provided, including fruit and green teas, and some biscuits. There was also a bottle of water, a bottle of sparkling water and a bottle of wine.
All greatly appreciated.

The hotels website gives you a great set of directions from the airport straight to the hotel - it worked perfectly.
Take the 119 bus from the airport to the city centre, then the subway, and then tram 22 - it really is so easy (and cheap)!

The hill is steep, we tended to walk down towards the Charles Bridge, and towards the end of the day we used the tram system to head back up to the top of the hill and enjoy a walk downwards towards the hotel.
We occasionally managed the stumble back up though.

The staff on reception were fantastic. So friendly and knowledgeable.
A true credit to the hotel.

We wished we'd spent longer in Prague, and have talked about our plans to return. We would most certainly book at this hotel again.

The breakfast was suitable - a small buffet that changes every day.
Tea and coffee available, along with fresh orange juice and sparkling wine/prosecco.
Mixture of cooked food (sausage, bacon, eggs) with cold meats, cheese, breads, toaster and cakes.

Overall, stunning hotel with wonderful staff, which aided in a perfect trip!

Room Tip: deluxe rooms have city view only.
  • Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Addie Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2017

A great find through booking.com. Perfect location for the castle and cathedral and walk down to the Charles Bridge and on to the Old Town. Steep walk back to the hotel which we didn't find too hard but the hotel staff gave us directions should we want to catch the tram 22 to the top of the hill and walk down if we needed to.

Hotel was exceptionally clean, modern and the complimentary bottle of wine was a nice touch. Buffet breakfast was great with a huge choice of hot and cold items. Finally the staff were so helpful, particularly Ivan and Renata who checked us in, offered us a glass of bubbly, took the time to explain the maps and give us their advice on Czech beer.

A note to travellers, we found public transport really simple just purchase a timed ticket and remember to validate it when you get on bus/subway/tram. You need a 90 minute ticket from the airport to the hotel. Tickets can be bought at machines at the stops or from minimarts etc.

Room Tip: we had room 34, third floor. The room looked out the front of the hotel with spectacular views across Prague
  • Stayed: December 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JacquiEdenbridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2017

Golden Star is a very clean and charming boutique hotel. Nice location and easy walking distance to Old Town and all the sites. Really nice breakfast and staff that prepared my latte with soy creamer and brought to our table. The only minor inconvenience was that our 2 suitcases (one large and one medium) were too big to fit inside the closet, and there wasn't enough space in the room to lay them out.

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank morrill_cdm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2017 via mobile

This is the best choice if you are looking for a really 4 star hotel in the heart of Prague with excellent service. All of the staff was absolutely top class. Our room had a magnificent view of the old city (room 42 at the top floor). Breakfast is more than abundant. It is not just a value for money choice-it is the best choice in Prague...

Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Yannis P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews