We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location, good breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Esplanade Prague
Ranked #242 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Perfect location, good breakfast”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Location is biggest advantage of this property. You are in the centre of the city, but you have no problem with parking (10 EUR for 1 night is fair price). We stayed for 2 nighst. Our room was situated on 4th floor, room equipment was ok, the only 1 thing - 5* hotel has to have separate toillet from bathroom. We had slipper and bahtrobes in our room, they offer aslo very good hotel cosmetics.
Mattress in you room was uneven, so I slept in a "valley".
Breakfast - one of the best I have ever ate in Prag.
Restaurant is quite overpriced - 1 beer 6 EUR, tea 4 EUR.
Wi-fi - worked well.
I can suggest to all business travellers. Have expectation for 4* hotel (but this is a problem with 90 % of Prag 5* hotel, they are miles away from 5* EU standards).

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Esplanade_CZ, Director of Sales at Hotel Esplanade Prague, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

Let me thank you for staying at Hotel Esplanade Prague and sharing your valuable comments.

I gladly read your review and was pleased to learn that the location and parking possibility were to your satisfaction. With regards to the comment about separate toilet from bathroom unfortunately we cannot make it due to historical building. We very appreciate that the breakfast selection exceed your expectation.

Thank you for sharing your nice feedback with fellow travellers, and giving us the chance to read about your experience.

Kindest regards,

Miroslava Kovacikova
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    175
    63
    16
    16
See reviews for
92
176
28
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Stayed for two nights at this hotel during the recent UEFA super cup. Its located in the heart of the city and adjacent to the main rail station as well as close to countless restaurants. Staff were very courteous and helpful and the room was clean and comfortable but found to be quite compact and on the small side considering the price. The inclusive breakfast was nice and had a variety of tasty local breads and other assortments and started the day off right. Lots of places to eat at within walking distance so did not have the opportunity to try the hotel's evening dining menu.The hotel is close to a lot of old city history spots and serves as an excellent location to explore the city on foot as well as for shopping ventures.

Room Tip: get a room facing the city, not the inner building square
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brhclw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Esplanade_CZ, Director of Sales at Hotel Esplanade Prague, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for choosing Hotel Esplanade Prague during your visit to the Czech Republic, and for taking the time to share with us your very kind feedback regarding your stay.

It was indeed a pleasure for me to note that you took advantage of our central location, and you had a nice time with us. I happy that we contributed to your enjoyable visit to Prague concerning UEFA cup and I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again to our property in the future.

Kind regards from Prague,

Miroslava Kovacikova
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

It isn't at all a 5***** hotel. Because you don’t have slippery , bath robe , coffee/tea maker and for the safe box you must to pay 4 euro/day. The toiletries are basically.
Breakfast is good expect the espresso that you must to pay extra.
Overall the hotel is clean, the staff very friendly , the location is close to the main attractions, but don’t expect 5***** facilities (no any kind of Spa facilities and limited parking places)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nml26_Romania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Esplanade_CZ, Director of Sales at Hotel Esplanade Prague, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for choosing Hotel Esplanade Prague for your stay and for sharing your experiences with us. I was happy to learn, you took advantage of our central location.

I was delighted to read that you like service of the our staff and cleanes of the hotel. On the other hand I truly regret, that we did not meet your expectations in terms of rooms. We do not provide tea and coffee facilities in the room but for confort of the guest is availabe room service. Regarding the other items are availabe on the request .

I trust you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back in the Hotel Esplanade in the future to show you we can do better.


Kindest regards,

Miroslava Kovacikova
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gateshead, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 15, 2013

This is our third stay at the Esplanade. Although it is right in the heart of Prague it is on a quiet street and is brilliantly positioned for the main train station and Wenceslas square. As usual the hotel was immaculately clean and is beautiful, although old fashioned. The decor in the cafe/bar and restaurant is superb 1920's that my wife and I love but may not be to everyone's taste. The rooms are nicely done out and well prepared. When it suddenly rained heavily we decided to dine in the restaurant and were rewarded with a superb meal. For some reason the restaurant has always been quiet but we have now had 3 high quality dinners. The buffet breakfast is also very good with a wide range of fruits, cereals and fried offerings (eg. There were fried, boiled and scrambed eggs as well as omelettes, massive choice). There isn't a gym, or spool/spa which I would like. The staff are very attentive and our waiter/barman Tomas is a superb professional. Not the cheapest hotel my wife and I keep coming back here as we know what expect. We love it.

Room Tip: Many rooms face an inner courtyard which is quieter but we prefer a front facing room that looks tow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darren D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Esplanade_CZ, Director of Sales at Hotel Esplanade Prague, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for sharing your very nice feedback with fellow travelers, and giving us the chance to read about your experience.

It was a pleasure to read that you comming back to us and your satifiction of our sevices and taste of the hotel decor.I am also very pleased to hear our Team made you feel comfortable and at ease, specially Tomas. I am looking forward to sharing your feedback with all of my colleagues.


We are looking forward to welcome you in our hotel soon.


With kind regards,

Miroslava Kovacikova
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Our recent stay at the Esplanade was very comfortable. The hotel is at the centre of Prague with easy reach to main attractions. Quiet surroundings with no noise despite close to the main train station. Our Junior deluxe suite was clean and spacious. All the staff were courteous and helpful. The breakfast and food in the French restaurant were good. One of us is allergic to lactose and the chef prepared non lactose meal which was very helpful.
A kettle to make tea and coffee at the room would have been more convenient. We were told that due to safety issues this will not be possible. Hand sanitiser should be included in the toiletries in the bath room. Overall, a comfortable stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 193ap_67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level 5 Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Having booked this “five star” hotel in Prague, including parking space, we were expecting something appropriate. However, when we arrived to the hotel late at night by car with two little children, we were highly surprised, because there were no parking for us, and moreover – an administrator informed us, that it is necessary to pay extra 9% commission above the booking price, in case if we would like to pay in Euros instead of Czech Crones. Be aware about that, before you choose this hotel!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nikolay_Suslov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
1 review
Reviewed July 30, 2013

I was very surprised with the amount for the mini bar - 500 euro. I think it's not polite to the guests of the hotel. The hotel can just show our account after living. The hotel of 5 stars must be more responsible.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Madina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Esplanade_CZ, Director of Sales at Hotel Esplanade Prague, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for choosing Hotel Esplanade Prague for your stay in the Czech Republic.

We believe that you have nice stay with us and we meet your expectations. If you allow me to elaborate further to your comments according the policy of the hotel we authorise amount of money that depends on the length of stay, for some incidental or additional services which guest might have. After the investigation, you stayed with us for 10 days that the reason why the amount was higher.

We will be happy to welcome you back in the future.

Kindest regards,

Miroslava Kovacikova
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Occidental Praha Wilson
Occidental Praha Wilson
#125 of 649 in Prague
215 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Hotel Sovereign
Hotel Sovereign
#96 of 649 in Prague
794 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Falkensteiner Hotel Maria Prag
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Jalta Boutique Hotel
Jalta Boutique Hotel
#105 of 649 in Prague
1,270 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Art Nouveau Palace Hotel
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Exe City Park Prague
Exe City Park Prague
#164 of 649 in Prague
659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Esplanade Prague? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Esplanade Prague

Property: Hotel Esplanade Prague
Address: Washingtonova 1600/19, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Nove Mesto (New Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #242 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Esplanade Prague 5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The luxury Hotel Esplanade Praha, located right in the heart of Prague's historical centre is more than ready to take care of its valued guests. In 2008 all rooms have been newly renovated and equipped with all modern amenities such as air conditioning or LCD television of 32" and more. Allow yourself to be carried away by the atmosphere of the twenties when the hotel was opened. Free use of WIFI in all guest rooms and public area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Fastbooking, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Esplanade Prague reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing