We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avarage with a few positive points”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Vienna House Diplomat Prague
Ranked #200 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 6 Contributor
84 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Avarage with a few positive points”
Reviewed December 9, 2011

The hotel is old and a little shabby and could certainly benefit from a "make over". a few positive points: breakfast, the coffee shop and breakfast restaurants's design as libraries- loved the idea! last- very helpful and nice reception team.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xipto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diplomat011, General Manager at Vienna House Diplomat Prague, responded to this review, December 23, 2011
Dear guest,

I would like to thank you for your constructive feedback about your recent stay in our hotel. We really appreciate all comments from our valued guest as it helps to focus on areas of improvement as well as improve our overall performance. Our hotel is one of the largest hotels in Prague and we aim at providing the best possible service for our valued guests. I am delighted that you did like our restaurant design, our highest goal is to make our guests feel at home.

Yours sincerely,

Mathieu Rouri
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,560 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    458
    679
    287
    93
    42
See reviews for
174
560
89
411
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kaiserslautern, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2011

We stayed in this hotel for 3 nights. It is within a stone-throw of the Metro and Tram stops that can take you to the Prague Castle or downtown Old/Wencesles Squares. Prague castle can be seen from the hotel, it is perhaps, 10-12 minute tram ride. Downtown squares are around 20 minute ride, but on the tram it's a neat way to see the city. I'd venture to say the metro is a bit more quick not having to deal with traffic lights and such as the tram does.

Beautiful hotel, they host a lot of conventions due to the large conference center they have on location. We felt very safe, often traveling at night due to early sunset in the late year.

The room was comfortable, lobby was beautiful, onsite gift shop and restaurant. The breakfast was fantastic! English, French, American, German, Czech Breakfast bars, along with a large fruit bar, antipasta bar, cereal, granola...so much I cannot list. It is the largest we have ever seen, it's the main reason I booked the hotel. Onsite parking is minimal, I highly suggest making reservation including parking special. Room was clean, beds were a bit hard, but that is normal in Europe. My only complaint is that internet is hook up in the room and it's 12 euros a night. The lobby offers free wifi internet, however. The staff were fantastic, nice and accomodating. We would stay there again.

Room Tip: If you are driving, take a look at booking.com and select the special room rate including parking. Y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PixieTravelGuRu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diplomat011, General Manager at Vienna House Diplomat Prague, responded to this review, December 23, 2011
Dear guest,

thank you for sharing your valuable feedback about your recent stay in our hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel to the fullest. Moreover, your satisfaction is our motivation! Therefore, we will pass your comments on to our management teams.

We are looking forward to welcoming you in our house again!

Sincerely,

Mathieu Rouri
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed November 28, 2011

Best holiday ever...

the Diplomat Hotel, I flew from London for a few days, I visited a couple of my friends, I stayed in this hotel and I was very pleasantly surprised.

Hotel taxi service from the airport took me out and helped me with luggage at the entrance, where they were soon joined porter.
At the reception I was very pleasantly welcomed by the receptionist and concierge, who were amazingly nice. What surprised me was that the focus on detail and have a positive attitude and smile. The reception but later.

The room was very nice and cozy with a nice view , the bar and restaurant with breakfast, I was abnormally happy.

Extra service reception, however, prepared team.With all helped me and showed also gave an excellent interpretation of the hotel. Anything I needed was available to all, really good quality hotel with even better quality staff. (Katarina, Zdenna, George,Jakub,Teresa, many others ...)people were beatifu
Thanks Diplomat Hotel I recommend and certainly do not see last time.

I wish hotel Diplomat all the best and soon also Happy New Year... :)

With king Regards
Cynthia :)

Room Tip: I am think that all the rooms are great ... :) but I¨ve got such a big room :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CynthiaL844
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diplomat011, General Manager at Vienna House Diplomat Prague, responded to this review, November 30, 2011
Dear Cynthia,

thank you very much for sharing your feedback with us and other travelers. We are really delighted to read about your memorable experience. Your satisfaction is our motivation! Therefore, I will pass your comments on to our whole team.

Thank you once again for your great contribution,we are very much looking forward to welcoming you back in our hotel.

Your sincerely,

Mathieu Rouri
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2011

I stay in this hotel several times per year because I have an office nearby. The hotel is always reliably clean and comfortable to stay at. Underground parking for extra fee. Do not park outside - cars get stolen and broken in to. Nice breakfast. On tram line to city center. Also one block from metro station.

Room Tip: always use AAA taxi - they are not rigging their meters like other taxi firms may do.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VooDooTravelPro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diplomat011, General Manager at Vienna House Diplomat Prague, responded to this review, November 30, 2011
Dear Sir,

thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience from your stay at Diplomat Hotel Prague with us. We were pleased to read about your positive experience at our hotel. I would like to mention that our hotel is located in a diplomatic district with very nice neighbourhood. We have not experienced any problems when guests are parking their cars outside the hotel. However in order to provide our guests with secure and comfortable parking spaces we do offer underground parking for our guests.

Thank you once again for your kind contribution. I am very much looking forward to welcoming you at our hotel again soon!

Yours sincerely,

Mathieu Rouri
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyon, France
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2011

Positive points =

1) Friendly staff (well those who bring room service anyway!).
2) OK location, not great but there is a metro stop next door which is 3 stops from the main square
3) Good internet in the rooms, however, I couldn't use wifi in room 820 (with cable no problem but I would have prefered wifi).

Negative points =

1) My original flight got cancelled so I had to change my pickup time. I first called them to cancel my pick up. Then my flight got cancelled again the next day so I emailed from my Blackberry to cancel my pickup again (at 4.30am). My message was sent no problem. I was in Romania on a business trip and had to take a taxi to Budapest from the North of Romania at 5am to get to Budapest to catch my connecting flight. When I called the hotel to arrange another pickup, the man at the concierge desk had a go at me saying that I should have called. After my nightmare of a journey to get to the hotel, this was all the man had to say to me. I was FURIOUS!!!!! Very poor service and not appreciated.

2) Put a don't disturb sign up on your door in the morning. Otherwise at around 8am the maid will knock on your door to check the minibar!!! How stupid is that? I have stayed in a LOT of hotels in Eastern Europe and this is the first time it has happened to me. Why wake people up to check the minibar at 8am???

3) They have a kettle in the room (superior room). However, you cannot pull the kettle out. It is stuck one of the cupboard shelves. So you have to pull the cupboard shelf out a bit to "activate" the kettle. How ridiculous is this??????

4) Breakfast food wasn't tasty and the restaurant is old and needs renevating.

In general, I would not recommend this hotel to anyone. I would much rather stay at the K + K hotel in Prague which is next to the main square and is much more modern, convenient and friendly!!

Room Tip: Choose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AmykWong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diplomat011, General Manager at Vienna House Diplomat Prague, responded to this review, November 25, 2011
Dear Madam,

thank you for your constructive feedback about your recent stay at our hotel. We really appreciate all comments from our valued guests as they help us to focus on areas of improvement.

I sincerely apologise for the problems you encountered and thank you for bringing these matters to my attention.

I have personally checked the breakfast buffet in regards of food quality and we launched corrective actions.

Concerning the kettle in the cupboard shelf – it is a security arrangement to ensure fire prevention for our clients.

We are also currently working on a project of Wi-Fi connection in our superior rooms so that our costumers will soon have wireless internet connection available there.

We hope to be able to welcome you soon again at our Diplomat hotel in order to convince you from our offer.

I assure you of my best attention at all times.

Yours sincerely,

Mathieu Rouri
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2011

This is a nice, adequate hotel. The rooms are decent. The breakfast is good. The staff are friendly and very helpful, with good English skills.

The gym doesn't open until 7:00am, which is a problem for business travelers.

The hotel is located 20 minutes from the airport (depending on traffic). Unfortunately, it isn't located anywhere near the city center, so if you were hoping to walk to Prague's incredible sights, this hotel is not for you.

Amazingly enough, it has a world-class sushi restaurant. I have eaten in some of the best sushi restaurants in Tokyo and around to world, and I can assure you, this fish is fresh.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sc43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diplomat011, General Manager at Vienna House Diplomat Prague, responded to this review, November 24, 2011
Dear guest

I would like to thank you for taking the time to submit feedback about your recent stay in our hotel. I would like to point out that we are located only two metro stops or 10 minutes by walk from the Prague castle area. Also the metro station is located just around the corner from the hotel and transportation tickets are available at our front desk. We are proud to have the ideal location to the airportconnection as well as to the main sights of our beautiful city.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and we am very much looking forward to welcoming you in our hotel again soon!

Yours sincerely,

Mathieu Rouri
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2011

This hotel was part of an arranged tour including Prague. Our group stayed here three nights. Overall it was a comfortable hotel. The rooms were nice but showing age. Breakfast and dinner were included. Both meals were very fine, although restaurants would give a better flavor of the local cuisine..

The hotel is accessible to the tourist areas through the Metro (2 or 3 stops, 26 krona each way). It is not walking distance. The area is not very attractive, with trams running up and down and much traffic. There is a residential area with shopping available nearby (other side of Metro).

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vatraveler050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diplomat011, General Manager at Vienna House Diplomat Prague, responded to this review, November 24, 2011
Dear Sir,

thank you very much for your positive comment on Tripadvisor. We were delighted you enjoyed your stay at Diplomat Hotel.

We highly appreciate the comments we receive as we always strive to improve our products and services.

Thank you once again for your great contribution. We am very much looking forward to welcoming you in our hotel again soon!

Yours sincerely,

Mathieu Rouri
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Praha 6
Hotel International Prague
Praha 6
Hotel DAP
Hotel DAP
#230 of 649 in Prague
194 reviews
Praha 5
angelo by Vienna House Prague
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Praha 5
Vienna House Andel's Prague
Praha 5
NH Prague City
NH Prague City
#150 of 649 in Prague
1,899 reviews
Praha 6
Orea Hotel Pyramida
Orea Hotel Pyramida
#218 of 649 in Prague
1,011 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vienna House Diplomat Prague? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vienna House Diplomat Prague

Property: Vienna House Diplomat Prague
Address: Evropska 370/15, Prague 160 00, Czech Republic (Formerly Diplomat Hotel)
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 6
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#140 Business Hotel in Prague
#167 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#202 Romantic Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Vienna House Diplomat Prague 4*
Number of rooms: 398
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-star Diplomat Hotel Prague is one of the largest hotels in Prague. It is renowned for its excellent conference and event facilities. Surrounded mainly by diplomatic residences and its location close to Prague castle, to the historical city centre and to the international airport, the hotel constitutes the perfect place for business as well as individual city travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Vienna House Diplomat Prague reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diplomat Hotel Prague
Golden Tulip Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing