We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wouldn't change a thing!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cloister Inn Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cloister Inn Hotel
Ranked #94 of 669 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wouldn't change a thing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Myself and four friends went to Prague for a short trip and stayed at the Cloister Inn, and it was the best decision we had ever made!
The staff were extremely friendly, and showed no hesitation in helping us with any enquiries at all. The location of the hotel couldn't of been better, as we were interested in going out and drinking, as well as shopping, there were many bars and clubs within a short walking distance from the hotel, also were the main shopping centres. The breakfast in the morning was always fresh, and covering a great variety of choice.
I shared a triple bedroom with two friends, which was very spacious and comfortable. The cleaners did an excellent job, as well as replacing the towels everyday which before I have not experienced in other hotels.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Phoebe H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,690 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    839
    708
    115
    23
    5
See reviews for
212
875
79
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014 via mobile

Really liked this hotel. It was so central to everything. Rooms basic but very clean, nice Shower. Breakfast lovely, nice continental. I stayed in a five star hotel in Prague a few months ago, but if I was coming back, I would choose this hotel. Friendly staff.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank SusieBucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, UK
Level Contributor
61 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

This is an excellent modestly priced hotel. As two couples visiting Prague for a 3 night stay, we booked a triple room for each couple because, like most people, we appreciate a little more room. It was well worth the extra, still being very reasonable for what the hotel has to offer. On entering the room there was a large area with a single bed, a writing desk and 3 comfortable chairs, a good size wardrobe (with safe), a small fridge where we chilled a bottle of wine, and a TV with English channels. The air conditioning was efficient and the bathroom (shower) adequate and very clean. The double bedroom set off of this area was very comfortable.

The foyer offers comfortable seating, with a selection of tea & coffee available 24/7. The computer room has 3 computers for guest use, all attached to a printer so that we were able to print our boarding passes for the return flight without hassle.

Breakfast was self service in a room that reminded us of a school hall, but the staff were excellent: friendly; efficient; topping up supplies and clearing tables frequently. The only suggestion we'd make is that the toaster is moved from it's corner location, as this did create queues and bottle-necks at times while guests waited for toast to cook. The food on offer was very good and plentiful. Especially appreciated by us were several types of crispbreads as an alternative to toast as my husband and I both don't tolerate yeast breads!

Reception staff were superb, as were the restaurant staff and any housekeeping staff we met. The hotel is very well situated for seeing the best of Prague and the receptionists gave lots of useful information and made bookings etc for us. We would certainly consider visiting again.

Two restaurants visited during our stay deserve special mention. 'School' close to the hotel side of the Charles Bridge and the 'Imperial Hotel Cafe Restaurant' at Hotel Imperial. Both served excellent food at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Only2FlyingPigs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

We decided to visit Prague on a long weekend and we chose the Cloister inn as it seemed like a nice place and was reasonably close to the old town square. Best decision we have ever made!!!!

The hotel is literally 3 minutes away from the river, with its amazing walks and parks. Go the other way and you are 10 minutes away from the old town square with its old clock tower and the majestic gothic cathedral. Location is the key with this hotel, but the rest doesn't fall behind. The lobby is recently renovated to a high standard and offer complimentary coffee and tea 24/7, as well as computer/printer access. Rooms are small but comfortable with everything needed for a short break - AC, flat screen TV, nice and clean bathroom and comfy bed. Complimentary beer and soft drinks on arrival makes it even better after a long fight.

Staff are a delight, always willing to help with great advice. We arrived early and they locked our bags in the luggage room, making it comfortable for us to go for a short walk until the room was ready. After checkout we left our bags again, only to pick them up in the evening, when it was time for our flight.

Breakfast is included and is good quality continental food ranging from different types of cheese and salami/hams to sausages eggs and beans. (Breakfast is on flour 4 so I would assume it gets pretty noisy there in the morning). We had room 317, which was small but comfortable, very clean and tidy. Mini fridge in the room enabled us to get drinks from shop outside and enjoy quite nights in when we fancied.

Overall this hotel is an amazing value for money, very clean and tidy, right in the middle of the old city! Anyone who overlooks this hotel will make a massive mistake and we strongly recommend it to anyone who doesn't like spending massive amounts on a hotel, but still enjoys being right in the mix of things!

Room Tip: Avoid 4th floor as the breakfast is served there and might get a bit noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TsAleksandrov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

We stayed in Apartment 2 which was such a lovely room. Complimentary drinks in the mini fridge upon arrival, safe and large wardrobe space. We had a sofa, desk and television (with English channels) and the bathroom was spacious and extremely clean. The breakfast was extensive and delicious with very friendly staff. The stand out was the lobby area with tea and coffee machine, plush sofas and a computer room. The lobby staff were extremely helpful, with one lady exchanging our 3 day travel ticket for a 90 minute one to prevent us from wasting money. They gave out excellent recommendations with comprehensive directions and were very easy to talk to. Will definitely book here again when I return to Prague- the location was extremely central.

Room Tip: Try for an apartment if in a party of two
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank accioastra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surabaya
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

I stayed in this hotel during my summer vacation. The receptionist was so friendly and willing to show the tourist attractions close to the hotel. You may buy public transportation ticket at the receptionist as well. One unique thing that I loved much from this hotel, they served free coffe at the hotel lobby.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Priyanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaftesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
132 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

As most of the other reviews say. Perfect location, amenable and helpful staff, room clean and large, breakfast has a good choice, free hot drinks and wifi. What more can you ask. Would stay again if we return to Prague which we hope to do some time.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lesleyhyatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Leonardo Prague
Hotel Leonardo Prague
#47 of 669 in Prague
4.5 of 5 stars 2,009 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Palac U Kocku
Palac U Kocku
#119 of 669 in Prague
4.5 of 5 stars 343 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Unitas Hotel
Unitas Hotel
#9 of 669 in Prague
5.0 of 5 stars 1,427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Jungmann
Jungmann
#19 of 669 in Prague
5.0 of 5 stars 293 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Antik
Antik
#89 of 669 in Prague
4.5 of 5 stars 429 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Residence Retezova
Hotel Residence Retezova
#54 of 669 in Prague
5.0 of 5 stars 558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cloister Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cloister Inn Hotel

Property: Cloister Inn Hotel
Address: Konviktska 296/14 | Old Town, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#73 Family Hotel in Prague
#90 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#162 Business Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cloister Inn Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the oldest part of the historical city centre, just steps from the monumental Charles Bridge, in the vicinity of the picturesque Old Town Square, in a cobblestone lane free of traffic. The building is a part of medieval monastery complex, still inhabited by the Grey Sisters of Mercy, with the church of St. Bartholomew diligently renovated owing to the funds granted by H.R.H., the Prince of Wales. You will be embraced by historical sights, tourist attractions, museums, theatres, restaurants and cafes of the Old Town of Prague. Our hotel standards are guaranteed by the Czech Hotel Federation. We offer * * * * services for * * * prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Cloister Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cloister Hotel Prague
Cloister Inn Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing