We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great position close to Old Town”
Review of Cloister Inn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cloister Inn Hotel
Ranked #89 of 648 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 28, 2014

Stayed at the Cloister Inn for three nights. It is well positioned close to the Old Town and other important Prague sites. It is located about 15 mins walk from the Subway.

Reception is professional and helpful.

There is free coffee and tea in reception.

The hotel is a bit of a rabbit warren. We were on the 4th floor and it required 2 elevators, two stair cases and a long corridor to get to our room.

On a positive side the rooms are very large, well heated and very quiet.They are very clean and well appointed. Bed linen was new and crisp.

There is a bar fridge and they advertise "free bar fridge". They give you one can of beer so I guess it is technically correct !!

Cable TV has access to English channels.

The only negative is that the bathroom was really smelly, a result of old plumbing and not unusual in this part of Europe.

I would recommend the Cloister Inn as a base in Prague and we would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank onlylife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,032)
There are newer reviews for Cloister Inn Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

670 - 676 of 2,032 reviews

Reviewed March 27, 2014

Me and my partner just returned from Prague.Stayed at Cloister inn for 4 night, clean, inviting hotel in perfect location, we couldn't believe how close it is to all attractions: main square, astronomic clock, Charles bridge(6 minutes walk),river, etc.
Extremely helpful staff, very good breakfast, rooms are basic but large with TV sofa and most important clean,very pleasant.
Thank you for making our trip even more enjoyable we will recommend and return.
Robert&Grant

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Robert K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2014 via mobile

My husband booked this trip for our wedding anniversary as a surprise for me and he couldn't have done any better!
The hotel is clean, with good facilities. Breakfast is from 7.30-10.30 so plenty of time to have a lie in if that's your preference. Breakfast was excellent every morning!
The hotel staff are very welcoming and speak excellent English. They were happy to help with pointing out places on maps etc.
Bathroom in room was clean and modern. Room warm, with extra blankets just in case. Cleaned everyday and towels changed everyday.
Free tea, coffee or hot chocolate available in the lobby at any time.
We were just 5-10 min walk from Charles Bridge. We walked to the castle from the hotel and this took 25 mins, but you can get a tram near by. Remember if you get a tram VALIDATE your ticket using the machine on the tram or you could be fined even though you have bought a ticket!
Food in Prague is mostly meat and dumplings if you want traditional food but there is everything else if you want it too.
I would totally recommend this hotel and area for a holiday!
If you go, I hope you enjoy it as much as we did :-)

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Ruth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2014

The hotel is within walking distance to Prague's main attractions. Situated in a quiet side street. Hotel is clean and the staff are very nice and helpful.Breakfast is satisfactory. Free hot drinks in the reception area. Use of computers in the reception area with printer. I would certainly stay again on my next visit to Prague

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Audrey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2014

Graet plase to stay when in Prague. Close to everywhere in the old city. A walking distance to all the attrections. very quite street with great sleep. Good breakfast and free coffe and tea at the lobby. very nice and helpfull staff.

Room Tip: Don't take a room on the 4th floor near the breakfast hall. a bit busy at mornings.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank igor_gold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2014

The room was spacious and spotless with fridge and tv and the free Wi-Fi worked well in the room. Comfortable bed and a nice big soft pillow, good shower too. Breakfast was versatile, service friendly and the location is excellent. No complaints, good value for money.
The Indian Tikka-Tikka restaurant across the street was also a nice surprise with yummy food and reasonable prices.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GlobeHope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2014

Well situated, clean, well priced. But it is spartan. The reception area is bright and airy but as you go through the second set of automatic doors it gets a bit gloomy.
Hot drinks are available in reception, but in tiny cups with powdered milk. There seems to be a real eye placed on costing. A kettle in the room would be an improvement. And I hated the DO NOT signs.
Bit bleak and soulless for me, would rather pay a bit more and get more hospitality.
I booked on the strength of the TA reviews, but would not go back and will not recommend to friends.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank sparkyIsleofMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
avoda, Manager at Cloister Inn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your comment though I must disagree with most of your points. Our guests´comfort and satisfaction means a lot to us and according to many positive reviews on TripAdvisor and Booking.com we try hard to make our guests happy. We stress on cleanliness and functionality of all rooms as well as public areas. Rooms furnishings may seem to you as “spartan“ but they are clean, well maintained, and according to all standarts of a 3-star hotel. Complimentary tea and coffee, free Wi-Fi, and welcome drinks in guest rooms are extra benefits. Each guest can drink as much tea and coffee as they want and cup size is a standart one.

Kind regards,
Veronika Saavedra
Director
Cloister Inn Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Leonardo Prague
Hotel Leonardo Prague
#58 of 648 in Prague
2,372 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Unitas Hotel
Unitas Hotel
#9 of 648 in Prague
1,732 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Hotel Adler
Hotel Adler
#124 of 648 in Prague
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Rott Hotel
Rott Hotel
#74 of 648 in Prague
1,531 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Brewery Hotel U Medvidku
Brewery Hotel U Medvidku
#186 of 648 in Prague
456 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Palac U Kocku
Palac U Kocku
#135 of 648 in Prague
478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cloister Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cloister Inn Hotel

Address: Konviktska 296/14 | Old Town, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#72 Family Hotel in Prague
#89 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#161 Business Hotel in Prague
Price Range: $70 - $188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cloister Inn Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the oldest part of the historical city centre, just steps from the monumental Charles Bridge, in the vicinity of the picturesque Old Town Square, in a cobblestone lane free of traffic. The building is a part of medieval monastery complex, still inhabited by the Grey Sisters of Mercy, with the church of St. Bartholomew diligently renovated owing to the funds granted by H.R.H., the Prince of Wales. You will be embraced by historical sights, tourist attractions, museums, theatres, restaurants and cafes of the Old Town of Prague. Our hotel standards are guaranteed by the Czech Hotel Federation. We offer * * * * services for * * * prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cloister Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cloister Hotel Prague
Cloister Inn Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing