We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel - Ideal Location”
Review of Cloister Inn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cloister Inn Hotel
Ranked #96 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Hotel - Ideal Location”
Reviewed November 10, 2013

This hotel is in a very central location, ideal for walking to most of the tourist areas such as the Charles Bridge, Prague Castle, Old Town Square and Wencesless Square. Our room was spotlessly clean and the staff were very helpful. You can even buy tickets for the metro at the reception if you want to go further outside the city centre. We paid less than €60 per night for a double room including breakfast. I would be very happy to stay in this hotel again. Highly recommend choosing this hotel.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 529 - it was spotless, comfortable and quiet. (photos on the website are accurate)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,950 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    966
    814
    138
    24
    8
See reviews for
249
1,028
86
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (245)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2013 via mobile

Just returned from the Cloister Inn after an amazing 4 days in Prague.

The hotel is ideally placed to get to all the popular areas like the old town square.

Our room (321) had a queen bed, which was too hard for my liking, but the room was very quiet, clean and spacious. We also managed to get WiFi wherever we went.

Breakfast was typically Czech, so we cannot complain, but I managed to find plenty to eat.

The lobby was nice, as was the coffee served there, plus the staff (especially Adam) were helpful and friendly.

This hotel is perfect for the price

Helpful?
Thank Schlength
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Dover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
250 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2013 via mobile

We stayed Monday to Friday, and were really please with the location. Very central and all of the sights we wanted to see were easily in walking distance.
We received a very warm welcome on our arrival and all staff were friendly throughout our stay.
The breakfast was good and allowed us to save a bit of money on our trip.
I would stay here again if I found myself in Prague

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank DarrellllerraD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013

We just got back from a 4 night stay at the Cloister Inn, booked based on Tripadvisor reviews and price. We were pleasantly surprised by the size of our room, which was massive, and an easy walk from the elevator on the 2nd floor. We never had a problem with noise, and the room was always cleaned promptly. They had provided us with a triple room with a double bed, a single bed, and a crib, although we were only 2 adults and a baby.
The staff in the lobby were always polite and helpful, as well as the staff in the breakfast room.
The Wifi was a little slow in the room, but fine in the lobby. They have delicious hot chocolate in the lobby, and a set of building blocks our 18-month old loved playing with.
The room was basic, but functional, and I found the bed and pillows very comfortable. Nothing fancy, but checks all the boxes if you are just staying at night.
The breakfast was basic and very European, not many options, so it can get boring after a few mornings.
The best part of the hotel is the location, right in Old Town, walking distance to all the major sights, but on a quiet street. We were able to walk everywhere and come back in the afternoon for our son to nap, and then head out again for dinner. There are many great restaurants and cafes within a 10 minute walk of the hotel.
The only negative is the set of stairs at the entrance to get to the lobby and elevator. We had to carry the stroller up and down the stairs each time, which would be difficult if we weren't always two people with the stroller. I would suggest putting in a ramp to make the entrance more accessible.
All in all, it was a great stay and I would definitely stay there again!

Room Tip: Room 222 is huge, easily accessible, and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SweetStockholmSity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Location! Location! Location!

I cannot say enough good things about this hotel's location. It is easy to walk to anything in Prague (although we did take the tram to the castle) both old town and new.

Great restraunts nearby ( we ate at the recommended restraunt twice) and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The coffee machine available in the lobby was great as was the access to a computer.

We used the mini fridge in our room to store our picnic lunch for the train trip to Munich. and enjoyed the copmlimentry beer and water in the fridge.

Great shower - lots of pressure (my pet peeve when I stay in a US motel).

The only complaint I have with this hotel was the fact there were no rolls/buns/croissants at breakfast only bread. They should get baked goods at Tesco as we did for our picnic.

I will stay here again but bring my own croissants for breakfast! :)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank STEVE b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2013

Good location and nice hotel. Well priced. Long walk and two lifts from the lobby though.
Taxi from and to the airport was €22 which is worth doing if you arrive late
Try out the Segway before they are banned
Good fun and cheap



  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level Contributor
75 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

We chose our Hotels on a recent trip to Europe from Trip Advisor reviews, taking note of location, service and cleanliness. We were not disappoi9nted in any of the hotels we chose, and this included the Cloister Inn in Prague. this is one of the quietest hotels in which we have stayed, possibly since it was originally designed as a convent. The room we clean; it was large enough for the two of us. the service at the reception desk as excellent, providing us with information and advice as we required. Food in the fourth floor dining room was very good; a,d the location of the hotel placed us within walking distance of most of the places we wanted to see.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dormitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Leonardo Prague
Hotel Leonardo Prague
#58 of 649 in Prague
2,315 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Unitas Hotel
Unitas Hotel
#10 of 649 in Prague
1,674 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Antik
Antik
#73 of 649 in Prague
518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Residence Retezova
Hotel Residence Retezova
#108 of 649 in Prague
603 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Hotel Adler
Hotel Adler
#123 of 649 in Prague
301 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Rott Hotel
Rott Hotel
#81 of 649 in Prague
1,476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cloister Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cloister Inn Hotel

Property: Cloister Inn Hotel
Address: Konviktska 296/14 | Old Town, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#73 Family Hotel in Prague
#90 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#162 Business Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cloister Inn Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the oldest part of the historical city centre, just steps from the monumental Charles Bridge, in the vicinity of the picturesque Old Town Square, in a cobblestone lane free of traffic. The building is a part of medieval monastery complex, still inhabited by the Grey Sisters of Mercy, with the church of St. Bartholomew diligently renovated owing to the funds granted by H.R.H., the Prince of Wales. You will be embraced by historical sights, tourist attractions, museums, theatres, restaurants and cafes of the Old Town of Prague. Our hotel standards are guaranteed by the Czech Hotel Federation. We offer * * * * services for * * * prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Cloister Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cloister Hotel Prague
Cloister Inn Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing