We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WONDERFUL LOCATION”
Review of Cloister Inn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cloister Inn Hotel
Ranked #88 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“WONDERFUL LOCATION”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

you could not pick a better hotel for location and value,all the time we were there we never needed to use any mode of transport as its central for everything,wondeful hotel , great staff and breakfasts superb, if you are planning a future trip to prague you cant look any further than the cloister,we would certainly use this hotel again on any future visits

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richie854
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,994 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    995
    828
    139
    24
    8
See reviews for
260
1,054
87
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Southport, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
442 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 246 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

The Cloister Inn is located in the centre of Prague, just a few minutes walk from the main square. It makes a great base from which to do walks to all the major attractions of this lovely city.
Our room was small but not unusually so by European hotel standards. The bed was firm but comfortable. There was a small fridge which was stocked with complimentary bottles of water and a beer. The included breakfasts were much better than we have come to expect for 'free breakfasts' - good choice of cereals, fruit, yoghurt, break/cakes, as well as ham, cheese and delicious sausages.
The hotel staff were very helpful - they even got us a bag of ice to put in our cooler on the day of our departure.
Our only hassle was car parking - because we did not book a space in advance with the hotel, there was none available on the day of our arrival. Street parking is very scarce in central Prague. Luckily the hotel staff were able to arrange a car park in the neighboring hotel (at an expensive 25 Euro per day). If you are arriving by car, you should definitely book a parking space when you book the room.
Overall, we were very happy with our stay and would have no hesitation in returning.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisandJudy1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Perfect hotel located right in the centre of Prague. It takes less than 5 minutes to walk to the Charles Bridge and probably around 10 minutes to walk to the Old Town Square.

The hotel itself is very nice, 1 complementary beer and water were given on arrival which was a nice touch. All the staff were very friendly and willing to help you with anything they could. The room was very clean and had satellite television. Breakfast was a buffet layout with salad, cold meats, eggs, toast and cakes, perfect to set you up for the day.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JamieWorldTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2013

We found this hotel on a reccomendation from friends. Whilst it doesn't have large public rooms it is very good for a few nights.
The rooms are clean and of usual size, there is Wifi in all of the rooms but, to be honest it works best in the lobby.
There is free computer and Wifi use in the lobby as well, also free tea and coffee making .
The staff in this hotel are very friendly and helpful, giving advice as to where to eat etc.
We would especially reccomend Thomas, he serves as concierge hall porter etcetera, and was very useful on more than one occasion.
The breakfast is very basic, boiled eggs.cereals, toast and some cut meats and cheese.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Seutonious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Well, it is a pleasure to review this hotel: very very large rooms (larger than any standard). Everything seemed very conserved and working. Really nice service and customer service. There are even some free beverages as welcome in the mini bar. I would definately recommend this place. If you need to wash your clothes, there is a londromat two blocks from the hotel with affordable prices. (The hotel also has this service, with higher prices when compared to the landromat place).

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Umekita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Wonderful hotel in good location. The center of the Old Town is noisy and over filled with touristy things, so it is nice to be on a quiet street in easy walking distance of the center. The building, which used to be communist police headquarters, is badly spaced out, some people will have a confusing walk with many steps to the lobby or to breakfast. But that is my only complaint. The hotel was very well-priced, especially for one with a decent breakfast buffet. Would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: We faced a wall but our daughter's had a lovely view. Also, may want to specify being closer to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank mrh16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

I stayed with a friend here and found it to be really nice. It was a bit pricey but very close to the Charles bridge which was my absolute favorite thing to visit!

Pros:
Clean
Friendly staff and helpful too
10-15 min. walk to Old Town and most other attractions
5 min. walk to Charles Bridge
Excellent breakfast layout
Close to an BEST vegetarian restaurant I have been to

Cons:
Pricey
Labyrinth to get to room and other parts of hotel like the reception and breakfast room

Bottom line: I would stay here again.

Room Tip: We stayed in a room on the 3rd floor facing the street and it was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BKloandC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Leonardo Prague
Hotel Leonardo Prague
#59 of 649 in Prague
2,356 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Hotel Adler
Hotel Adler
#126 of 649 in Prague
352 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Unitas Hotel
Unitas Hotel
#9 of 649 in Prague
1,713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Residence Retezova
Hotel Residence Retezova
#94 of 649 in Prague
612 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Design Metropol Hotel Prague
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Antik
Antik
#81 of 649 in Prague
531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cloister Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cloister Inn Hotel

Property: Cloister Inn Hotel
Address: Konviktska 296/14 | Old Town, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#73 Family Hotel in Prague
#90 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#162 Business Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cloister Inn Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the oldest part of the historical city centre, just steps from the monumental Charles Bridge, in the vicinity of the picturesque Old Town Square, in a cobblestone lane free of traffic. The building is a part of medieval monastery complex, still inhabited by the Grey Sisters of Mercy, with the church of St. Bartholomew diligently renovated owing to the funds granted by H.R.H., the Prince of Wales. You will be embraced by historical sights, tourist attractions, museums, theatres, restaurants and cafes of the Old Town of Prague. Our hotel standards are guaranteed by the Czech Hotel Federation. We offer * * * * services for * * * prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cloister Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cloister Hotel Prague
Cloister Inn Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing