We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location ...”
Review of Cloister Inn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cloister Inn Hotel
Ranked #96 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Liss, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
131 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Great location ...”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

This hotel is ideally placed to explore all the sights in central Prague (Charles Bridge is a five minute walk), and there are an abundance of good restaurants nearby. Tip - spend a few minutes orientating yourself on the map - the road layout can be somewhat confusing and access to places such as the Old Town Square is quicker than you think. There are a number of small supermarkets nearby for water etc, but these are quite pricey - head to Narodni street nearby and the substantial Tescos!
Free coffee and tea-making facilities in reception, plus mini bar and vending machine. Staff universally friendly. Left luggage room available. Tours and taxis can also be booked at reception.
Room was fine for the price - bed was a little firm but adequate. Bathroom clean. Breakfast consisted of clod platter, fruit, or sausage/beans/boiled eggs. No variations on the theme but fine for the price and enough to stock up on for the rest of the day.
In conclusion - a great place to stay if on a budget. I note that there will be a change of ownership soon - just hope things don't change too dramatically, because I'll be back!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LonePhotographer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,950 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    966
    814
    138
    24
    8
See reviews for
249
1,028
86
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (245)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Utrecht, Utrecht, Netherlands
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

The staff of this hotel is friendly and the hotel consists of two parts. If you are settled in the new part, you have to walk a lot and use two elevators to come in your room. During our stay they were busy with the carpets and the smell of glue was annoying in our room. Glad we were able to open the windows in our room. During the winter season they take away the remote of the Airconditioning. A bit strange in my opinion.

The rooms were a little bit old fashioned but the size of the room, the location of the hotel and the guest friendly staff make this hotel definitely a good choice.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Asteroids_EV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
avoda, Owner at Cloister Inn Hotel, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear friend, thank you for your comment what I use to notify my dear customers that from April 1st, 2013 the hotel will be changing the ownership, so maybe the new owners will be easier about the remote controls for the aircondition what I concidered useless in winter times, the machine is set up only on cooling modus and starts working at the very moment the outside temperature exceedes 15 grades Celsius, what is most unlikely in the Czech winter with temperatures far below zero. To tell this to all our guests at the easiest way was to take away the remote controls with a sign in English about the working periods of the system. Thank you very much. Jiri Vidim, owner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
91 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2013

We picked this hotel on the recommendation of other Trip Advisor writers and everyone was so right! We asked for an airport pickup to the hotel and it was arranged. The hotel is small, but lovely. They have a lovely sitting area by the lobby where you can get any kind of latte, cappuccino or coffee, free of charge. There is free wifi and our room was much larger than others we have had in Europe. It was clean and neat and the location was great because you can walk to Old Town, New Town and many good restaurants. The breakfasts were very good too! We would come back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank acfan3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013 via mobile

This is the second time I've stayed here and I recommend it as a comfortable and clean hotel in a great location. The staff are helpful and efficient and with free wifi and coffee in reception it really is perfect. One small quibble - the bed was a little too hard for a good night's sleep but the rest means I would choose again if I come to Prague again.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spatchlet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
75 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Excellent affordable place. Has a great history to the building as well. Actually was probably the best part of the Prague trip!

Rooms are clean, spacious with an unique design. Breakfast is fantastic and included - one of the better buffets I've eaten at. Service is excellent. Wifi and coffee are free.

Will stay here if I come back to this city for whatever reason.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jerrywesterby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Cloister Inn during our visit to Prague in August 2012. The hotel is in an excellent location, allowing us to walk everywhere to everywhere we wanted to see with ease.

The room was much larger than we expected and the beds were more comfortable than most we've experienced in Europe. And the bathroom was ENORMOUS!

For a 3-star hotel, we were pleasantly surprised with the size, cleanliness and comfort of our accommodations and would stay there again in a heartbeat!

The only glitch was when we asked for ice and was told the machine was broken. Since it was the middle of the summer, it was a bit disappointing not to be able to have ice for drinks in our room as this would seem a modest and reasonable request.

This is a simple, no frills (i.e. minimal amenities), kind of place, but it's clean, centrally located, and comfortable - so if you're just looking for somewhere comfortable to rest your head after a long day of sightseeing, look no further!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank witz615
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carlisle
Level Contributor
35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Second time here it is in a perfect location ideal for sight seeing plenty of bars restaurant around and near by the hotel is very clean the staff are very good overall perfect. The breakfast is fresh and plentyfull the ladies who look after it are always there filling cleaning they do a excellent job

Room Tip: We got a room facing there car park not much of a view but very quite never heard a thing had a good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank windoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Leonardo Prague
Hotel Leonardo Prague
#58 of 649 in Prague
2,314 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Unitas Hotel
Unitas Hotel
#10 of 649 in Prague
1,673 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Antik
Antik
#73 of 649 in Prague
518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Residence Retezova
Hotel Residence Retezova
#108 of 649 in Prague
603 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Hotel Adler
Hotel Adler
#123 of 649 in Prague
301 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Rott Hotel
Rott Hotel
#81 of 649 in Prague
1,476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cloister Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cloister Inn Hotel

Property: Cloister Inn Hotel
Address: Konviktska 296/14 | Old Town, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#73 Family Hotel in Prague
#90 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#162 Business Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cloister Inn Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the oldest part of the historical city centre, just steps from the monumental Charles Bridge, in the vicinity of the picturesque Old Town Square, in a cobblestone lane free of traffic. The building is a part of medieval monastery complex, still inhabited by the Grey Sisters of Mercy, with the church of St. Bartholomew diligently renovated owing to the funds granted by H.R.H., the Prince of Wales. You will be embraced by historical sights, tourist attractions, museums, theatres, restaurants and cafes of the Old Town of Prague. Our hotel standards are guaranteed by the Czech Hotel Federation. We offer * * * * services for * * * prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Cloister Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cloister Hotel Prague
Cloister Inn Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing