We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Perfect for Central Areas of Prague”
Review of Cloister Inn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cloister Inn Hotel
Ranked #88 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Just Perfect for Central Areas of Prague”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We (family of 3) stayed here for 4 nights in one of the larger 3 bedded rooms. Cannot fault any service, from first arrival early in the afternoon, through to departure. Met with a smile, and a greeting every time in contact with staff. Spacious and comfortable rooms, possibly a bit sparse, but if visiting such a great city the hotel is just for sleeping in our opinion! Quiet and easy to sleep. Clean and tidy throughout with good range of hot/cold continental foods for breakfast, complimentary coffee available throughout day in small lounge with 2 open use, PC's. Wifi available and worked with passwords provided on all our phones. Location perfect for all key sites (all walking) including Prague Castle and multitude of excellent restaurants, bar's and cafe's all around the hotel location. You'll never get round more than a few in just a 4 days - we never had a poor meal anywhere! When we come back to Prague the Cloister Inn will be our first choice for value and service.

Room Tip: 3rd Floor room at the rear was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kievski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,994 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    995
    828
    139
    24
    8
See reviews for
260
1,054
87
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leven, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We (2 couples) stayed for for four nights in adjacent rooms on the fifth floor and this hotel was even better than the reviews stated, clean,cosy, huge bathroom and with a fine continental breakfast to start your day. We walked around Prague with ease from the Cloister Inn, the Charles Bridge is a five minute walk away and there are a number of bars and restaurants close by if you want to have a nightcap nearer to the hotel, I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this Hotel
to anyone looking for a quality hotel at a very rerasonable price.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The_Flying_Fifer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bluffton, South Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

We stayed at the Cloister Inn for 4 nights and really enjoyed our stay. The front desk staff was very friendly and helpful. The hotel was clean and well maintained and the included buffet breakfast was a very nice typical European breakfast with cold cuts, cheese, eggs and bread. This is rated as a 3 star because it's not very plush (and the towels were scratchy), but we thought it was very nice. It's very well located a short walking distance to Town Square and the Astronomical clock with good restaurants in the area. It was a great value and we'd stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the main building and not the annex as that's a bit inconvenient.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terrie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for four nights.Our room was on the second floor.Large bedroom with three chairs,two tables,tv and a fridge.Bathroom is a nice size too.Breakfast was continental and plentiful.There is free tea and coffee in the lobby all day.The hotel is situated in the centre of the major sights.We walked to all the sites ie the jewish quarter.wenceslas square,new town,little quarter and prague castle.The receptionist at the hotel recommended the Restaurant Stoleti for an evening meal.We enjoyed the food so much we dined there three times.As a bonus the receptionist gave us a card with 7% discount to be deducted from the bill.The restaurant is only a few minutes walk from the hotel.It does get very busy but you can get the hotel to reserve a table for you.

Room Tip: We were on the second floor -A wing which was quite a trek.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank essexwifey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

The Cloister Inn is in the old town but a little bit of a walk to the center. But it will save you time and money in getting around the city center. The room we had was huge! The breakfast buffet was abundant. ALl of the staff was very helpful and friendly. Computers were available in the lobby for quick checks of travel locations but other guests tended to hog them for e-mail checking, so expect a wait unless there have been changes.
Do NOT eat at the restaurant across the street, the Mediterranean Restaurant in the Residence Bologna building. The food was okay and convenient but service was slow and unfriendly. The waiter highlighted the words "service is not included" at the bottom of our receipt. Then he wrote in a new total under the bill's total. He boldly argued that we had to pay his new total. This act alone scored him zero tip and this warning to other travellers. No where else in Prague did we experience this and every other server was well tipped by U.S. standards, not Czech.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 12km_commuter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amaroúsion, Attiki, Greece
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Great location close to everything. Very safe as you needed the key sensor to get in. Spatious, clean, warm rooms. Friendly staff. Good wifi signal in the room. Free coffee/tea at the reception area. Nice breakfast. A very pleasant stay. Would go back again for sure.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Rooms were very nice as was the breakfast they served each day. Getting directions from the staff was easyl.It was very secure if you needed to get in the hotel in the evening. It was locked. We were able to walk to all of the sites that we wanted to get to. The need for public transportation was minimal.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucysofine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Leonardo Prague
Hotel Leonardo Prague
#59 of 649 in Prague
2,356 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Hotel Adler
Hotel Adler
#126 of 649 in Prague
352 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Unitas Hotel
Unitas Hotel
#9 of 649 in Prague
1,713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Residence Retezova
Hotel Residence Retezova
#94 of 649 in Prague
612 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Design Metropol Hotel Prague
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Antik
Antik
#81 of 649 in Prague
531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cloister Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cloister Inn Hotel

Property: Cloister Inn Hotel
Address: Konviktska 296/14 | Old Town, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#73 Family Hotel in Prague
#90 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#162 Business Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cloister Inn Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the oldest part of the historical city centre, just steps from the monumental Charles Bridge, in the vicinity of the picturesque Old Town Square, in a cobblestone lane free of traffic. The building is a part of medieval monastery complex, still inhabited by the Grey Sisters of Mercy, with the church of St. Bartholomew diligently renovated owing to the funds granted by H.R.H., the Prince of Wales. You will be embraced by historical sights, tourist attractions, museums, theatres, restaurants and cafes of the Old Town of Prague. Our hotel standards are guaranteed by the Czech Hotel Federation. We offer * * * * services for * * * prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cloister Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cloister Hotel Prague
Cloister Inn Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing