We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tiny Rooms, slightly high priced, excellent location” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel City Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel City Inn
Ranked #594 of 670 Hotels in Prague
Navi Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Tiny Rooms, slightly high priced, excellent location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

Ok - I found the place really easily - it is right next to the city center (5 mins walk from the Powder tower and 10 mins from Charles Bridge). It is next to the railway station, bus station and tram stops too. So Location - A+
The reception was cramped and one had to wait a fair bit to check in. Also the front desk girl was a little surly, did not understand much English and was in a great hurry (probably because there was only one person to check people in) So Check in - C
The room - well, it was the tiniest I have ever seen. One of my suitcases on the floor and then had to climb over it to get to my bed. The bathroom was even tinier. Though it was clean when I checked in, nobody came to clean my room for the 3 days that I was there! So Room and room service C.
The pricing is a little on the higher side - 50 Euros/ night - but that was probably due to the good location and the timing (Summer).
Breakfast - Very Limited and mediocre - no fruit, not even the usual raisin and nut loaded cereal.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms - 4th floor have slanting roofs that you could hit your head against when you wake u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Runnergirlmumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    78
    119
    52
    77
See reviews for
46
125
24
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
174 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for the Prague marathon on 12/5/13. It is well situated just next to B Metro Line station Namesti Republiky, five minute walk to the marathon start and ten minute walk to the Old Town Square. It is basic and clean. I am a light sleeper so I could hear the trams till late and first thing but it did not bother me too much. Wifi available in the reception area. I was in one of the single rooms on the 4th floor which look like loft conversions with very low ceiling so mind your head ! They do not have a proper enclosed shower but a mere shower head which worked perfectly as the drainage is purpose built. The lift stops on the third floor so hopefully your cases are not too heavy to take to the 4th.
Breakfast is basic with a selection of breads, cereals and vienna sausages. No fruit.
I do find some of the criticism of this hotel unjustified, especially people who complain about the staff not speaking any English, why can't these tourists be courteous enough to learn a few Czech phrases ? Some tourists are merely petty and feel their language is superior. I had no issues at all. I smiled and said good morning and they always smiled back.
I would recommend this hotel for a short stay but not if you like your creature comforts. For 50 Euro a night, I wouldn't expect too much.

Room Tip: If your bags are heavy, do not stay on the 4th floor, no lift after 3rd floor ! Learn a few Czech ph...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mukuma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

The worst hotel I have ever stayed in the 66 countries I have visited worldwide! Crammed, tiny rooms with no bathroom, just I closed off area off the room, with a toilet and a hose!!The beams in the attic obstruct your access to bed, so you have to crawl in and out to sleep! And if you want to get out of bed in the middle of the night, God forbid, you would be lucky if you do not have a big bump on your head for the rest of your holidays! The breakfast, Soviet style, with the absolute minimum, and signs all over not to steal breakfast to take it with you, as if you would with the appealing taste of it! I would not give it to my dog let alone eat it as a doggie bag!
Shame they offer such poor accomodation in such price (102E a night) in such a beautiful city!Reconsider your prices, 20Ea night is more than enough and please install a lift to your top fllors so we do not have to drag suitcases in 3 flights of stairs!!!
Thank you for such an uncomfortablle stay, it made our Xmas holidays sparkle!!

Room Tip: simply not to choose this hotel!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank antigoni-ka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Prague hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Nizhny Novgorod, Russia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

best deal for 1-2 nights stay in prague. 5 mins walk to palladium (best shopping centre in prague) and main train station.
staff was helpful, good breakfast, free wifi in lobby. the only problem you should consider - you hear every step in room next to yours, its too noisy

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sbulavina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

Stayed 4 nights here in March 2013. The room was comfortable and quiet. We were on the 2nd floor (same floor as reception) and overlooking the tram stops, but we were not disturbed by any noise. The bathroom was clean and good.
The electric socket i wanted to use to recharge my phoe would only work when the lights were on!

Breakfast was very reasonable (included in the price of the room) in that there was pleanty to eat and drink. The usual Czech breakfast of bread, rohliky, cheese and ham was there, and also cereals. Hot parky (sausages of a low quality) were also available. Plenty of tea and coffee and a rather watery fruit drink. It was buffet-style, so you could eat as much as you wanted. There were small tubs of spread/butter/jams etc and nice šumava bread.

There was free wifi in the reception area, or you could have wifi in your room for a small charge.
The reception staff were friendly and helpful. The location is great, tram stops around the corner from the hotel entrance, a Metro station there too, and a railway station for trips to surrounding towns (a train to Nelahozeves via Kralupy is well worth the trip - the chateau is very interesting, as is the small museum in Dvořák's birthplace. You can walk back to Kralupy along the river on a pathway the composer walked.)

I would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChriJan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valkeakoski, Finland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

We were actually surprised about the value we got with this hotel. Everything is in good basic level, quite OK breakfast, room was simple but clean and the location is good. Maybe the reception staff could be a bit more friendly and attentive. With the price we paid this hotel was good value anyway.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Petrij2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

3-star hotel just near the Masarykova train station, 5-10 minutes walk to the historical part of the city (that was super). Also there is a mini-market just across the street. The hotel is run down a little, but for the price/location was ok (60 euro/night for double room).

The reception is on the 2nd floor, so we need to take a lift (which is quite slow). It took a while until we got the room keys because we had first to fill in some forms.

The room we got was N.412, with skewed ceiling just under the roof. The room was quite small, with double bed, 2 small bedside-tables, one writing-table, 2 chairs, a wardrobe and an additional folding bed inside. The WC and shower were, hmmm, really joined :) I mean the shower was installed just directly within the bathroom wall, without any drip pad - there was only a drain in the floor and additional sliding door made over the bathroom door. Looked funny for us :) And there were no shower holder so I had to soap and wash myself separately...

Anyway, it was really cold outside, but the room was however warm enough. Despite the train and tram stations just at the corner, it was not noisy at all. Wifi had to be paid separately, around 3 euro/day. Breakfast included, nothing special, some ham, sausages, coffee, muffins etc - just ok for the price and quality. Juice was really bad (probably they took the cheapest powder one).

Room Tip: Check in after 14-00, check out before 12-00. Room is to be payed in cash (euro or Czech crowns) or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank A M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Hotel City Centre
Hotel City Centre
#602 of 670 in Prague
3.0 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Rubicon
Hotel Rubicon
#269 of 670 in Prague
3.5 of 5 bubbles 487 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Koruna
Koruna
#580 of 670 in Prague
3.0 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Hotel Merkur
Hotel Merkur
#121 of 670 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,331 reviews
Praha 2
City Central Hotel
City Central Hotel
#558 of 670 in Prague
3.0 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Hotel Atlantic
Hotel Atlantic
#175 of 670 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel City Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel City Inn

Property: Hotel City Inn
Address: Hybernska 1014/13, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Nove Mesto (New Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #594 of 670 Hotels in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel City Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel City Inn is located in a historical building from the 19th century directly in the heart of the city near the Main Railway Station only a 10-15 minutes walk from one of the Prague’s main boulevard Wenceslas Square or the beautiful Old Town ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel City Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel City Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing