We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of The Charles Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Charles Hotel
Ranked #191 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Great location”
Reviewed March 21, 2013

We were here for three nights, loved the layout of the spacious room and shower room although the lights above the mirror didn't work - a minor irritation. Felt the room could benefit from having a mirror in it. We were on the first floor and found it noisy on one of the nights (Friday).
Mini bar well stocked although we didn't use it. Reception staff were charming and spoke English. Breakfast was fine and better than anticipated from some of the reviews.
Location was excellent as it was very close to Charles Bridge and easy to access the Palace and Old Town. A number of good restaurants close by - turn right out of hotel, right at end of Josefska and then walk up road to find them on left hand side - sorry can't remember the names.
We would stay here again but would ask for a room that was not facing the main street.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KrystynaKR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

793 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    302
    303
    98
    39
    51
See reviews for
105
431
38
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2013

I spent 3 nights here in Feb '13. It's convinently located near many of the tourist attractions in Prague. I got the room for just over $50 CAD/night. It was really clean, and well kept. The bed was average. I didn't fancy the bathroom too much. I'm not a fan of the sit in the tub and hold the handle type of shower. I didn't eat there because I wasn't up early enough so I can't comment on the food. The staff was very helpful, even as much as to order me some late night food when I stumbled in at 4 am. If you don't need anything fancy and want to be within walking distance of many of the Prague attractions I would recommend the Charles

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank casdobbin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013

I really enjoyed my stay at The Charles Hotel.
From the first welcome to our departure, the staff on reception were always friendly and extremely helpful.
I'll definitely be staying here again on my next visit.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank philippamain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013

The hotel has a good location as the Charles bridge is just around the corner. We found the hotel to be quite basic. Our room was small with not much room between the bed and the wall. The bathroom did not have a shower curtain over the bath and no upper fitting for the shower head. This made it difficult to have a shower. The water poured everywhere onto the floor and you had to hold the shower head in one hand and try and wash with the other hand, as no fitting to put the shower head up was available.Our friends had the same problem in their bathroom as well. The breakfast was awful. There was a silver server with bacon,scrabled egg and sausage. The server was never switched on and the food was sitting cold each morning. There was cornflakes,granola and a chocolate cereal available. Also a selection of beads to toast, a few cold cuts and sliced cheese and some fruit. We were looking forward to the mixed grill but could not stomach it cold. The coffee and tea came out of a machine instead of freshly made. We ate the breakfast the first morning but after that we went out for breakfast as did not fancy cold food. It was noisey as well at night time. We were wakened up by loud guests going to their rooms 3/4am. The hotel is in a good location but would not visit there again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank powerwalkeruk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is on a narrow side street a stones throw from Charles bridge in the Lesser Quarter (castle side). The hotel was comfortable and the staff friendly, knowledgeable and very helpful. The breakfast was better than I was expecting, though the hot food didn't tend to be very hot if you ate 9.30 ish. There is no bar as this, together with the breakfast room seems to turn into a Chinese restaurant in the evening so only B&B seems to be available, which wasn't a problem as we wanted variety. Our bedroom was on the 3rd floor opposite the lift, which despite previous reviews I read beforehand wasn't noisy at all and we were told the hotel was full. Only drawback after a fulfilling & tiring days sightseeing was no bath only a shower which was fine but would have benefited from a shelf to put toiletries on as bending down to pick them up tended to dislodge the shower mechanism and you suddenly get doused in cold water due to the location of the controls. If you stay/have stayed in room 307 you'll probably know what I mean. The mini bar did not have a bottle opener which was a nuisance so if like me you wanted to imbibe on your own G&T before heading out, take your own (tonic for the duty free gin available locally round the corner from the hotel for half the price!) I would definitely stay here again as it was so handy for the sights without being in all the hustle & bustle of the old town. I can also recommend a meal at Kampa Park restaurant just by Charles Bridge, pricy but worth it or u maleho glenna - basement jazz club (very small & intimate) and street level bar, great atmosphere, great staff and tasty inexpensive food. The hotel staff will point you in the right direction!

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Debbie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ascot
Level Contributor
103 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013

We were in Prague for a football match, so only had one night stay at the hotel. We had booked it as it was very close to Charles Bridge. It is on the castle side of the bridge (west side), with a 15-minute walk to the old Town Square in the old town (east side of the bridge).

Chelsea were playing at Sparta Prague on Thursday 14th February 2013. We stayed at the Charles hotel for that night. Check-in is 2pm, and check-out is 12pm. We were allowed to check-in an hour early, at 11am. However, we had a call to our room at 11:45 am the following morning reminding us 12pm was check-out time.

We were also told that the number 12 tram goes from outside to the Sparta Prague stadium, which was handy, although we ended up organising a minibus taxi to and from the ground.

The hotel has 30 rooms, I believe. It is an old building, located about 80m from Charles Bridge. We were allowed to check-in an hour early, at 11am. However, we had a call to our room at 11:45 am the following morning reminding us 12pm was check-out time.

The hotel has a Thai restaurant in the basement, which is run as a separate entity to the hotel in the afternoon and evening. The door access from the lobby area of the hotel is blocked off and restaurant access is via a door from the street. Early in the morning breakfast is served downstairs in the area adjacent to the main Thai restaurant and bar, with access from the hotel lobby area.

Breakfast is average, at best. The only hot (?! tepid, at best) items are some scrambled eggs with green peppers and those frankfurter type sausage things that one doesn’t usually like for breakfast. Oh, and some mixed diced veg. That is the total of the hot selection, although that was also cold. There are 4 cold meats and 4 sliced cheeses to choose from, plus rolls & croissants. And there is cereal, fruit & 3 juices. Whilst that now sounds like a collection, you will feel is isn’t very good when you look at it.

The room was floorboards & basic – but an extra bed was supplied for a 3rd person. The beds were comfortable. Firm but comfortable. There was no view from the window, just a small service area was what we faced to. That didn’t matter, of course, but if you want a street view then ask for one when you book.

The staff are all helpful, although we only saw 3 of them. There is a supply of local town maps provided free, which the guy on reception was happy to mark with places of interest. Not that anyone needs to know what to look at, but tram numbers and directions to the Old Town square are handy.

There is a late bar next door to the hotel, which is called the ‘Blue Light’. It stays open late. The centre of town didn’t have many bars as one would expect, although Wenceslas square (which isn’t square, more like a wide street with trees) has late night clubs and bars. We typically ended up in an Irish bar on the night we were there.

On the corner of the street, just 5m from the hotel, is a Thai massage shop. It isn’t seedy, but we did have a giggle when we saw it. When looking thru’ the window we noticed that people were sat in chairs having shoulder massages. There is also a tank of those little fish that chew away at your feet, eating the dry skin. We have no idea if full massages are provided elsewhere not on view. There is an old Trabant car outside, painted red, which advertises Thai massages for €8 an hour. Sounded cheap, but not our scene.

We didn’t feel like the town wasn’t safe at any stage, although a group of 15 guys ripped a football flag bag off the shoulder of one of our fans (in a group of 3 sensible guys) and cowardly ran away after a small scuffle. So be careful with that. I’m sure they feel proud at hanging their booty upside down. Mind you, I heard the guy who lost the flag was back in the stadium the next day with the other two guys getting photos and they all urinated on the big main flag in the home fans end. Sort of payback to the cowards who took his flag, they said. I’m sure the home fans will relish the smell of urine every time they unravel their big ultras banner. They can thank the 15 guys who ripped the flag from the away fan who was minding his own business in the town.

Anyway, back to the hotel. It cost just €110 for a room for 3 people on Valentine’s Day, 14th February 2013. I’d say that 30 each for a night in Prague, just by the wonderful Charles Bridge, is good value. Breakfast isn’t important.

As for eating out, the first afternoon we used the Black Bull restaurant on Old Town Square. Probably the most expensive place to use, but we gave it a go. It was only £50 a head, including decent wine, but we were informed we’d have paid 1/3rd of that if we’d gone 2 streets away. We were also planning to use the Slavia restaurant, which is supposed to be very good, but didn’t have time that first afternoon due to the early kick off of the football. So we just ate in the Old Town Square.

The 2nd afternoon we used a lovely restaurant just along from the hotel. Well worth a try. Pork knuckle, and other local dishes. Turn right up the street, over the zebra crossing (trams to your right) into an arched pavement area, and it was the first place on the left. The restaurant was called Piunice U Glaublicu. If you don’t want to go far then this was handy, as we were going to the airport in 90 minutes. It was a little smokey in the bar area, when we walked in, but out the back in the restaurant area it was fine. Good beer was served.

There is a micro brewery just along from the Old Town Square, walking out the bottom end by the Astronomical Clock and then a left and right shuffle. In there somewhere. Worth a look – lovely beer. Really good beer.

A short summary is that the Charles Hotel was good value and located in a handy location. It was clean and ‘did the job’. Average breakfast, but we’d still all happily go back there, so it must be ok.

Enjoy your trip.

Room Tip: You'd need to ask for a street view, but the guy informed us because we had an extra bed we had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FlatEricAscot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

The hotel is very pretty and authentic, fitting the location perfectly. Rooms are finished beautifully. The bathroom is modern and stylish with all facilities one would require for a comfortable stay. Very clean. Friendly staff. Excellent location a short walk from the Charles Bridge surrounded by bars, cafes and restaurants (though very peaceful and not at all noisey.) Basic but delicious continental breakfast. Excellent value. All in all, a lovely stay. Highly recommended for couples.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GirlsWeekend1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel U Tri Pstrosu (At the Three Ostriches)
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Archibald At the Charles Bridge
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel U Pava
Hotel U Pava
#184 of 649 in Prague
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
The Golden Scissors
The Golden Scissors
#77 of 649 in Prague
331 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Certovka Hotel
Certovka Hotel
#132 of 649 in Prague
308 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Kampa Garden
Kampa Garden
#79 of 649 in Prague
723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Charles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Charles Hotel

Property: The Charles Hotel
Address: Josefska 42/1 | Mala Strana, Prague 118 00, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Mala Strana (Little Quarter) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#161 Luxury Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Charles Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
N intimate ambiance and excellent service. Occupying a historic medieval building, the charming Charles Hotel has been beautifully restored whilst retaining many of its original features. The Charles Hotel is situated close to The Charles Bridge. Surrounded by good selection of bars and restaurants, this intimate property enjoys a romantic ambiance. Located in the charming historical district of Prague Mala Strana (also called Prague Lesser Town or Little Quarter of Prague) and close to the famous Charles Bridge, Prague Castle, romantic Kampa, Petrin parks and just across the bridge to the rest of Old Town. The Hotel Charles is part of the Royal Road, which starts in Nuremberg (Germany) and leads all the way to Prague Castle through the Powder Tower, Wenceslas Square and across Charles Bridge. All 31 rooms of our hotel are air conditioned. 25 Rooms and 6 suites are reflecting the building's rich heritage and providing our guests with comfortable accommodation, an exceptional service and modern amenities. Baroque-style rooms include satellite television, minibar, in-room safe and hairdryer. Breakfast room and lobby bar are necessary to make you feel special. Friendly, attentive staff and a perfect location make it an excellent choice. The Charles hotel is romantic accommodation in the middle of Prague history! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Charles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charles Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing