We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday Trip”
Review of Cerny Slon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cerny Slon
Ranked #221 of 648 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Six of us stayed at the black Elephant (Cerny Slon)for My birthday and we all enjoyed our stay,
The room we had (room 2) was large and well appointed with everything we required for our stay. As pointed out by other reviews the hotel has not got a lift but the stairs are of a generous size and not too steep. The Breakfast was excellent and was constantly topped up with fresh items over the weekend,but on Monday they reduced the amount of food to suit the number of guests staying which made sense to us.The location of the hotel is superb just off the main square and not to far from the Metro station (about 10 Min's walk)
The only negative,as mentioned in some other reviews was the receptionist we encountered
she was abrasive to say the least but we only came across her twice so it didn't spoil the experience.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tvrpieman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (346)
There are newer reviews for Cerny Slon
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

141 - 147 of 346 reviews

Reviewed October 17, 2012

Prague was on the tail end of our 3 week trip. Our train arrived later than scheduled so we didn't get to the hotel until 6 PM. Cerny Slon is an old and small boutique hotel. It is directly across the alley way from the ancient Church of Our Lady of Tyn---a church that seems to be closed but whose bells toll daily.
Michael, at the reception desk, was most helpful. He had sent a driver to pick us up at the train station (and provided us a lift back to the station for our departure). Our only caveat was the fact that the hotel did not have a lift and our room was on the 4th floor. My friend had a bad hip and she really struggled up and down the stairs.
Wifi worked only near the door of our room or better down in the lobby. We kept the window open at night as the room was rather stuffy with it closed but the street was so loud all through the night we rarely slept. The bathroom was nice and large with a toilet, bidet, shower/ tub and pedestal sink---
We booked a tour of the city through the hotel--but through a miscommunication, we paid extra for things we did not receive. We thought we would have a private tour with a driver but instead it was a 4 hour walking tour. We then had to pay extra for a ride up to the "Castle" but were left to find a taxi back to the hotel.
The hotel has a restaurant and bar. Breakfast was nice--coffee, juice, pastries, meats bacon/speck, sausages, scrambled eggs, cheeses, breads... and dinner at the restaurant was very good.
The hotel is not opulent by any means but it has character, history and is in a great location to explore Prague by foot. The Charles Bridge is about a 10 minute walk--the Glockenspiel is but across the plaza. All in all it is an affordable quaint hotel but be aware of the lack of an elevator if you have many bags, poor health also know that sleep with the windows open is not an option.

Room Tip: if your room is on a street side, there will be no sleeping
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank trojans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012

Beautiful , small hotel in the heart of prague. you can literally walk out of your hotel and step in the middle of Old town square. all tourist attractions are right there / walking distance. The hotel has NO elevator, staff was sort of helpful... but if you are going to spend most of your time out. its a great location. very safe. some rooms on the 3rd floor look haunted but are beautiful, old Prague style. you will hear noises in the night from passer bys.. the whole street next to the hotel echos. Must visit - astronomical clock, charles bridge, prague castel. EAT lots of goolash and dumplings. and dont ask for the check when you leave a restaurant... ask for the bill. they think its offensive.,.. check sounds a lot like "czech" ... what a person from prague will be called.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ZeniaKiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2012

This is a querky, lovely little hotel. I would give it full marks for its location, which is pure magic. There is nothing better then to walk around this area early in the morning before the hordes of turist hit the streets!
However it is not a place to stay for everyone. There is no lift and so for anyone with heavy suitcases I would only recommend the first floor. For light sleepers I would not recommend it at all. You will get loud tourist until 2am and then the cleaners come dragging their trolleys through the cobblestones streets. The main problem is lack of air-conditioning or fans. When it is hot it is really hot inside and the open windows let all the street noise right in.
So this one is for the management: please provide ceiling fans or at least free standing ones in each room.
I would definitely stay there again but would check the fan situation first.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AusieCzech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012 via mobile

Amazing hotel in a perfect location near the old town square. Would recommend it to anyone and would definitely stay here again on a return visit. Rooms 5 & 11 are great with corner views. .............................. :)

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teens22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2012

Hotel Cerny Slon is a unique small, historic hotel right off the Old Town Square in Prague. The service there was excellent. The young man at the front desk was very helpful. The breakfast was a fine buffet. We stayed in a family room with a queen bed and a twin as we were traveling with my 15 year old niece. It was a nice sized room and a modern bathroom. The only problem with the room was that it was on the third (fourth for those from the US) floor and there isn't an elevator. If you're traveling with a lot of luggage, this might not be the best place for you to stay. The location couldn't have been better to explore the Old Town and the Jewish Quarter. It's a bit of a hike to the Prague castle.

Room Tip: Two tips, with no elevator you need to be traveling light especially if you have a room on the top f...
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Econman024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2012

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at the Black Elephant (Hotel Cerny Slon). In fact, this hotel is one of the reasons that Prague is one of my new favorite cities in the world! Charming old building, very spacious room (probably the biggest standard room I've ever seen in Europe!), simple, yet elegant decor, nice breakfast, and AWESOME location! The hotel is right in the center of the old town, and EVERYTHING is within walking distance. It's true, the beds are loud. Still, this is a great place, and I certainly wouldn't hesitate to stay here again. In fact, I look forward to it!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cecelia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Golden Deer
Hotel Golden Deer
#276 of 648 in Prague
262 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Metamorphis
Metamorphis
#193 of 648 in Prague
657 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Rott Hotel
Rott Hotel
#74 of 648 in Prague
1,529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Ventana Hotel Prague
Ventana Hotel Prague
#20 of 648 in Prague
1,305 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel U Prince
Hotel U Prince
#105 of 648 in Prague
989 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Old Town Square
Old Town Square
#92 of 648 in Prague
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cerny Slon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cerny Slon

Address: Tynska 605/1, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#179 Luxury Hotel in Prague
Price Range: $86 - $303 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cerny Slon 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Cerny Slon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Cerny Slon Black Elephant

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing