We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming hotel, excellent location"”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Cerny Slon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cerny Slon
Ranked #217 of 672 Hotels in Prague
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Charming hotel, excellent location"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2011

The Černý Slon is located in the centre of the Old Square Town, right in the middle of everything, within walking distance of all of the major sites.
The Černý Slon Hotel is for sure a great value for money (150€ for 2 nights).
It’s indeed a very interesting familiar hotel. The staff is very friendly and helpful, at least those I met :-), speaking English very well. The hotel doesn’t have a lift (we were told the lift is going to be built next year) and, unless you really need it, there is no staff to help you with the luggage.
I had a room on the first floor with a large window to Tynska stret and there you have, the 14th century walls of theTyn Church just a few feet away. Really impressive. The window had two pairs of glass with a perfect sound insulation from the street. The room was big enough for the price and very cleaned.
The breakfast was very good and it was higher than is usual in hotels in this category. First morning, I took breakfast at 7:15 am and I was pleasantly surprised with what was provided even that early: continental rolls and croissants, white and black bread, yoghurts, cornflakes, cheeses, meats, fresh juices and fruits, as well as hot options of eggs, sausages and ham.. and a good variety of tea types.
The hotel also has a very nice restaurant and a cellar bar.
I'll be back again.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MariaJoaoC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarboraV, Owner at Cerny Slon, responded to this review, June 23, 2011
Thank you very much for your exhausting and very nice rewiew. It is true that we plan to build a lift next year. We are very pleased that you enjoyed staying with us and look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    142
    38
    10
    5
See reviews for
55
141
27
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
bath
Level Contributor
99 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2011

The Hotel Cerny Slon in Prague was an absolutely perfect location for a Christmas break, right in the Old Town just off the square full of Xmas tree and Xmas market. We had problems finding a Prague hotel with proper beds for us and our 11 year old daughter. The room was quite small for 3 people and a 6 night stay - unfortunately although we booked months in advance we weren't allocated one of the larger rooms. The male receptionist was superb, helpful and welcoming, however the female receptionists were not particularly friendly or helpful. They made an effort (but unsuccesful) to find us a vegetarian restaurant, not realising that there was one in the same street as the hotel. The sightseeing tour organised by the hotel was very good and the taxis to and from the wirport went smoothly. There were no coffee/tea facilities in the room nor tissues. The breakfast was adequate. We had read before about the lack of a lift, but thought it would be OK since we are reasonably fit - however the lower 2 floors must have really high ceilings and the stairs were very steep, so it was a bit of a problem that there was no one to help us up with our luggage, and we deliberately went up to our hotel room less during the day, to avoid the steep climb. We were a bit disappointed by the cleanliness - our daughter dropped something under her bed and got absolutely filthy trying to retrive it and there was mould in the bathroom. We mentioned the lack of cleanliness to the reciptionist and when we returned we saw that under the beds had been cleaned and the bathroom sparkled, but the mould remained, which was a bit off-putting when having a shower. Extractor fan in bathroom not very effective, but we did have a window that we could open. Excellent WIfi connection, Minibar, Hair dryer and daily towels, bed really comfortable, room snug and warm. Reasonable price and exchange rate for Prague, although we were overcharged on our final bill - but as soon as we pointed this out it was rectiifed.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gillian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarboraV, Owner at Cerny Slon, responded to this review, June 23, 2011
Thank you for your nice rewiew. Our hotel is due to its location in the city center very popular among tourists from all over the world, and the rooms are often nearly sold out one month in advance in the season. If you want a larger room next time, you need to make reservations early. I apologize also for our receptionist but the restaurant about which you write at that time was newly opened and unfortunately we did not know that it is vegetarian. We are trying to be our guests as satisfied as possible. We are very pleased that you enjoyed staying with us and look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2010

hello. I have not stayed in cerny slon yet. It is a dream of mine that one day i pray it comes true. The reason for my response is for the owner. How did cerny slon get named and was it owned by any of the cernys?

  • Stayed February 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mojo10mojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarboraV, Owner at Cerny Slon, responded to this review, December 17, 2010
Hallo, thank you very much for your review. The family name oweners is not cerny. The house itself is listed on the UNESCO heritage list, and It was built in accordance with historical archives of Prague in the years 1330 - 1340 in a gothic style. The name "Cerny slon" (means Black Elephanth) was created probably in that time. Hope your dreams come true and you can sometimes visit Hotel Cerny slon personally.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steinbach, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2010

We enjoyed our stay at Cerny Slon very much. Other reviewers mentioned noise from the street, and there was some, but not enough to be really disturbing. Our room was large and interesting. Apparently the house is from the 14th century, and our top-floor room (no lift) had a soaring peaked ceiling with old wood beams branching up to the top. Room was a bit dark, but we didn't spend a lot of time there. Breakfast was adequate, not fancy. The only disadvantages that we experienced were a bed a bit firmer than we usually like, and a shower not meant for tall people! Hotel Cerny Slon was definitely one of the positive aspects of our stay in Prague.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dreamwings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarboraV, Owner at Cerny Slon, responded to this review, December 17, 2010
Thank you for your very nice review. Im very sorry for the noise from the street, but I can´t influence it, because the hotel is in the center of Prague. On the other hand, imagine you are staying in the hotel straight in the Old Town square :-) Our hotel is in a quiet location just few steps fom the square. The lift is going to be buil next year. Hope you visit our Hotel Cerny slon again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashdod, Israel
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2010

The Cerny Slon hotel is located in the center of the Old Square Town which gives you the nice atmosphere of being in the middle of everything. We had a room on the second floor which had a large window to the ally Tynska directly to the Tyn Church. The window had external pair of glass and internal pair which are isolating entirely the sounds from the ally in case it bugs you. We used to close the external only since we wanted to feel the night chill a little bit. The room had a heater and another one in the bathroom. The room was big (calming green color) and new designed doors. The Room came with all the things needed like: Safety deposit, Excellent WIfi connection, Bathroom enmities, Minibar and Hair dryer. The bathroom had a nice clean bath and toilet and had a nice window to the ally. The Room has been cleaned and the Towels replaced every day. The Bed, closet and desk were antic style even though the bed squeaks it still acceptable. The Cerny Slon is 1-2min from the Astronomic watch and the Jewish Quarter walking distance. It is 6min from the market at Havelska Street and 10min from Vaclaveke Namesti. It is also 15min to Karl Bridge. Breakfast was nice they served: scrambled eggs, bacon, Sausages, fresh vegetables, Juice, different types of cheese and salamis, White and Black bread and cornflakes. Good Coffee and Tea (nice variety of tea types) Fruits and Croissants. Hotel Stuff were nice and kind, the hotel arrange us a Taxi to meet us at Ruzin Airport and on our last day the hotel arranged us a Taxi back to airport. (Taxi was 700czk). The also kept our all 4 luggage suitcases for the last day without any problems. The hotel has a nice restaurant and some of the cuisine aroma is around the first floor which is very tasty and seductive. The Cerny Slon Hotel stuff replies immediately for our booking via Booking.com and confirmed our staying with our Taxi pickup from the airport. From all information in we got via Trip Advisor and Booking.com help us in choosing the hotel. You can get the feeling that the hotel is being kept well by the people that are running it keep on doing the good job. To sum up The Cerny Slon Hotel looks even better in reality great value for money (300EU for 4 Nights). We should have stayed more than 4 nights (4-8th November 2010) see you next time :)
Only two things I would advise to the Cerny Slon Hotel to prepare for the future to come: First adding even the smallest elevator, it can be just for luggage to loud up or down the building floors. We know that the building is very old but it is doable we saw it in other old hotels around Europe. We did not have a problem of going up the stairs (young knees) but still it can be annoying. Second is adding Air conditioners for the summer time. We have been in November were there is no need, but in Summer time it can very useful.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yacov_and_Rita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarboraV, Owner at Cerny Slon, responded to this review, December 17, 2010
Dear Ashdod, thanky you very much for you exhausting and very accurate revew. Nothing to add, just when I read your review I was very happy that you enjoyed your stay in Hotel Černy slon, and also that you wrote it so nice. It isn´t as easy as you thing to build an elevator, because The house itself is listed on the UNESCO heritage list, and we need lots of permission to build it. But now, in this time we are praparing to start construction next year. Hope to see you again in our Hotel Černý slon in Prague :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eliot, ME
Level Contributor
73 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2010

The Hotel Cerny Slon in Prague has about as perfect a location as you could ask for- right in the Old Town just off the square. The room was very nice, the meals excellent and the atmosphere just what you would want. The receptionist was not particularly friendly though with some encouragement she was helpful. There was no coffee maker in the room nor Kleenex. The only real criticism is that the rooms are on the first floor and Up(European first floor) and there was no one to help us up with our luggage- no small task. It would not be the place for an older couple or someone with physical problems. Their fall package deal was quite good. There are churches close by with nightly concerts and good restaurants galore.. Weekend nights it could be quite noisy with revilers singing under our windows. I imagine it would be uncomfortable in the summer if you had to close your windows. During the week it was not so bad.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tiza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarboraV, Owner at Cerny Slon, responded to this review, December 17, 2010
Thank you very much for your nice review. Im very happy you like our hotel, its location, the meals and the atmospere of the hotel. We are trying to do our best, to make our guests satisfied. As I said many times the elevator is going to be build soon next year. Hope you will visit our hotel Cerny slon again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
46 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2010

Great location but unfriendly service with smelly bathroom. Avoid!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank londonN7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarboraV, Owner at Cerny Slon, responded to this review, December 17, 2010
Im very sorry for your bad experience in our Hotel Cerny slon. I jus would like to tell you, that all the bathrooms in our hotel has an extractor fan, maybe it was broken in the time of your stay, you should maybe tell it in the reception and we could fix it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Golden deer
Hotel Golden deer
#276 of 672 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Rott Hotel
Rott Hotel
#88 of 672 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,446 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Metamorphis
Metamorphis
#189 of 672 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Ventana Hotel Prague
Ventana Hotel Prague
#19 of 672 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,245 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Old Town Square
Old Town Square
#127 of 672 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Antik
Antik
#72 of 672 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cerny Slon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cerny Slon

Property: Cerny Slon
Address: Tynska ulichka 629/1, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#177 Luxury Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cerny Slon 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Cerny Slon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Cerny Slon Black Elephant

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing