We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Was probably once very plush”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Belvedere

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Belvedere
Ranked #236 of 670 Hotels in Prague
Brixham
Level Contributor
98 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Was probably once very plush”
Reviewed October 24, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 1 night. Our room was very plush in an old fashioned way and a little tired, but clean. Some of the older guests with us were really pleased with their rooms and thought them luxurious. We didn't eat at this hotel as my boyfriend had tried the restaurant on a previous visit and did not rate their service. There are lots of places to eat nearby and a few shops to visit just down the road. Also there are some beautifully ornate buildings in the area, my jaw dropped on seeing them.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrixhamJeanjeannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

616 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    263
    139
    49
    22
See reviews for
100
208
51
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
E
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

As I have never been to the Chech republic or Prague I have nothing to compare it with, however if it is with other European cities then this would be way behind. Old decor, very heavy. Room however were good, beds comfortable, but lighting etc worked on and off. Breakfast was ok. Rooms were clean. You had to pay to use the in room safe.
Service was ok but the bureaucracy of the country spoilt the stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elaine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
east londoner
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

This is the 1st review I have ever written.
Take a deep breath...I talk a lot!!!
I have now stayed at Hotel Belvedere 4 times (although the head receptionist thought more.....probably just seemed like more to her!!!), I have stayed at other hotels in Prague, as I had many ties there (although sadly no more - looking for an excuse to return!....anyone?), but the Belvedere can not be beaten for cleanliness (this is particurly important to me), price, location (just read someone elses review & I quote: 'Prague road network is disastrous & to reach this hotel is a total nightmare'. Perhaps this reviewer should try living in England!! or possibly they were drunk/drugged when trying to find the hotel!!....it's so easy), the hotel is a 20min walk to the centre of Prague or jump on a tram, a few yards from hotel, for about 80p....2 stops & 4 minutes later, you're in the middle of everything - I have walked for hrs & hrs, but doesn't seem to matter where I end up, there is always 1 tram that would take me back to hotel for 80p, and they come every few minutes - the transport network in Prague (including the metro) is second to none.
Also the helpfulness of the staff - all speak great English & are more than willing to help you with ANY queries - maps, directions, translations, ordering cabs, printing off taxi discount vouchers, restaurant recommendations, storing your lugguage after checking out.....nothing is too much trouble for the receptionist staff.
As with everything, there is always room for improvement: cable TV, yes, but no English channels apart from news & music. breakfast is plentiful (fry up!, cheese, ham, cereal, toast ,pastries), but Czech's can't seem to do a proper English breakfast - suasuges are either like a savaloy or a chorizo (no proper Walls beef sausages here!), no such thing as bacon - more like a thin piece of cooked ham disguised as such, scrambled or boiled, but no fried eggs, cereal is just not the same!!....although the Belvedere is not an exception to the rule....more like the norm! These aren't really negatives...more like an observation. You could probably get a real fry up, if you wanted to pay £200 per/night somewhere else!
I CAN NOT RECOMMEND THIS HOTEL ENOUGH, although now I'm worried that when you read this, the hotel will be inundated with bookings, the price will go up & they'll be no room for me, if & when I return!!!
On second thoughts, forget all the above....this hotel is rubbish!!!!.

Room Tip: rooms by road can be a bit noisy due to trams - but have much better views of all the Czech ladies w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adamjayvideos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Dark, tiled, dingy and in need of re-decoration. Always had problems here with the restaurant, either the cooks gone home without notice or they can't cope because of group bookings. Bar closes from 6 pm to 9 pm "because its dinner time". Staff helpful and porterage good but slow. Rooms very comfortable but those on main street side are plagued by noise from trams toiling up the hill. Road network in Prague is disastrous and to reach this hotel is a total nightmare - just like the rest of the city - either gridlock or impassable due to stupidly parked cars.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Prague hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
145 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Hotel Belvedere is in a quieter area of the city but one which I love. Close to several tourist sites and just a few minutes away from the wonderful Letna Park. Hotel is very clean, beds very comfy and breakfast is very nice.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank its-farky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Voorburg, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We orIginally booked a hotel trough Easyjet, but when we arrived in Prague the hotel was closed. (thanks easyjet) So we went looking for another hotel and we found hotel Belvedere. The service is really great, nice rooms and it is not to expensive. It's located just outside the centre, and with the tram it's only a few stops. You can buy tickets for one or for three days. The centre is really nice, the best time to visit is around christmas. With al the lights and the christmas market and hopefully snow, it's almost like a farytale.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hartm018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Girardeau, Missouri
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2012

This was a very nice hotel and they upgraded my daughter and I to a bigger room at no charge! The decor in the lobby was very cheery and nice and the rooms were tastefully decorated and very clean. The hotel had no air-conditioning, however, but they gave us a fan when we asked for one. The breakfast was included and was fine. The hotel was a little off the beaten path from the center of Prague, but it was definitely within walking distance and there was a shuttle nearby. The staff was very helpful and gave us great suggestions for sightseeing and offered to get us tickets for attractions. There was no internet service in the rooms, but in the lobby it was free, which is not always true in Europe. The room was a good price and was comfortable for our four-night stay. I would recommend the hotel to travelers to Prague!

Room Tip: We had a room overlooking the interior of the hotel. Our friend had one facing the street and said...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nancye510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Praha 3
Hotel Ariston & Ariston Patio
Praha 7
Parkhotel Praha
Parkhotel Praha
#184 of 670 in Prague
780 reviews
Praha 3
Hotel Carlton
Hotel Carlton
#168 of 670 in Prague
380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Praha 7
Art Hotel Prague
Art Hotel Prague
#213 of 670 in Prague
312 reviews
Praha 7
Plaza Alta
Plaza Alta
#291 of 670 in Prague
455 reviews
Praha 8
Galerie Royale
Galerie Royale
#118 of 670 in Prague
481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Belvedere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Belvedere

Property: Hotel Belvedere
Address: Milady Horakove 479/19, Prague 170 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 7
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#135 Business Hotel in Prague
#189 Luxury Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Belvedere 4*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Belvedere is located in Letna area, Prague 7, nearby the Prague Castle, Expo-exhibition area, Sparta football and hockey arena, Gallery of Modern Art, newly re-opened Technical Museum, Prague Zoological Garden and the historical and business centre of Prague. Moreover, 5 minutes walking distance from hotel is one of the Prague's largest parks - Letna, with traditional beer garden, offering unique and breathtaking views over the city. Hotel features 151 rooms with wooden floors, lobby bar with free Wi-Fi Internet, traditional Japanese restaurant and sushi bar, several conference rooms, underground parking. Tram stop is just few steps from the hotel; the underground line C - Vltavska only 5 minutes by walk from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Belvedere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belvedere Hotel Prague
Hotel Belvedere Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing