We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay in Prague”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Ametyst Prague
Ranked #145 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 25, 2013

We loved the location of this hotel, away from the tourists but only a 15-minute walk to the main sites. Great little bars and restaurants all around full of locals. The hotel was clean, with great breakfast buffet and service. Great value. Highly recommended.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Andrea B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (759)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

243 - 249 of 760 reviews

Reviewed October 19, 2013

4 of us visited Prague on a short weekend break and stayed at this hotel , although slightly out of the center 10 ins walk to Wenselas Square it was quiet. Well furnished rooms although small adequate for our needs. Breakfast was plentiful with much variety. Excellent stay . Hotel car from the airport both ways was good value for 4 people .

Room Tip: Ask for a non smoking !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Wendy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We stayed in Prague for three nights at this hotel. The location is very good as after all the crowds in the streets of the city l feel you need to unwind and relax, the hotel is about 10 minutes leisurely walk to the metro, so there is no problem getting into the centre. We found the staff who can speak English were very helpful and polite.

There was a mini bar in our room, but be careful as the prices are as expected very high (there are numerous shops that can supply you with all you need). Make sure you have the hotels buffet breakfasts as there is a huge selection and very filling. We did find a very good eating place (Pub) just around the corner from the hotel and went there a couple of times the food was tasty, very filling and a good menu.

A very good hotel to explore Prague with.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jimmoathome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

The Ametyst was accommodating, had a great breakfast, and a comfortable sleep! Had to walk about 4 blocks to the subway, but the underground goes to all parts of Prague, so location was good.

Close to a great little neighborhood bar/cafe called the Rosa K, my favorite in Prague with free wifi!

Room Tip: We stayed on the 6th floor, was quiet and location was excellent, even if we had to walk up a flight...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shebalillie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

first of all we really liked the location as it is a tranquil,good area yet very near to the bustling tourist areas.and main sights.there is a metro station about 8 minutes walk away next to the tram station.The area also contains quite a few bars and eateries which is great if you have had a long day sight seeing and feel like eating locally.
the hotel staff are very friendly and the hotel is bright and very clean.our room was quite small but adequate for our needs.the shower was good and the bed was comfortable.room had a kettle and a mini bar with enough space for your own bits and pieces.the hotel breakfast was also good with plenty of choice.
we had a problem with a very dirty towel which was placed in our room after cleaning. It had obviously slipped through "the net" and when we took it to reception to complain the staff were genuinely as horrified as we were .All the towels in our room were replaced immediately and they apologized.when we returned in the evening they had placed a bottle of champagne in our room.We had not made a huge fuss or expected anything "just new clean towels" so we thought this was a very kind gesture.and shows a switched on management.
though we would not really call this a boutique hotel or 4 star in the true sense.
all in all I would happily stay here again

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank miec h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

First visit to Prague and took a chance by booking hotel through wotif.com. Was a great choice. Really good rates, and great location. Easy to get around and beautiful setting. We pre paid breakfast and it was a fantastic selection for the price. Recommend this hotel and would stay here again if/when I go back. We stayed 3 nights. Heaps to see and do. Cobble stones so need good walking shoes. Plenty of cafe, restaurants, bars and coffee shops around hotel. Little supa market next door for bits and bobs if you don't want to go into city to get. Not an expensive place to visit compared to other cities at peak season.

Room Tip: It's Prague. Wear good sensible walking shoes. Can't wait to go back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

We had a one night stay at this solid little hotel. It's a bit of a way out of the city but in a nice area.

Rooms were clean and a decent size. This is good value for money.

David on reception was outstanding. He arranged for a cab to pick us up at the hotel AFTER we had booked out and also for the cab to pick our bags up and meet us where we had been dropped off.

Recommend this one.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Col T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Praha 2
Hotel Noir
Hotel Noir
#168 of 649 in Prague
409 reviews
Vinohrady & Vrsovice
Anna Hotel
Anna Hotel
#76 of 649 in Prague
868 reviews
Praha 8
Galerie Royale
Galerie Royale
#144 of 649 in Prague
556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Praha 2
Hotel Galileo Prague
Hotel Galileo Prague
#116 of 649 in Prague
999 reviews
Praha 2
Clarion Hotel Prague City
Clarion Hotel Prague City
#130 of 649 in Prague
628 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Archibald City
Archibald City
#104 of 649 in Prague
942 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ametyst Prague? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ametyst Prague

Address: Jana Masaryka 523/11 | Vinohrady, Prague 120 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Vinohrady & Vrsovice , Praha 2
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#126 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#147 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#155 Family Hotel in Prague
Price Range: $53 - $242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Ametyst Prague 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ametyst Hotel Prague is a favoured 4 Star Boutique Hotel and Art Gallery Hotel located in the city centre of downtown Prague renowned for its fair value for money and excellent breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Splitty, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Ametyst Prague reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prague Ametyst Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing