We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel for a very good price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Ametyst Prague
Ranked #159 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Beersheba, Israel
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great hotel for a very good price”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

The hotel is very good, the room was cleaned daily and it was shwon. The location of the hotel is not not in the center of the city but close enough, there are 2 different merto lines very close, so you can get anywhere in no time.
The breakfast was very good, and the hotel staff is nice and helpful.

I don't think I have a bad thing to say about the hotel, very good value for your money

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Silvia s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hosek, Manager at Hotel Ametyst Prague, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear Silvia,

Thank you very much for your review and we were delighted to read your comments with regards to your last stay with us. I hope you enjoyed your stay and have lovely memories of Prague.

It is also a delight to hear you found our staff professional and helpful.

We hope that you will choose to stay with us again on your next visit to Prague and we very much look forward to welcoming you back.

Kindest Regards,
Libor Hosek
Sales and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

727 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    248
    326
    110
    33
    10
See reviews for
98
359
39
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

This is a lovely hotel that I used just as a base while in Prague, the staff are very helpful and the location is good. There is a shop next door where you can buy all essentials and There are some great bars nearby, You can be in old town in 10 mins by walking And transfer time to the airport isn't long so grab that last drink in Prague while you can and Make the most of a great city. Although it said I travelled 2012 it was march 2011 but I stayed two streets away in 2012 and checked in and the hotel seemed just as good as it did the previous year. However trip advisor doesn't go back much more than a year. Also the hotel does not have a swimming pool or spa so ignor those icons

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel381
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Great breakfast, reasonably close to the metro, nice enough area, small open air cafes are everywhere. Internet was easy to connect and good band width. This hotel is not in the center of everything, but public transportation is very accessable and easy to use.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Spent four nights here in June and was overall pleased with the accommodation and the staff, who were always very helpful. It took me 20 minutes to walk to Wenceslas Square, and as it was very hot, I found walking back and forth from town to the Hotel something of a chore. There are fairly good bars and restaurants about ten minutes walk away. The next time I visit Prague I will stay closer to town which offers a variety of entertainment/dining not found in this area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anne t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

I recently stayed here for three nights while on vacation with my boyfriend. My parents had stayed here in 2007 and recommended it. We got an excellent price for a small room with a king bed, WIFI, and free breakfast (86 Euro nightly).

It is walkable from the main train station (15-18 minute walk) although if you have luggage with you and aren't sure exactly where you are going it is not ideal. The location is fairly convenient to most sites. About a 10-12 minute walk to New Town, 15-18 minute walk to Old Town. You can catch tram #22 close to the hotel and that brings you near New Town, across the river, and up to the castle. Metro stops are nearby, but due to the flooding the metro was closed during our visit so I cannot comment on that. We found Prague to be very walkable from our hotel.

As many others have said, the breakfast is excellent. Strong coffee, selection of breads / spreads, fruit / vegetables, eggs, hot & cold meats, cheeses, cereals, and yogurt. Other hotels would probably charge at least 20 Euro for the breakfast. Staff was friendly and the dining area was nice. We enjoyed planning our day as we ate breakfast and sipped on coffee before heading out.

The rooms are small by American standard, average by European standard. The bed feels hard at first, but we both slept well. Small shower and bathroom but really all you need. Clean. We could hear some voices from adjacent rooms or the hallway at times but not during sleep hours.

I would recommend staying at this hotel and would stay there again if I returned to Prague. You could find something more central, modern, or larger, but for the price the rooms are adequate and it is a great deal that WIFI and breakfast are included. For an affordable and comfortable trip you probably couldn't beat it.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank azobes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North London
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2013

We selected this hotel as part of a BA package and it was exactly the level I would expect from a 4* hotel. It is described as an "art hotel" and there is an interesting selection of artwork on display- particularly in the dining room and bar area.
Our room was on the top floor under the skylight so a sloping roof which was fine as both of us are relatively short - six footers may not agree! Very clean and comfortable with a decent shower. Bed was very firm which was to our liking. Just a tad short of storage space.
As has been mentioned elsewhere the breakfast is a very good buffet with a comprehensive selection of food on offer - no powdered scrambled egg here. Quiet location about 8 mins walk from the underground which is fine if not carrying too much luggage. Staff very friendly and helpful. As I was celebrating a significant birthday a friend had arranged for flowers to be in the room on arrival and the lady on reception was anxious that they were to my liking - touched that the hotel then added a bottle of bubbly.
Would also recommend the hot stone massage which can be arranged through the hotel.

Room Tip: Master the heating controls as otherwise you could wake up rather hot during the night
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank N5Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Stayed here 3 nights.Had to change rooms as first one was very craped with almost no clothes hanging area.Second room larger but still poor storage with no drawer spce .Beds incredibly hard.Good breakfast however and pleasant helpful staff.quite a long walk to the nearest metro and tram.Restaurant not tried but read quite well. Lots of local places to eat at good prices.

Room Tip: Avoid 08 rooms.Front of hotel not too bad road quite quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank malcolm41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Praha 2
Hotel Noir
Hotel Noir
#177 of 649 in Prague
387 reviews
Praha 2
Hotel Galileo Prague
Hotel Galileo Prague
#112 of 649 in Prague
961 reviews
Vinohrady & Vrsovice
Anna Hotel
Anna Hotel
#77 of 649 in Prague
825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Praha 2
Green Garden Hotel
Green Garden Hotel
#68 of 649 in Prague
1,140 reviews
Praha 8
Galerie Royale
Galerie Royale
#149 of 649 in Prague
523 reviews
Praha 3
Hotel  Theatrino
Hotel Theatrino
#108 of 649 in Prague
1,141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ametyst Prague? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ametyst Prague

Property: Hotel Ametyst Prague
Address: Jana Masaryka 523/11 | Vinohrady, Prague 120 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Vinohrady & Vrsovice , Praha 2
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#136 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#147 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#155 Family Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Ametyst Prague 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ametyst Hotel Prague is a favoured 4 Star Boutique Hotel and Art Gallery Hotel located in the city centre of downtown Prague renowned for its fair value for money and excellent breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Ametyst Prague reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prague Ametyst Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing