We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great friendly hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Ametyst Prague
Ranked #167 of 672 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great friendly hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here for a week and can't fault it at all.Staff were friendly and very helpful and were always there.The hotel itself is well situated away from the city centre but not to far,only a 10 minute walk and there are plenty of restaurants and little shops around the area.Please try "Zluta Pumpa" restaurant just around the corner from the hotel for a lovely Mexican meal.

Helpful?
Thank notso41
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hosek, Manager at Hotel Ametyst Prague, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Dear Sir,

We would like to thank you so much for choosing to spend your holiday at our ´Great friendly hotel´ as you mentioned. It’s wonderful that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Thank you for your comment and we all very much hope you will return to stay with us again soon.

Sincerely,

Libor Hosek
Sales and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

691 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    231
    311
    108
    32
    9
See reviews for
90
343
36
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

Stayed four nights with a friend. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff. They were very friendly and offered good information. We ate in the hotel restaurant every night - the food was excellent and reasonably priced.
Breakfast was fantastic and set us up for the day.
Room was a good size and spotless.
Would recommend it to anyone travelling to Prague. Not right in the centre but within easy walking distance of all the places to visit.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hosek, Manager at Hotel Ametyst Prague, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Dear Julie,

we are very pleased you enjoyed your recent stay and thank you for your compliments on our hotel.

It was great to hear that you with your friend liked our friendly staff, quiet location, rich buffet breakfast, food at our restaurant as well as your overall stay with us at Ametyst Hotel Prague.

We look forward to your return visit.

With kind regards
Libor Hosek
Sales and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013 via mobile

This was our 3rd stay in as many years in Ametyst. We have stayed in this hotel every time. Reasons:- close enough to city centre. Quiet residential area. Close to clubs pubs trams metros (namaste miru) . Good breakfast. Comfortable beds. Polite staff. No expectations of tips. Love it love it. Recommend to anyone. Will be going there again.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arvind T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hosek, Manager at Hotel Ametyst Prague, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
Dear Mr. Erdington,

Thank you for posting your comments on TripAdvisor about your recent stay with us at Hotel Ametyst Prague.

We were more than happy to see that our hotel is your first choice whenever you come to Prague.

We are pleased that you like hotel location in residential area Vinohrady, our rich buffet breakfast, the comfortable beds as well as polite staff.

We really appreciate such positive feedback - as we continue to improve our guest experience it provides great motivation to our staff.

Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon!

Sincerely,
Libor Hosek
Sales and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire, England
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

I had the pleasure of staying at the Ametyst Hotel, Prague earlier this week for two nights on a DBB basis. And what a marvellous and wonderful place to stay, where the all the staff are so helpful.

As I was arriving mid-morning I had contacted the Hotel prior to my arrival and requested an early check-in, which was confirmed. On my arrival the room was indeed ready. My booking included an upgrade to a Superior double room, which was very clean. Although not as spacious as some hotel rooms I have stayed in, it was certainly roomy enough for 2 persons. The room had suitable hanging space, tea/coffee facilities, minibar and cable TV inclduing Czech, English and German channels and an LCD TV. The room also had a separate toliet and bathroom, which had a fairly powerful shower. I also received complimentary fruit but not the bathrobes and slippers I was promised, but that didn't detract from my stay.

On my arrival I discovered that my mobile phone didn't work even though it had been confirmed that the roaming facility had been activated. Both the Receptionist (who was very helpful and spoke perfect English) and the Porter did their to help me purchase a Czech sim card from the Mini Market directly next to the Hotel.

The breakfast provided was very good and plentiful with a fairly large selection of cold meats, fruit, cereal and rolls/bread as well as a hot selection of eggs, bacon, sausage and beans. The evening meal was based upon a set three course menu. Although having the same menu for both nights, there was at least four choices of starter and main courses, and the food was always served hot by very attentive staff. There is also a small bar area but there is also a friendly bar/restaurant on the way to the Metro station, which also served a large choice of local food.

The Hotel itself is situated in a suburb of Praha 2 (Vinohadry), and is about a 7 minute walk to the nearest Metro station (Nimestri Miru) as well as a sleltion of trams. The metro took about 10 minutes (3 stops) to get to the centre of Prague.

If you want a ideal base to visit Prague, which is slightly away from the centre, I would certainly recommend the Ametyst Hotel. It should have 6 stars, if they were available!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yoahlime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hosek, Manager at Hotel Ametyst Prague, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for giving us such great feedback on your TripAdvisor review following your recent stay at our Hotel Ametyst Prague.

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for taking the time to let us know about it. I have shared all your kind comments with the various departments you mentioned and we are all very appreciative.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel Ametyst on your next trip to Prague!

Sincerely,

Libor Hosek
Sales and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Feltham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

There was only one small criticism, if you could call it that, for this hotel, and that was that the room was a tad too hot. We did manage to cool it down most days / nights, but after a chilly day out we were not complaining too much!

So on with the good:- The whole place is extremely clean, very well presented in terms of decoration, and general upkeep. All amenities work very well and the bathroom caters for all needs, including an ashtray next to the toilet should you happen to be a smoker!!

The bed was extremely firm, which was fantastic for us, however, bear this in mind if you do prefer a soft mattress. The bed was also rather large, possibly lager than needed, unless of course you've had a large bust-up with your other half.

All of the staff were very friendly, especially in the restaurant. The food was lovely and very good value. The buffet breakfast had just about everything you could want, including lots of fresh fruit, which was a welcome change as most of the restaurants we visited were lacking vastly on the fruit and veg front.

There is nothing in about this hotel, or Prague in general, that would deter me from visiting / staying here again.

Room Tip: Note that mattresses are very firm and the hotel is circa 20 minutes walk from Wenceslas Square and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chicker1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hosek, Manager at Hotel Ametyst Prague, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
Dear guests,

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for taking the time to let us know about it.

We truly appreciate your kind comments about the service and quality of breakfast and dinner at hotel restaurant Galerie.

We would like to apologize that your stay was slightly marred by problems with the regulation of heating and hope this did not spoil your stay.

Positive feedback such as yours is a great motivator to the members of our team and please know how much we value it.

We are looking forward to welcoming you to our hotel again!

Kind regards

Libor Hosek
Sales and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights on a business trip. Room was small and basic but clean. Had complimentary 1/2 bottle of bubbly waiting for me which was nice. The hotel has a nice restaurant and lovely food with good service. Will stay again.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sirhaydn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hosek, Manager at Hotel Ametyst Prague, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent visit.

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your business trip. We were very glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us, especially our service and food at the hotel restaurant Galerie.

For you next stay we would like to recommend you to book one of our spacious Superior room, which incl. free wifi, VIP treatment, bathrobes, slippers as well as coffee and tea facilities.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

With kind regards

Libor Hosek
Sales and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Deutschland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

If anyone is ever coming to Prague...first of all you need to visit Prague as it is a beautiful city and very inexpensive..but secondly you need to stay where we did...it is called Ametyst hotel.
Hotel is simple, clean and well located for exploring Prague, 15 minute walk to Wenceslas Square.
Breakfast surpassed our expectations, Excellent.
Free internet in reception and rooms, too.
Excellent and very knowledgeable, helpful staff.
On our last night in Prague we decided to have dinner here and it was definitely one of my favorite meals in Prague, the food is delicious! Must go, even if it’s just for the food in restaurant GALERIE.
Restaurant is situated at very good location .
Service is very friendly, food is nice and being small restaurant, it does give a homely feeling. Nice place for a romantic dinner :-)
We Recommend the hotel, staff and Very good Restarant.
You seriously want to stay here when you come to Prague.
BIG Thank you

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side are quieter, Corner suites are large and sunny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Markus S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Praha 2
Green Garden Hotel
Green Garden Hotel
#75 of 672 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,074 reviews
Vinohrady & Vrsovice
Anna Hotel
Anna Hotel
#93 of 672 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 771 reviews
Praha 2
Amigo City Centre Hotel
Amigo City Centre Hotel
#197 of 672 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Praha 2
Hotel Galileo Prague
Hotel Galileo Prague
#110 of 672 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 926 reviews
Praha 2
Alqush Downtown Hotel
Alqush Downtown Hotel
#128 of 672 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
Praha 2
Hotel Noir
Hotel Noir
#183 of 672 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ametyst Prague? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ametyst Prague

Property: Hotel Ametyst Prague
Address: Jana Masaryka 523/11 | Vinohrady, Prague 120 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Vinohrady & Vrsovice , Praha 2
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#142 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#147 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#155 Family Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Ametyst Prague 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ametyst Hotel Prague is a favoured 4 Star Boutique Hotel and Art Gallery Hotel located in the city centre of downtown Prague renowned for its fair value for money and excellent breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Ametyst Prague reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prague Ametyst Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing