We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Ametyst Prague
Ranked #145 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 31, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here with my family during end of Oct and found this to be a very nice hotel. Its neat and clean and has all facilities you would expect in a 3 to 4 star hotel. The room we stayed in was compact (not huge) but good enough for 3 people. It has tea/coffee making facilities and the towels etc were changed every day. The beds are firm as some other reviews have pointed out, but that is our preferred option anyway. The hotel itself is quite nice and has a cosy feel about it. Breakfast was quite good and has lots to keep you full till lunch.

The hotel is in a leafy suburb with lots of apartments and restaurant's around. It feels safe and is quite convenient for the metro and tram which we used extensively. As reviewers have pointed out walking to the main areas is an option (could take 20-30 mins) but we didn't try it mainly because it was freezing with snow and rain when we were there and so the 3 day adult ticket for 310 czk which includes a free child ticket was great value and let's you travel on all modes of transport. The transport service is excellent on the metro and tram and so we used it extensively.

We also dined at one of the local Mexican restaurants (Las Adelitas) which was excellent value and very authentic.

The receptionists were very knowledgeable and helpful and spoke good English which helped as it was not uncommon to meet locals who struggled with it though all of them we met were extremely helpful and tried their best to help using signs etc.

Overall, we were very happy with our stay and would recommend the hotel as long as using public transport is something you don't mind having to use.

Thank rajkn
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (759)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

280 - 286 of 760 reviews

Reviewed October 23, 2012

Clean hotel, modern spacious rooms, clean toilet, decent breakfast menu, staff spoke enough English to get things done.

But we think there are reasons its price is lower than the market price. For instance: (1) We could not set the temperature in the room, it was so hot that we had to turn the heating off and open the window, the whole hotel was like an over-heated room and mind you we are not good at bearing cold, this affected our sleep (2) There was only one person at the check in/out counter, customers had to queue up and wait, then his printer stopped working and we kept waiting, he did what he could to speed things up but he can't do the job of two (3) We requested a dining chair for a toddler for breakfast and the one given was made such poor design that only babies of certain size could slide into it.; apparently little thought had been given to baby-seats (4) Location is less than great and away from the main tourist attractions, although you can make up for it by catching public transport to city center.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank usman h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

The hotel is located in Vinohrady district of Prague which is very comfortable for living with kids especially because the place is very quiet and calm, with a lot of parks and playgrounds around. Breakfast was good, fruits and melons, omlette, eggs, saussages, juices. The room itself was small but clean and cosy. We just didn't like spiders which lived on the ceiling and came in the room every time when we opened the window.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NadiaVanch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

only complaint was strong smell of cigarettes in hall/stairways. Very good value and good location. rooms clean and quite and good breakfast. Have stayed at hotel twice and probably will again sometime in the future.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank alison f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

Hotel is simple, clean and well located for exploring Prague. A c. 15 minute walk to Wenceslas Square and surrounded by leafy streets with a reasonable range of bars and eateries. Breakfast surpassed our expectations. Free internet in reception and very knowledgeable staff. Recommend.

Room Tip: Don't bother with the superior option!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flower1783
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012 via mobile

Very nice hotel. You need to be quite fit for walking everywhere as we did but it is located in a very nice area with greay resturants within a short walk. Food also good in hotel. Staff very helpful and all spoke very good English putting us to shame as our Czech was non existance. Would come back here again and use trams

Thank rogbel
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Some wonderful days in the historically amazing city of Prague - during their all-time heat wave record, somewhat of a challenge. The Ametyst is close to top-notch; everything works, from extremely nice staff to functionable and proper accomodations. Pretty good art in the lobby bar as well.
BUT! Please, do something about the breakfast coffee! Probably the nastiest liquid passed for coffee ever, anywhere!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Saliven G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Praha 2
Hotel Noir
Hotel Noir
#168 of 649 in Prague
409 reviews
Vinohrady & Vrsovice
Anna Hotel
Anna Hotel
#76 of 649 in Prague
868 reviews
Praha 8
Galerie Royale
Galerie Royale
#144 of 649 in Prague
556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Praha 2
Hotel Galileo Prague
Hotel Galileo Prague
#116 of 649 in Prague
999 reviews
Praha 2
Clarion Hotel Prague City
Clarion Hotel Prague City
#130 of 649 in Prague
628 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Archibald City
Archibald City
#104 of 649 in Prague
942 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ametyst Prague? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ametyst Prague

Address: Jana Masaryka 523/11 | Vinohrady, Prague 120 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Vinohrady & Vrsovice , Praha 2
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#126 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#147 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#155 Family Hotel in Prague
Price Range: $53 - $242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Ametyst Prague 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ametyst Hotel Prague is a favoured 4 Star Boutique Hotel and Art Gallery Hotel located in the city centre of downtown Prague renowned for its fair value for money and excellent breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Splitty, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Ametyst Prague reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prague Ametyst Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing