We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“little off the beaten track”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Ametyst Prague
Ranked #148 of 646 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 23, 2011

This hotel is clean with a tasty breakfast. the staff were friendly and the room was nice and clean with a good shower.

Although its in a nice enough area it is not 10 minutes walk to Wenclas square like it says on the website - it is 15 minutes minimum. This is about £10 in a taxi.

Beware the rooms lock at 10.50am on the day of your checkout so your key is disabled even though they say 11am is check out time.

Overall reasonable value

Room Tip: Even if you smoke dont choose a smoking room as the room really smells. I told them and they moved m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 9chuckademus9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hosek, Manager at Hotel Ametyst Prague, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2011

Dear Guest, thank you for your comment. We are happy you liked our friendly staff, rich breakfast buffet and overall enjoyed your stay in our hotel. We have some strictly non smoking floors. It is always better to request the type of room you prefer. Hopefully we will see you in hotel Ametyst again.

Best regards,
Sandra Kordová
Secretary of Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (780)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

322 - 328 of 780 reviews

Reviewed October 18, 2011

We were 15 people travelling to Prague 7-10 oct -11 and Ametyst Hotel was our hotel during these days. Everybody were very satisfied with the service in front of and during our stay. Good breakfast, clean everywhere and friendly people in the reception that really made us feel that Ametyst was our 'home' in Prague.

The walk to Prague 1 is perfect. Maybe I don't know about the shortest way to center of the town (?!), but we used a little half an hour and this walk was so comfortable and useful for the body before shopping for the women and beer drinking for the men. Walking or cycling is perfect to experience a new town.

At least: It is a very brown pub just in the near of Ametyst Hotel: Out of the hotel, then to left three times and after some metres you get a door on your left hand directly from the road. In other words: The pub is located in the same quartal as Ametyst Hotel, but on the other side. Two or three minutes to go. I can't remember the name, but I think the pub is a MUST for MEN visiting Ametyst hotel. This establishment is 'light-years' from the streamlined way of doing it ;-).

If I/we get the possibility going to Prague once more, my family and friends and I want to use Ametyst Hotel. For us this hotel is a sure winner!

PS! I don't know anything about children activities since our youngest dauther is 12 and her activity was shopping with her sisters... :-)


Jon Kristian Sletteberg, Skien, Norway

Room Tip: 412 and 413 were our connected rooms, and they were perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jon Kristian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hosek, Manager at Hotel Ametyst Prague, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2011

Dear Guest, thank you so much for such a nice comment about hotel Ametyst. We are really happy to hear you enjoyed your vacation in Prague and hope to see you back again.

Best regards,
Sandra Kordová
Secretary of Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2011

We stayed 3 nights at the end of September. Can't complain about the hotel itself - room was great, facilities were clean and the staff was very helpful. Breakfast was included and was fantastic. Our only complaint was that the hotel was a bit further away from the main sites than we would have liked so we had to take the metro into the main area (metro was only a 5-7 minute walk). Overall it was a good stay.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maria_M_Vancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hosek, Manager at Hotel Ametyst Prague, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2011

Thank you for your comment. We really appreciate it. Our hotel is situated in a quiet residential area Vinohrady, within walking distance to downtown Prague. This area is well known for its cozy local restaurants, bars and several parks. A lot of our clients really enjoy this kind of relaxed location instead of busy city center.

Sandra Kordová
Secretary of Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2011

Situated 10 minutes walk from Wencelas Square and 15/20 minutes from the Vltava river lies this hotel. I stayed there as a single female traveller and felt really comfortable. The staff were really helpful and what they didn't know found out quickly or printed things off the internet for me. I didn't spend a lot of time in my room but it was clean large and a hot powerful shower available in my ensuite. The self service breakfast kept me filled till way past lunchtime. The hotel is filled with art by local artists and is considered a bit of a "gallery".
I loved the hotel and the fact that I could walk everywhere easily and felt perfectly safe on my own at all times of the day and night. Great hotel even more fabulous country, I will visit both again

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annetherapy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hosek, Manager at Hotel Ametyst Prague, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2011

Dear Madam, thank you for your positive comment. We are really happy you enjoyed your stay and are looking forward to your next visit.

Best regards,
Sandra Kordová
Secretary of Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2011

We got a great deal on this hotel, but had to pay the price in not being as close to the big sites and we would have liked. Any sort of public transportation was about a 15 minute walk. The upside is the hotel is in what seemed to be a nice neighborhood. Overall it was a good value, we were tight on time, so our only complaint was the location.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YRP_21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hosek, Manager at Hotel Ametyst Prague, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2011

Dear Guest. We appreciate the time you took to write the review. Our hotel is located in a quiet residential neighborhood, within walking distance to the city center. The closest tram stop Bruselská is about 3 minutes walk from the hotel and the subway station Náměstí Míru about 5-7 minutes. Thank you for your comment. We are happy you liked our hotel and hope you will come back one day.


Best regards,
Sandra Kordová
Secretary of Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

The Ametyst Hotel is a little outside the centre, but well worth the 10 minute walk to Wencelas Square. The service is of the highest standard, and the staff are friendly and extremely efficient and helpful. We would highly recommend this Hotel and if visiting Prague would definetly return to the Ametyst.

Evelyn (Renfrew)

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank renfrewgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hosek, Manager at Hotel Ametyst Prague, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2011

Dear Evelyn, thank you very much for your positive review. I am happy to read such a nice comment about our hotel and services we provide. We are trying to do our best for all guests in every situation. We hope to see you in hotel Ametyst again.

Best regards,
Sandra Kordová
Secretary of Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2011

Good Things:
1. Great Value at discount otherwise would look elsewhere i.e. 70% of from Rack Rate)
2.The Hotel is in a very quiet location, with a number of local eating establishments and shops nearby.
3. If you enjoy a relaxed walk into the centre then it is ideal and felt very safe. Note: It says a ten minute walk to the centre but my daughter and I (She 15 and Fit, me 48 gym rat) power walked it, one evening and it took us 15 mins from halfway up Wencelas Square back to the hotel.
4. Breakfast if included in price is very good and continental style but more than adequate
5. Wi-fi was included in my rate and was reliable and needed with a teenager in tow
6. Pick up and drop off service in hotel limo very good and well priced to Airport

Bad Points
1. Rooms are compact
2. Taxis are generally in the region of CSK220 to CSK250 to get you back from Wencelas Square (£8-£10) for about 1.5 kilometers ouch
3. Claims 4 star but need to look closely at definition and make sure it has the services you want to use

Room Tip: As it is such a quiet location I would go for a low floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GlobalRoverMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hosek, Manager at Hotel Ametyst Prague, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2011

Dear Guest, thank you for your opinion about our hotel. I have to say that we have more types of rooms. Standard rooms are smaller than superior and deluxe rooms. Taxi cabs have always been a problem for tourists in Prague. Unfortunatelly the drivers are counting on the tourist‘s unknowledge of the area. That’s why we highly recommend to all guests to use hotel limo service which offers fixed rates. Thank you again for your time you took to write this comment.

Best regards,
Sandra Kordová
Secretary of Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Vinohrady & Vrsovice
Anna Hotel
Anna Hotel
#78 of 646 in Prague
897 reviews
Praha 2
Hotel Galileo Prague
Hotel Galileo Prague
#130 of 646 in Prague
1,023 reviews
Praha 2
Hotel Noir
Hotel Noir
#167 of 646 in Prague
415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Praha 2
Clarion Hotel Prague City
Clarion Hotel Prague City
#126 of 646 in Prague
638 reviews
Praha 5
Hotel Golf
Hotel Golf
#97 of 646 in Prague
924 reviews
Praha 2
Hotel Brixen Prague
Hotel Brixen Prague
#127 of 646 in Prague
853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ametyst Prague? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ametyst Prague

Address: Jana Masaryka 523/11 | Vinohrady, Prague 120 00, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Vinohrady & Vrsovice , Praha 2
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#127 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#147 Romantic Hotel in Prague
Price Range: $53 - $149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Ametyst Prague 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ametyst Hotel Prague is a favoured 4 Star Boutique Hotel and Art Gallery Hotel located in the city centre of downtown Prague renowned for its fair value for money and excellent breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Ametyst Prague reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prague Ametyst Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing