We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service!”
Review of Plaza Alta

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Plaza Alta
Ranked #303 of 649 Hotels in Prague
West Yorkshire
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent service!”
Reviewed June 3, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights whilst on a Google conference. I agree with other reviews that say that the area is not too beautiful but the location is very handy for the tram. It is an easy 15 mins or so journey into Wenceslas Square. The receptionist who we dealt with was superb and we felt very looked after. The breakfast was OK but extremely busy on the second day - looked like a coach party. We enjoyed our free welcome drink in the bar whilst we were waiting for our taxi to the airport. Our room was a lovely spacious corner room with a massive double bed. I would recommend this hotel without hesitation!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CharlotteJMW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

474 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    228
    82
    22
    5
See reviews for
69
251
18
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ferney-Voltaire, France
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Although the location is a bit away from the city centre, the hotel is close to two trams and a short walking distance from the metro, all going downtown. I found Plaza Alta excellent value, the staff professional and helpful, the room comfortable and the buffet breakfast excellent. Also, it has a fitness centre.

Room Tip: My room (305) was quiet in spite of it overlooking the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fekria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2013

Far from any of the big attractions, but the room was clean. The king bed was actually two beds pushed together so that was pretty annoying. Staff was great, very friendly and helpful. They were able to get us taxis (legit ones) and the break was very good. The only thing that was annoying was the wi-fi was not very strong.

Room Tip: Don't get a king!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Location: Located in a run-down area of Prague about 20 minutes by tram from the castle and the bridge (main attractions) and 10 minutes by tram from the old town (not including waiting time at the station that can be between 0-10 minutes). Inconvenient to travel back and forth to the city centre especially with a family.

Cleanliness: At first glance the room looked clean. Carpet was in a good condition and fixtures and fittings were all fine as well. The two chairs in the room both had what looked like either blood or coffee stains. On further inspection the mattress protector also had brown stains and the bedsheet did not smell fresh. We stayed for three days and the toilet was not washed once. It was smelling of wee on the last day - not very pleasant. Checked the cart of the cleaning lady and did not see any cleaning products.

Beds: A large double bed was available however the third one was a sofa bed which was not very comfortable.

Washroom: The shower and W/C were not one unit which we found odd to have in a 4-star hotel. Children found it difficult as well.

Breakfast: Room is too small to cater for all guests. Had to wait for 20 minutes to get a table and even then has to fit 6 on a 4 people table oterhwise would have to wait longer. Reasonable hot/cold spread with juices, coffee a variety of breads, two types of eggs, veg pizza or pancakes.

Staff: Unfriendly. Did not see anyone smile once except the reception staff. Forget about any special requests.

Found out at the htoel that the 4-Star-rating is based on the local rating system and not the international rating system so beware. I would not give it more than 3 stars.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ahmed A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlazaAlta, General Manager at Plaza Alta, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

at first I would like to thank you for choosing the Plaza Alta Hotel for your visit in Prague!
We are very sorry to hear, that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We appreciate your comments, which help us to focus on our custumer needs and constantly improve the quality of the service. Be sure, that all your comments were discussed with our team in details.

Regarding to your comment about hotel certification (star rating) I would like to inform you that we are member of the Hotelstars Union and we have got the European hotel classification which is checked regularly by Association of Hotels and Restaurants.

Yours Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2013

For business and leisure objects. Appreciate parking at the hotel. Technical service is excellent. Housekeeping without errors. Missing relax center (whirlpool at least). Service has an excellent reception. Fair prices. The Mexican restaurant is stylish. Beautiful conference room with a view of the surroundings. All companies recommend.

Room Tip: Rooms are quiet courtyard. All rooms are well air-conditioned. Corner rooms are larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ernesto L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crediton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2013 via mobile

First thought on arrival was "what have we done", we seemed to be in a run down area, in the outskirts of prague, but once we woke the next day, got a tram and metro into Prague, which took us 8 mins, we realised how lucky we were to be in a reasonably quiet area of Prague. Just up the road from the hotel is korbel restaurant, a fantastic place to eat and drink, half the prices of the rip off joints in Prague city centre!! Had a nice few days here, would recommend. Very clean, extremely friendly staff and no stag parties or strip joints to contend with!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank j w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed May 1, 2013

I didn't have a problem with the hotel it was fine, apart from the lack of sleep I was kept awake most of the night dude to noisy people as you can hear everything going on in the corridors, and I was woken very early in the morning by the maids crashing around upstairs i thought they was going to come through the ceiling at one point, and outside our door they just slammed doors and threw things around. other than that not a problem with the hotel. Whereas the area was terrible we felt like we was in a rough area and we didn't feel safe walking around at night not like there's anything to do at night. There's nothing at all no bars no shops just a little shop to buy pop and crisps from its dark at night and really boring. There is graffiti everywhere it looks horrible. So everyday we took the tram into the old town where we felt safer and we didn't come back until late evening. The old town I also thought wasn't the prettiest it's a run down county and needs a lot of work to make it look more appealing to the eye but this is my opinion. Another problem I had was the residents they are rude and ignorant and manners don't cost anything they would walk into u and glare at u and they would make you feel like you shouldn't be here. They never smiled at you or even seemed greatful when we left a tip at restaurants. I didn't have a good time at all all I wanted was a nice city break with my partner. I won't be coming back again. We're not snobs or anything we genuinely didn't like it.

Anonymous 24. UK

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Loulou8989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Praha 7
Parkhotel Praha
Parkhotel Praha
#180 of 649 in Prague
845 reviews
Praha 7
Expo
Expo
#466 of 649 in Prague
177 reviews
Praha 3
Three Crowns Hotel
Three Crowns Hotel
#323 of 649 in Prague
650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Praha 4
Hotel U Divadla
Hotel U Divadla
#139 of 649 in Prague
573 reviews
Praha 4
Hotel Nabucco
Hotel Nabucco
#255 of 649 in Prague
315 reviews
Iris Hotel Eden
#133 of 649 in Prague
714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plaza Alta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaza Alta

Property: Plaza Alta
Address: Ortenovo namesti 1086/22, Prague 170 00, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 7
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#216 Luxury Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Plaza Alta 4*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortable Multistory Hotel situated in quiet residential area; 1 km to Exhibition Ground; 4 km to downtown; 17 km to airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Plaza Alta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Prague
Prague Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing