We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Plaza Alta
Nearby Hotels
$196
$159
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$173
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$181
$124
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Julian(Prague)
$90
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$111
$90
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$161
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Unitas Hotel(Prague)
$153
$148
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$393
$235
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$283
$232
Preferred Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$830
$483
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (509)
Filter reviews
509 results
Traveler rating
145
241
90
23
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
145
241
90
23
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe mexican restauranttram stopcity centreold townfree wifinice hotelno tea coffee facilitiesconference roommain townreception staff arethe hotel websitewithin easy reachtransport linksbeautiful cityquiet areacold meatstwin beds
Filter
Updating list...
209 - 214 of 509 reviews
Reviewed May 22, 2011

At the moment of writing this review I double checked this hotel category. Altough it has four stars it doesn´t seem like a 4 star hotel.
Room was clean and big enough, although the bathroom design was kind of tacky and non-functional (a little confuse for a hotel in this category). The bathroom had two rooms one for the sink and shower and the other for the toilet, but the toilet tank was in another dark room and We think not so clean and like if it was unfinished.
Breakfast is good enough. No complaints about it.

But what wasn´t definitely clean was the hotel staff. We are talking about a bellboy that seemed not to have taken a shower in years, and smelled BAAAAD. We think that cleanliness in a good hotel it is extended to his personnel.

The hotel is far from downtown but there is a tram stop just a seconds from the hotel. This is really a plus!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChipoChipolini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlazaAlta, General Manager at Plaza Alta, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2011

Dear Mr. Chipolini,

Thank you for your comments. The opportunity to have feedback from our customers allows us to continually improve our service levels. We set high standards as we try to surpass them. In this case the individual concerned was a temporary contractor and the issue was also noticed by our Resident Manager and the individual has been replaced. We hope that when you will visit again, you will find everything to your satisfaction.

Vojtech Kacerovsky, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2011

Unless a place is unspeakably bad or of incredible luxury the middle ground is largely dependant on value for money and the deal you get, which would be the case with the Plaza Alta. We got a deal of 3 nights B&B, free public transport voucher for the duration of the stay (worth £12 each) and free drink on arrival for £165 for the both of us( via an Ebay voucher and a seasonal supplement.) Our view is this represented exceptional value at an entirely acceptable hotel.
The hotel is situated in the Prague 7 area, north of the city centre, not a draw back if you have the confidence to take trams and metro ( we are in our late 50's and found it incredibly easy and quick). Nearest tram stop is 50m from hotel entrance and nearest metro link is one tram stop away or a 10 minute walk. Tram ride is no more than 10 - 15 minutes from the city centre.

The hotel is very clean, rooms are reasonably appointed and largely comfortable. Nice big beds and crisp linen. Little bit noisy from about 6.30am onwards but total quiet at night, unlike a city centre location.

Breakfast was a buffet affair, hot and cold, simple, but with everything you need to set you up for the day. The hotel does have a fitness room which really is no more than a bedroom with 3 machines it.
Attached to the hotel and the venue for breakfast is a Mexican themed restaurant, we never used it but it did seem fairly well patronised by locals. Drink prices are commensurate with hotel prices.

Really impossible to be disappointed at the Plaza Alta if you get a good price.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank justonefortheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2011

Stayed here for 2 nights. Staff friendly and helpful. Rooms nicely decorated and everything working. Breakfast was good. Easy access to city centre on the tram. Only negative is only english speaking channel is sky news which repeats the same information every 5 mins so nothing to watch at night while relaxing in room.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2007todate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2011

Hotel was as expected for four stars. The room I had on the third floor was clean and well furnished. Breakfast was poorer than expected. The hot choice was bacon sausage and a type of ham, scrambled eggs and fried eggs. None of it was hot only warm.
Cold choice was better with a choice of four cereals two meats and two cheeses and a few other things.
However the Mexican Resturant attached to the hotel had great food and good value.
The staff were very polite and helpful.
When you come out the front of the metro suggested by the hotel web site, take the tram heading to the left for one stop or walk the 400 yards going left.

Room Tip: Room 302 faced the back and was nice and quiet.
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel
Thank Microman999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2011

Although this hotel is not situated directly in the centre it is close enough to the metro station and the tram stops to take you into the centre - it allows you see where the regular people of Prague live and is out of the way enough to be quiet and away from the hussle and bussle!

The rooms are very clean and have good amenities - although maybe not quite what you would expect froma 4 star. The only problem we had was that the bed was just so uncomfortable as it was too soft, but that may be personal preference! The TV channels are limited. We did buy the remote from recpetion which provide access to movies - it was only £12 but I wouldn't bother! The movies on offer were from the 1960's and were so dire, it made the news channel look interesting.
Breakfast was great with a good selection of food and we ordered a snack from room service once - it was ok, but nothing too special. The mini bar is very reasonably priced.

I would defintely recommend this hotel and would stay there again without hesitation if I were to return to Prague. It was bargain at £120 for 4 nights inc. breakfast!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NuttyNat01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews