We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst hotel I have stayed in”
Review of Abri

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Abri
Ranked #423 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Tyne & Wear
1 review
“Worst hotel I have stayed in”
Reviewed November 15, 2008

Before you read this revue my wife and I stayed at this hotel in November 2007 that is why we went back this year, to our regret.
On arriving at the Hotel the receptionist was very offhand.On being allocated the room I found the carpet had numerous very black stains and also marks where it appeared that drinks had been spilt.I asked the receptionist if she could arrange to have the carpet cleaned,she shrugged her shoulders and said the manager knows about it. My wife not wishing me to cause a scene said just leave it. During our 5 day stay the room was never hoovered the washbasin and shower were never cleaned and when I wanted to charge my mobile phone the socket was thick with dust and I mean thick.The hotel claims to have a restaurant,however I was taken ill on the wednesday and stayed in bed all day on the evening my wife asked the same receptionist who unfortunately was on duty if she could take some food to our room,she was no help just told her to ask the waitress in the restaurant. Going into the restaurant my wife asked if she could buy some food to take up to our room as I was too ill to come down.The response was a curt No he must come down. Breakfasts were not as good as last year but were edible. Also there was no information regarding the fire regulations in the room. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone and we will be going to Prague again next year but certainly not to this hotel.

  • Liked — The towels were changed every day
  • Disliked — Very dirty carpet, Bedding was never changed.
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank abendshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    39
    26
    8
    9
See reviews for
14
33
18
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
59 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2008

Small hotel in Prague 2 too far to walk to and from the main tourist area but there is a tram stop at the end of the road and a metro station about 400 yards away. The area is reasonable and safe at night and there is very little traffic or other noise to disturb you.
The rooms are a reasonable size and clean and reasonably well maintained and the bathrooms (shower no bath) are quite well appointed. Rooms have telephones and TV but no safe or tea/coffee making facilities.
The major disappointment was the breakfast; basically its tea, coffee, juice, bread with meat or cheese and cereal. If you go down towards the end of breakfast there won't be much left and they don't tend to re-stock.
Overall it is good value for what you pay though so if you're looking for somewhere cheap and cheerful to lay your head at night and don't plan to spend much time in the hotel I would recommend it.

  • Liked — value for money
  • Disliked — breakfast
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Clemenceau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2008

The Hotel Abri is in a quiet location (Vinohrady, Prague 2) which is approx 15mins walk to Wencesles Square or 7 mins walk to Namesti Miru underground station as well as close by to the Tram.

The accomodation was clean and the shower, hairdryer etc all worked fine! Beds were comfy. We stayed in Bedroom 102 on the 1st floor.

There wasn't a huge choice at breakfast, but what was available was very tasty (bread rolls, ham, cheese, cereal, cake, tea, coffee, juice, fresh fruit) perfect for filling up in prep for touring around Prague!

Check in and Check out was very efficient and we were able to leave our bags at the hotel as we had a late flight. We booked the hotel through www.hotelopia.com and it cost £30 per room per night including breakfast which was a fantastic deal!!

Overall, I would recommend this hotel for those who aren't after anything fancy, but are after a comfortable stay. I would definately return here!

  • Liked — Value for money
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Laurajct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristol,england
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2008

a clean,quiet,friendly hotel in a peaceful sidestreet.breakfast was o.k.,a light continental selection. the hotel is 5 minutes walk from namesti miru metro station,which itself is just 3 stops down the line from old town square.all in all a very comfortable stay in a lovely city and a hotel i would certainly use again.

  • Liked — the quiet location
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank roryBristol_england
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington spa
Level Contributor
83 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2008

As for other reviews we were due to stay in another hotel (San Marco) but were moved (although we did not know prior to arrival in Prague). The hotel was clean, friendly and most of all quiet at night, the streets around the hotel are not busy. Plenty of bars nearby, although some shut early - one only seemed open in the mornings! Five minutes to the tram and metro, probably only 15 minutes walk to Wenceslas Square and all that has to offer. Catch a tram from Nameski Mistu to Prague Castle (well worth the 18Kr) and walk back through the castle, via the old town. Great day out, something for everyone - beer, food, and tremendous architecture and scenery. Would do it all again!.

  • Liked — peaceful accommodation
  • Disliked — maybe a little further out of the centre than we had planned
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
39 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2008

Stayed here from onday-thursday for s very cheap price. Enjoyed the stay, rooms were clean, staff friendly and location was good. A nice 15 minute walk down to the city centre.
Carpets on the room floor "felt" kind of dirty, I'm not too fond of carpets in hotels, as they can be unhygienic.
But all in all, great value for money, quiet area, still close to all sights and shopping... Would stay there again:)

  • Liked — location, friendly staff, price
  • Disliked — hard to find the way back from downtown, door-locks were acting funny at times.
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank kn1901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lurgan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
137 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2008

Just got back from Prague and had a great time in the city.My wife and I went for a short break for Valentines and stayed at the Hotel Abri.The hotel is in a great location in a quiet street 5 minutes from Namesti Miru metro station.This made it easy to get about the city because the main sights are on this line(A) and it worked out the cheapest way to travel around the city.
The hotel is clean and basic with not too many luxuries for those travellers who like more amenities but it is just a place "to lay your head" and was sufficent for our needs.
The main surprise in Prague is the prices, which are definitely on the rise compared to my last visit (2004).I found most things
like food,drink,shopping etc to be at least 70-80% more expensive than before and it is losing its reputation as a cheap break destination.
We did have a lovely dinner at Hergetova Cihelna on Valentines night but it was as expensive as any London restaurant,around £120 for a couple with wine & drinks.
All in all Prague is a interesting town to visit but has become a little more expensive than other towns in Europe.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — basic facilities
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Vinohrady & Vrsovice
Hotel Machova
Hotel Machova
#385 of 649 in Prague
119 reviews
Vinohrady & Vrsovice
Hotel Orion
Hotel Orion
#241 of 649 in Prague
217 reviews
Praha 2
Pension Brezina
Pension Brezina
#351 of 649 in Prague
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Praha 3
City Lounge Hotel
City Lounge Hotel
#325 of 649 in Prague
101 reviews
Vinohrady & Vrsovice
EA Hotel Tosca
EA Hotel Tosca
#171 of 649 in Prague
561 reviews
Praha 3
Aron
Aron
#558 of 649 in Prague
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abri

Property: Abri
Address: Jana Masaryka 326/36, Prague 120 00, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Vinohrady & Vrsovice , Praha 2
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #423 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Abri 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 3-star hotel is in the historic center of Prague, a 15 minute walk from Wenceslas Square and 5 minutes from the Namesti Miru subway station. Free Wi-Fi is available. The spacious and quiet rooms at Hotel Abri have a TV and a bathroom. Czech and international cuisine is served in the Abri's restaurant. There is a 24-hour front desk with a tour desk and an internet terminal. The hotel is in the peaceful residential district of Vinohrady. The Jana Masaryka tram stop is a 2 minute walk away.Outdoors Terrace Media & Technology Telephone, TV Food & Drink Restaurant, Bar Internet Free! Wi-Fi is available in all areas and is free of charge. Parking Private parking is available on site (reservation is needed) and costs EUR 15 per day. Services Airport Shuttle, Shuttle Service (surcharge), 24-Hour Front Desk, Tour Desk, Baggage Storage, Fax/Photocopying General Non-smoking Rooms, Elevator, Heating Languages spoken English, Czech ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Abri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abri Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing